A Fresh Dille

bananas, chocolate, & wraps x 2.

Posted in FOOD, TRAVEL, VEGAN by clairedille on May 25, 2010

The weekend came and went much too fast. The few shots I took this week with the Canon Rebel were hurried, and sometimes, just not pretty. I still will share a few tasty eats I had the chance to enjoy over the weekend.

Rolled oats are always made with almond milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and whipped with banana while cooking. I decided that more banana mash(scramble?) had to make its way back into my stomach, for the third day in a row. This time it was mixed with organic frozen wild blueberries, maple syrup, and the scrapings from the oatmeal pot. Raw creamy almond butter was poured on top and quickly stirred in to enjoy while still in bed. There was also a cup of coffee larger than this chipped mug.

Have I mentioned yet that I absolutely adore falafel? Well, I do. I am sure many of you do as well. I sliced up some leftover Whole Foods Falafel that someone in my household bought the day before and threw them on a few of my favorite salad ingredients. I don’t know why, but I just can’t do Romaine these days. I just want Spinach, Spinach, Spinach at all times. We’ve gone through three boxes in the last week and I have a giant bag from an organic stand at our local farmer’s market that is going to be finished tomorrow morning. Don’t worry, I made sure to add some more dressing to this salad for lunch.

We have such a ridiculous amount of herbs growing in V’s little indoor garden. It is actually quite cute how caught up in it he has become. He has bought special lamps set on a timer and they have a schedule very similar to his own, work all night, sleep all day. I had to trim them in the dark on Sunday because I couldn’t figure out how to turn on the lamps. I may have cut off some of the tomato plant by accident, oops.

Turning to Isa and Terry for a simple herb dressing, I made a Silken Tofu Mayo like dressing but thinned it out with extra virgin olive oil and apple cider vinegar. The parsley and cilantro made this dressing. I shouldn’t have neglected this cookbook for so long, Veganomicon has really lived up to its potential.

My sister and I are still loving The Chicago Diner Chocolate Chip Cookies while sipping on tea. I need to make my own vegan chocolate chip cookies again soon. Maybe these? Chocolate is one of those things I can always eat, even when the temps are really rising.

I even made some Vegan Zucchini Spelt Muffins with Chocolate Chips this weekend. I used this recipe but replaced the Carrots with Zucchini, Whole Wheat with Spelt Flour, and raisins with mini chocolate chips.

The seemingly orange hue has no explanation, they just came out of the oven this way. Fortunately, these were amazing. Both taste-testers said they could eat a few of them, but held back since dinner was looming.

Woodbridge Pub is the place V and I go the most often in Detroit. So far, it seems to be the only restaurant with food I like in the entire city. You wouldn’t think that a vegetarian would have much luck at a pub, but the Black Bean Burger is the best I’ve ever had. It comes with grilled onions, tomato, an avocado purée, and a balsamic glaze. We shared the Spring Vegetable Sauté which was composed of local carrots, snap peas, and english peas. I didn’t bring the big camera along for the trip because we had to make our way to a wrap party, but believe me it was delicious. The owner of Woodbridge grew up on a farm in Michigan and was a handyman in Detroit before fixing up the abandoned building with salvaged materials. Detroit needs so much help right now. I am used to living in Boston and New York with many veggie filled restaurants I love, but I need to remember that my high school years were spent in Michigan. Although I barely went to Detroit back then (except for the rare concert) it is unbelievable to see the lack of businesses within the city now. The Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, and all normal grocery stores are miles away from the city itself. It is nearly impossible to find a grocery store open past 8pm. The wealthy suburbs are a different story and I was completely oblivious the years I lived in this state as teenager.

Today, I polished off the last of my Scottish Oatmeal. I may have shed a tear or two…

These were topped with a figgy chia banana mash of sorts and a few organic blueberries.

Things got interesting as today progressed, and I found out that for the next few days, I will be assisting on a music video. This is pretty exciting since I have yet to help costume one. It shall be an entertaining experience, I am sure. This means that my posts will be rather sporadic but since finishing the gluten-free challenge, I don’t feel the need to post every meal. I hope to get in the kitchen for some tasty concoctions this weekend involving “The Conscious Cook,” but between now and then, I won’t be keeping any promises.

Today’s addiction: wraps!

Lunch involved homemade tempeh bacon, spinach, carrots, cherry tomatoes, avocado, and the Silken Tofu dressing from the day before. I also tried another GT’s Synergy Kombucha, the Guava Goddess, which my sister and I both agreed was lovely.

Wrap number 2:

I am obsessed with the Veganomicon Chickpea Cutlets I made the other day and decided to whip up another batch for tonight’s dinner. An ezekiel wrap was spread with organic tomato paste and baby spinach, and then I sliced up the cutlet to devour. There was also kale and broccoli eaten alongside.

Since this isn’t the every meal, every day type of blog, I must let you know that there are many other snacks that make their way into my stomach daily. I just haven’t gotten used to whipping out the camera for those occasions, and probably never will. However, the Vegan Zucchini Muffins were just as great on day two!

Other things:

-Since I am missing NY a lot these days, I must share this round-up by Kathy from the Lunchbox Bunch blog about her favorite NYC Vegan Spots. Have you ever eaten at any of them? Any favorites?

-After consuming copious amount of oats these last few weeks, I feel a little oat-ed out…thinking a green juice is in order for my first day prepping for the shoot tomorrow. This also may have had something to do with it…I just couldn’t stop browsing her beautiful blog today. Do you ever get tired of oats? What is your (other) favorite breakfast for the warmer months?

-Have you heard about the (never home) maker’s foodie book club? I’ve read a few of them but I love the concept and have yet to read the book last reviewed, A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg, the creator of the Orangette, one of the first blogs I read.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthyexposures said, on May 25, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Congrats on the video shoot!! That’s so exciting!!
    And all your pictures came out awesome!! Are you addicted yet?
    And hats off to you for coming up with a figgy banana mash. That is PURE genius…I’m out of figs, but need to restock today. Perhaps tomorrow that will make its way onto my bowl :)
    I love how you really can just “whip up” those chickpea cutlets. Usually burgers/stuff like that are time consuming. Not those babies. And they’re like a little bit of heaven. Ohhh, Isa… :)
    Have fun & good luck today!

    • clairedille said, on May 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

      ahh, my dad took the camera back today! Good thing I will be too distracted to really care this week!

  2. brandi said, on May 25, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I love that bowl/mug!

  3. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 25, 2010 at 9:23 am

    i had a falafel for the first time yesterday! it was crazy.. the one i had was a fried chickpea.. i mean i guess theyre all chickpeas anyways BUT SO GOOD! i cant believe.. how did i not have them before?

    i love the idea of a banana mash.. mmmm… and u always know how to make those wraps DELICIOUS!

    and MUST SAVE THAT RECIPE! ive already clicked the link and will look at it NOW <3 xoxo

  4. Amanda @ . seek . said, on May 25, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Girl that’s really exciting about the music shoot! Have a great time and don’t worry about being a sporadic poster for a while; real life is way more important and the bloggie world will always be here when you have the time to come back and update us :)

    All your eats are looking super delicious, by the way, and thanks for the link for the choco-chip cookies… I bookmarked it and I’ll definitely be making some soon… although I’m trying to figure out how to add oatmeal to them and still have them turn out well. Hmm..

    I haven’t gotten oated out yet, but other breakfasts I enjoy are pancakes, waffles, and crepes. Smoothies are definitely a good choice for the warmer months though.

  5. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 25, 2010 at 10:13 am

    All of your food is BEAUTIFUL! Seriously! I actually never tire of oats, believe it or not. Sometimes I switch to overnight oats on summer days though! Oatmeal is just such a blank canvas, I love it.

  6. Katie said, on May 25, 2010 at 10:19 am

    You’ve been busy in the kitchen! Those zucchini chocolate chip muffins look sooo good. I think I have to bake today.

  7. Kilee said, on May 25, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Your photos are beautiful! I hope that the shoot goes well. Take care and have a great day, Kilee

  8. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Thank you so much for that link to all the NYC places! I’ve been to a few, have a few on my list, and had never even heard of some, so I just bookmarked it for when I’m back at school!

    I adore falafel as well. If you’re a Costco member, you can buy the Veggie Patch balls in bulk there…they’re vegan and super convenient!

    So funny that you had a Chicago Diner cookie, because it was just on the Food network last night. Coincidence :)

  9. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on May 25, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Congrats on the music video gig! That sounds so exciting…and glamorous! :)

    Those muffins look delicious, orange hue and all. I guess what matters most is what it tastes like, right?

    And I think all your pictures are beautiful!! Everything came out so well, and even your oats look mouth-watering.

  10. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on May 25, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    this post is off the chain
    there are bloggers that are big, but they suck. and are big for no apparent reaason.

    you should be big, huge, famous….b/c your food is amazing!!! looking!!!!!!!

    banana mash(scramble?)
    the muffins, genius
    Choc chip cookies

    “Veganomicon has really lived up to its potential.”–it’s the ONLY vegan big name book i dont own. Crap. This confirms, I need it. now.

    scottish oats with bloobs. heavenly.

    i am drooling

    oh an chickpea cutlets. i think mama pea made those for thanksgiving ? someone did and gave them a good review

    WOW AMAZING POST CLAIRE!!!

  11. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on May 26, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Wow. Your post made me hungry. I think we are on the same page with our current obsessions…spinach, wraps, falafel, chocolate, oats…I wish you were closer to me because I have too much spinach in my garden and we can’t go through it fast enough!

    I always think I am “oated” out, but then I have something else and wish I had eaten oats!

    …and your muffins look fantastic!

  12. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife said, on May 26, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Just found your blog and those muffins look delish!

    I actually have some leftover chickpeas so some sort of “burgers” are in my near future I think :-)

  13. Jessica said, on May 27, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Just recently found your blog… and I love it :)

    I’ve been making homemade pancakes all summer and they are my absolute favorite! I usually throw banana slices and/or blueberries while they’re cooking over the stove, and then I add agave and almond butter! sooo good

  14. Ameena said, on May 27, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I adore falafel too, and your beautiful pictures! You are one very talented photographer!

  15. Jess - The Domestic Vegan said, on May 29, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Wow, gorgeous photos!!! That bowl of oats looks to die for.

    I also LOVE LOVE LOVE falafel. If I had to choose, I think I’d have to say that it’s my favorite food. It’s so great in salad (as your picture shows). :)

    I love those Dreena chocolate chip cookies! SO GREAT.

  16. lisasfoods said, on May 30, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Falafel is so delicious, but I don’t eat it often enough.

    I eat oats pretty often in the winter, but I also eat more toast and bread products for winter breakfasts, topped with nut butter and banana or jam.

  17. Run Sarah said, on May 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Your photos look wonderful! I love oatmeal with berries and almond butter – such a great combination. Your zucchini muffins look wonderful as well. I’ve actually never used zucchini in baking before but may have to take the plunge and try it out!

  18. therabbitrunner said, on May 30, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    geez your camera takes great pictures :) sorry it has to go back though :\

    ahh falafel!!! we could be falafel buddies because i am OBSESSED. i think I may have had it for the past two nights. fantastic.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

