A Fresh Dille

mem day deliciousness.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on June 1, 2010

After writing about my tendency to be uncomfortable in extreme heat yesterday, I was stuck in a thunderstorm in a Whole Foods parking lot when venturing out for Memorial Day Dinner ingredients. I didn’t mind though, because within a half an hour, the weather dropped ten degrees. The only thing that changed in the night’s festivities was that our feast was moved indoors. Everyone contributed to the preparation of the meal and it turned out to be a tremendously delicious, yet overly filling night.

A few weeks ago, I was sent some coupons for free chips from Food Should Taste Good. In the past, I’ve had the Multigrain variety and seriously loved them. They were the perfect balance of sweet and nuttiness from the sunflower seeds, flax, sesame seeds and other grains. Last night, we tried the new Blue Corn Chips and Jalapeño flavors. I preferred the Blue Corn Chips because they had a similar sweetness as the Multigrain, with the addition of the same seeds. I’ve always loved Blue Corn chips but have never had them with quinoa, brown rice, oat fiber, and seeds before. I could eat them daily. However, the Jalapeño were also very tasty and paired perfectly with the Corn Salsa my mom had made. Both would be great with Guacamole too. But what isn’t? In all honesty, I know that I will be buying these Food Should Taste Good chips again. I adore the nuttiness from the seeds and grains too much to not let myself enjoy them again soon.

A slightly messy & partially consumed corn salsa photo…

For our Memorial Day meal, I wanted to make a very simple salad focusing on two local ingredients.

My mother has said that she never has really enjoyed radishes fully. In hopes of changing her mind, I sliced them very thin (without a mandoline because of a horrible experience last summer) and tossed them on top of the local lettuce my parents also picked up at the farmers market.

Earlier in the day, I made Angela’s Better than Bottled Balsamic Vinaigrette that she had adapted from a Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan. Often, I make a simple balsamic dijon vinaigrette, but this dressing was knock-your-socks off good. Really, just make it. It may be the maple syrup that makes it incredible, and a little sweetness never hurt anybody.

My father had picked up the worlds largest rib eye steaks for the rest of the diners to feast on, but my sister decided to go the veg route and share some marinated grilled tempeh with me. The inspiration for the Tempeh was from Kathy’s Lunchbox Bunch blog, my latest obsession. She created a great compilation of her favorite bbq foods for the weekends festivities that will come in handy for the upcoming summer. We also had sweet potato fries, a staple in our home.

Notice the raindrops on the plate? I tried to snap these in the only remaining sunlight I can find, on our back steps…

A favorite seasonal dessert, a Martha Stewart recipe for Apple Berry Crumble, was made by my mother. I asked her to swap the butter for Earth Balance buttery sticks and she used whole wheat pastry flour in place of white. Although she was hesitant to make such changes, we all agreed that it tasted just as wonderful as before. The five of us devoured this spooned over So Delicious Vanilla Bean coconut milk ice cream.

Lets just say, we went to bed with full, happy bellies.

Other things:

-Do you consider yourself a traditionalist when it comes to desserts? My father, the Brit, who called our dessert “pudding” wouldn’t allow oats to be added to the crumble topping tonight. We all knew it would be a great idea since oats could add the perfect crunch, but we decided not to because it was already veganized.

-Look how tasty this Gluten Free bread recipe looks on Aran’s Cannelle et Vanille blog. I haven’t ever made a yeast bread, and am unsure of what I am really afraid of. Unfortunately, most gluten-free baked items use an abundance of eggs. Maybe this will be a challenge for this week, a veganized gluten-free yeasted bread recipe. Do you bake your own bread?

-The No Meat Athlete’s post about The Vegetarian Diet for Athletes was tremendous. He also interviewed an inspiration of mine, Brendan Brazier, about All Things Energy. I love reading about other athletes who feel they can adequately fuel themselves with a plant-based diet. Of course, I am an advocate of finding whatever works best for the individual, as well.

I hope everyone is having a lovely week so far. I may be heading to one of my favorite spots next Tuesday with V. I really am wishing it works out as planned.

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 1, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Omigosh, yum! Everything from your Memorial Day dinner looks so insanely delicious. I absolutely love tortilla chips with salsa, and that apple-berry crumble with coconut milk ice cream sounds divine… can I come over next year? ;)

    I’m definitely not a traditionalist when it comes to desserts; as long as it tastes good, I’m a happy camper. I actually like experimenting with traditional recipes, and trying to make them healthier or even vegan. I’ve never really understood why some people have such a bad impression of vegan desserts; some of the best cookies I’ve had have been vegan!

    Bread, however, scares me. I’ve never made my own because it honestly looks so complicated. There’s so many places things can go wrong, and I think working with yeast intimidates me. It’s something I’d love to try, though, as I’m sure there’s nothing quite like the taste of homemade bread.

  2. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on June 1, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    So much deliciousness! First of all, those blue corn chips and the corn salsa looks wonderful. And so do the tempeh and sweet tater fries!! I am most certainly not a dessert traditionalist. I love new twists (aka adding oats to crumble toppings)!!

  3. Jamie Walker said, on June 1, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    That tempeh looks amazing!

  4. Eliza said, on June 1, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    hey lovie, firstly thank you for your comment on my post <3
    And wow your memorial day eats look so delicious, I love radishes, and that tempeh looks so good! sounds like a great time spent with your family!
    i think when it comes to dessert i am more of a traditionalist, although i love trying vegan cookies, different non dairy ice creams and what not!..i am a pretty adventurous eater, and breads, ahh i always want to make homemade bread, as a kid by mom would make the best homemade bread and there is just nothing like it!…i remember always having warm bread with butter and honey for snack, i think my mom would make millet bread..i should ask her to make that again :) happy June beautiful girl! xx

    Eliza

  5. lisasfoods said, on June 1, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Those chips look delicious – I’ll have to look out for those. They’d be good to bring for a party, since I normally don’t buy chips much for our house.

    And I love radishes, especially when they’re in season. They have such a great crunch and bite. They’re so good cut into chunks and eaten plain, raw.

  6. ashley said, on June 1, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Your eats look killer. I can’t wait to try bbq tempeh!! Just need a new tank of gas :) Your photos look awesome girl!

  7. ashley said, on June 1, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    p.s. FSTG chips are the.best.ever.

  8. adrienmelaine said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Your blog is amazing! The photos are fantastic!

    So happy to have stumbled upon it-

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:21 am

    In the past, I’ve had the Multigrain variety and seriously loved them = OMG so i had those chips in my hand at the store but i put them back and just got tried and true mary’s crackers b/c i ddint want to waste $ but you’re the 2nd blog in a week who’s said that. now i MUST buy those!

    the link to the bbq stuff..thank you

    love the use of radishes. in my CSA in san diego i swear for a month or so, i got about 50 radishes a week. never sure how to fully use them

    ed & bv. normally dont ever make anything from that book BUT the dressings she has are fabulous. I have recently made (well 3 mos or so ago) a maple dijon dressing and posted about it. super easy and good. oh and ginger went in mine too

    xo

  10. Lisa @bakebikeblog said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:43 am

    WOW – what an amazing day of eats! It made me hungry just looking at them :)

  11. Simply Life said, on June 2, 2010 at 8:29 am

    wow! everything looks great – especially those chips and salsa!

  12. Kelsey said, on June 2, 2010 at 10:18 am

    i bet your bellies were loving you up! that crumble looks YuMmY <3

    i just checked out the gf bread recipe- WOW huh!! quite incredible!

    love all ur Memorial Eatzz

  13. Kelsey said, on June 2, 2010 at 11:54 am

    yea the new nature’s path cereals were pretty good but i cant say they were amazing! i felt they were what i expected even tho i usually hope they go beyond my expectations. but i guess for gluten free.. not bad…

  14. Ameena said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I wish I had come over for Memorial Day because everything you had looks fabulous! I haven’t tried the FSTG chips yet but they look fantastic. My favorite chips thus far are the Garden of Good Eatin Red Hot Blues. Give them a try if you haven’t already!

    And thank you for making me feel better about my hair. I am being a drama queen I know. I need to move on. :)

  15. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on June 2, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I love the blue corn AND multi-grain Food Should Taste Good chips. They’re seriously addicting!

    All of your food from Memorial Day looks SOOO good! Did your mom like the radishes?? I can’t say I’m a fan, but I always think I should maybe give them another chance.

    And I’m not a traditionalist when it comes to desserts. I have my “tried and true” favorites, but I do really enjoy experimenting with new recipes and trying new combinations I maybe wouldn’t have thought of myself.

    • clairedille said, on June 3, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      my mom liked the radishes just for the crunch! They can be a little bitter but I pickled some with umeboshi vinegar and they were great plain!

  16. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on June 2, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I love Food Should Taste Good chips! I’ve only ever tried the sweet potato, multigrain and chocolate though. The multigrain is my favorite but those others look awesome too! I’ll have to try them!

  17. SentimentsbyDenise said, on June 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Radishes – oh, how I love them!
    Just discovered your blog – Yum!

  18. Katharina said, on June 2, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about those chips! I may have to pick them up next time I’m at the discount healthfood store :) Everything looks delicious by the way. Especially the crumble with the vanilla coconut milk ice cream. My mouth waters!! Excuse me while I wipe off the drool on my keyboard lol.

    When it comes to desserts I think I consider myself.. picky and kind of a snob lol. It also sucks that I can’t handle large amounts of dairy i.e. milkshakes, ice cream :\ But I usually like to try non-traditional desserts… or maybe I’ll spy something traditional with a twist, you know?

    I LOVE Cannelle et Vanille blog. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for ages and I still dream of the day of making it. It just looks so pretty doesn’t it? I just feel like I need to make a day of it. You know what, I should? Because I’m sure these would turn out great and it would be so worth it! I do bake my own bread occasionally. I love it! Kneading the dough is the best part.

    XO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  19. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on June 3, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I’m definitely not a dessert purist. I’ll try anything…the more exotic, the better!

    Although, I do appreciate a good traditional no-frills chocolate cake or apple pie, too!

    That’s a lovely radish photo. I recently saw a radish pizza on a menu, but I didn’t try it. I think I should have.

  20. rebekah (clarity in creation.) said, on June 3, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    hey girl – the gluten-free goddess has a few vegan GF recipes i’ve made for my sister before. super easy! http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/
    -rebekah


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

