A Fresh Dille

a rebellious weekend.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 22, 2010

For the weekend only, I will be having a little fling with this guy…

This shot of the borrowed Canon Rebel was taken by my lil old fujifilm that has some funky white balance issues (that won’t seem to change). I must admit that photography is something I never really considered growing up and even well into my college days. That is pretty unfortunate because I did go to a college focused on the arts and communication, where I could have really gotten my foot in the door. Other than photography though, I really have a passion for styling. If I could, I would style food, clothes, rooms, etc. at all times. When I was at my aunt’s farm last weekend, my mother kept telling me what would be a lovely picture as she walked through the garden with me. I guess that is what happens when you are raised by a stylist and a creative director, constant art direction. My father, the creative director, let me borrow this from his company for the weekend only, and I am almost feeling as though this is too much of a tease. Not only do I have no clue what I am doing with this baby, but I also have no time today to read the entire manual or play with it like it deserves. This little fling won’t get the proper attention it needs because I have to head out to see the real man in my life after being apart for much too long. Poor rebel, maybe I can play with you tomorrow…

This morning, I already had planned on making Angela’s Spelt Pancakes but tripled the recipe for my sister and father to enjoy with me. In the batter went some organic blueberries and I made a scrambled banana (mash) like yesterday to top them. This time I also added some mashed black raspberries for some pink action.

I feel like such a newbie with the Rebel…after attempting to take a photo of my bite, I ended up with a fuzzy mess. If anyone has any tips for close-ups and which settings I should use, etc. I would really appreciate it!

The pancakes were divine though, and cooked in coconut oil for some nice crispy edges.

Heading out the door right after I publish this, I am taking my sister on a little run. She hasn’t had time for it these last few months so I am going to attempt to slowly build up her endurance and speed with the walking/running method. No one wants injury’s here!

A fun afternoon and night with V is in the works so I won’t be able to post until tomorrow. I will leave you with some shots I promised of my Aunt’s farm in Blauvelt, NY. Remember, she sells at the Nyack Farmer’s Market under the name Blue Field Farm, so stop by if you live nearby.

Valerian Root…helps ya sleep.

Lettuce that she says is no longer good…um, I’ll take some!

Cali poppies, my Cali boy’s favorite flower, and another beauty behind.

Peas, one of my absolute favorite veggies.

I will always be a garlic lover…

The back of the barn…

Bees.

Rhubarb.

Hiding Strawbs…almost time for them at the farmer’s markets!

Baby Bloobs.

Currants, not even close to ripeness.

Other things:

-Do you have a DSLR? I would love some tips since I am hoping to get one in the near future…

Tagged with: , , ,

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthyexposures said, on May 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Girl, you are going to be HOOKED after a day of using a dSLR. Amazing difference, right?! Not sure what you were doing for the close-up shot, but if you don’t have a macro lens it’s only so close you can go, really. with a point and shoot it doesn’t matter so much as long as you’re in macro mode. otherwise, i’d say manual focus and just get as close as you can. it looks like a kit zoom lens on it (not a bad thing – just an observation, lol) so you may not be able to get all too close. when you do invest in one, i’d suggest picking a 50mm f/1.8 or along those lines off ebay. they’re great for food shots!!
    And those pancakes look heavenly!! i love spelt, but for some reason have never made 100% spelt pancakes.

  2. Evan Thomas said, on May 22, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I just found your blog through Mama Peas and I have to say you have AMAZING photography. I’ve added you to my reader and I can’t wait to see more!

  3. Danielle said, on May 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    I wish, wish, wish I had a camera like that! I too have such an interest in it so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a surprise birthday present or something ;)

  4. Natalie @ cinnamonbums said, on May 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    about 4 years ago i got a canon rebel xti and right now i’m using an Xsi! very light and easy to handle. i’ve also used nikon DSLRs but i totally prefer canon – i just like the interface better (even though the shutter is a little more noisy). if you want to invest in an DSLR though and don’t mind spending a little more money i would go for a little higher end like a canon 40d!

    in general though, DSLRs are totally worth the investment. i did a whole photo project using one http://www.nataliesophoto.com – the project “xenophile” was all shot on a canon rebel xsi

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    i cant believe the quality of photos that baby is producing! have a blast with it <3

    mmmm somehow it gives the pancakes a "almost right in front of me" effect! too bad u didnt make extra for me hehe. <3

  6. Amanda @ . seek . said, on May 22, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Photography was actually something I never thought I’d get into either, and it wasn’t until I became a foodie and started blogging that I really started playing around with the lighting, styling, and composition of pictures; before it was always snap and go. Then, when I got my DLSR for Christmas, I completely fell in love with photography, and I’m betting it will be the same for you :)

    I’m not familiar with the Rebel, and I’m still in the process of learning all the tricks of the trade, so I can’t really offer any solid advice, but I do know that if you want to be able to take close up pictures, you need to buy a macro lens. The first lens I bought in addition to the one that came with my camera, was the 50 mm; it’s a great all purpose lens and takes some beautiful shots.

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 23, 2010 at 7:56 am

    I’m dying for a DSLR, but I think I’ll have to wait until at least Christmas for a shot (haha) at one. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous though- I love the baby bloobs especially!

  8. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on May 23, 2010 at 11:38 am

    oooh! Have fun with the Rebel! I definitely don’t know much about using one at all, but sometimes I play pretend with my Mom’s or the boy’s fancy DSLR cameras. I’m about as far from an expert as they get, but I think it just requires some patience and experimenting to get the hang of it.

    And those pancakes look amazing!! :)

  9. Claire @ College:Raw said, on May 23, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Wow. Your photography is absolutely gorgeous! It makes me want to go out and garden, and I don’t even like gardening, haha. I wish I had a DSLR, but I don’t…perhaps one day.

  10. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition said, on May 23, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Looks like you had a fun date ; )

    Gorgeous photos! I want t real camera…one of these days..

  11. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on May 23, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    The Rebel! Omg Susan of the greatbalancingact has that cam! She and I were JUST talking about it! I have wanted to maybe get a DSLR but like you am clueless about cam’s that aren’t point and shoot. No advice for you but keep me posted how you like it…

  12. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 23, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I am loving your camera; amazing photos! And those pancakes look DIVINE.

  13. Rachael said, on May 23, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Camera envy. I’ve got the oldest digital camera around (world’s smallest violin in the background as oil spills in the gulf and kids starve everywhere…) It makes me want to whip out my old manual.
    I’ll pass on the name of your aunt’s stand to my folks- they’re in Nyack and have recently discovered the farmer’s market there (after ten years) and the idea of eating locally and in season.Finally.

  14. Katie said, on May 24, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Oooh, look at you with that camera! The photos are GORGEOUS… I debated getting one but ended up getting the s90 (which I LOVE) because I knew I wasn’t going to want to haul the big guy around in a clutch on a Saturday night!

    I just bought spelt flour and am curious about experimenting with it… Angela’s pancakes look delicious!

  15. Simply Life said, on May 24, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    yum, those pancakes look delicious!

  16. lisasfoods said, on May 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Loved the pancake photos (and the raspberry topping), and the farm looks beautiful. It makes me long for summer and harvesting fresh foods, especially the rhubarb and strawberries.

  17. Gracie @ Girl Meets Health said, on May 24, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Those photos are GORGEOUS! I have serious camera-envy right now, not gonna lie… :P

  18. double take. « A Fresh Dille said, on May 25, 2010 at 2:32 am

    [...] Sauté which was composed of local carrots, snap peas, and english peas. I didn’t bring the big camera along for the trip because we had to make our way to a wrap party, but believe me it was delicious. [...]

  19. [...] about some simple eats I’ve been consuming. Unfortunately, my love affair with the Canon Rebel had to come to a close so the shots aren’t quite the same. This is why I am eagerly awaiting [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

