A Fresh Dille

a more personal post

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on June 19, 2010

It’s been quite the week. Things are definitely looking wonderful on the work front after months of worrying. It just shows that keeping in touch with people you’ve worked well with in the past is truly important. Freelancing may be my entire future so I have to get used to times of abundant work and those other times when I hopefully will be able to travel, relax, and see those I care about (since it is incredibly hard while working). The reality of it is that I have chosen a path where I will be happy with my career and enjoy most 10-14 hour working days. You must agree, it is a scary thing to make such big decisions about your future. Not only am I unsure where this will bring me, but I am also unsure of the amount of cooking, photography, and writing I can manage during the months I am working on a project. The posts may be closer to once a week, focusing on one meal, day, event, or recipe. Hopefully, my lovely readers will stay along for the ride because blogging is one of my favorite past times. Not only preparing and writing my own, but reading others as well.

Preparing for the United States versus Slovenia World Cup game that was full of drama, I made some patriotic oats.

These were my oats of choice, Scottish, cooked in a new favorite find, Coconut Milk Kefir. The usual mix of whipped banana, vanilla, and cinnamon was topped with organic berries and raw creamy almond butter. Something about these warmer days has me craving raw almond butter more than usual. Luckily, Trader Joe’s carries the much affordable raw almond butter to help with my habit. Other roasted brands seem to be rather pricey.

Another significant change is taking place in the next few days.

Here are two salads for two future roommates. Soon, I will be leaving my parents home to move into a loft with V. We had the pleasure of viewing one in his current building and it was too good of an opportunity to pass up. The building, an old Detroit pins and needle factory, is incredibly safe in the somewhat unsafe city we’ve found ourself in. I never imagined living in this city and know that one day I will return to my home, New York, or maybe Northern California for the atmosphere I love dearly, but I do find myself liking it as much as possible. The poor city needs much help but for now I do enjoy the company of those I work with and the little community close to his building (and soon mine). It is hard being away from all my friends, but at this age, I need to remember that I’m working to someday have more freedom within my career.

After a delicious sushi date last weekend our local favorite place, I was craving some more delicious veggie filled sushi. Instead of brown rice, I opted for some red quinoa already sitting in the fridge. Avocado would have been ideal but the not-yet ripe ones would have resulted in disappointment, so I went with simple cucumber carrot nori rolls. These weren’t as good as my favorite asparagus tempura, avocado, sweet potato rolls, but they satisfied my hunger.

We are heading out for Indian, one of my Father’s favorite types of cuisine, for an early Father’s Day meal. It took me much longer than the rest of my family to love Indian but I find the spices so warming and delicious now. Indian menus feature so many vegetarian options and I just love me some Chana Masala.

Other things

-Wendy from ABC’s and Garden Peas is having a Turtle Mountain Coconut Milk giveaway.

-The Foodista blog reviewed the next book I have chosen to read, The Butcher and The Vegetarian. Have you read it? I would love to read some other opinions.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!

Tagged with: , , , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on June 19, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Freelancing sounds awesome! Your sushi looks wonderful. And I just had some TJ’s raw almond butter; it’s delicious!

  2. Amy said, on June 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I definitely understand how things can seem rather unideal at the moment, but you’re definitely right- working hard now gets you more freedom in the future. i think freelancing sounds great and i can’t wait to hear about the great things you’ll be working on.

    have a great weekend!

  3. healthyexposures said, on June 19, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I know that I, for one, am along for the ride :) I love your blog, and will always read and support, whether it’s one meal or every single one. When i had some blog detoxing, I still enjoyed just posting about one good meal/new recipe, rather than everything.
    So exciting that you’re making such big decisions – congratulations on everything! You’re going places, girl :)
    The sushi looks great! I always connotate sushi with raw fish and immediately cringe – I really need to get rid of that food stereotype, though!

  4. thehungryscholar said, on June 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Hello. I just found your blog. I am also a writer, but in a different sense. I am getting my PhD in English.

    Anyway, I love your blog. Hope you enjoy the Indian.

  5. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 19, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    It’s great to hear that you’re figuring things out with your future, girl, and I really admire you for pursuing your dreams despite the uncertainty you feel. It is difficult to make those big life decisions, but you really seem to have everything figured out, and I think your life is going to go in a wonderful direction :)

    As for blogging, I can promise you that I’ll be checking in for all your updates :) Don’t feel pressured to post more than you’re able to or anything like that. Blogging is fun, yes, but real life is more important, and when everything is taken care of in that department, then the blogging world will always be here when you have a little bit of time to spare :)

  6. tasha - the clean eating mama said, on June 20, 2010 at 2:26 am

    I would embrace your challenges. Sometimes we must suck up long days, tedious hours and grueling work just to stay ahead… hoping the reward will be sweet in the end. You will always have your fan base that will lend an open ear whenever you feel the time is right to blog.
    Freelance work has always been a goal of mine. Although my writing inspiration is hit or miss at times. I am strange – I need to be in the write mentality, the right atmosphere with the right tools and subject.
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  7. Ameena said, on June 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Leaving friends and family is definitely challenging but take it from me Claire, you should definitely enjoy this time in your life when you don’t have responsibilities to hold you back from furthering your career. There are so many times when I wish I could just pick up and move to London, NYC, Paris…and I would if I didn’t have a child to think of. But one of these days I will and who knows, maybe we’ll be able to meet up in our beloved NYC. :)

  8. L @ Whole Wheat Or Bust! said, on June 20, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Just found this blog and immediately bookmarked it the second I saw your homemade quinoa sushi. Goldmine!!

  9. lisasfoods said, on June 21, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I think that sounds like the right decision. I completely support what you choose to do, and will read your posts every time you’re on my reader. There are always times in our lives when blogging has to take a step back.

  10. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on June 23, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    It sounds like things are moving in the right direction for you — congratulations on all the new changes. I hope the job-situation continues to work out well (I do envy your freelancing ways! haha) and that you enjoy your new apartment with V. No matter how often you blog, I will definitely still be along for the ride. :)

    Also, that quinoa sushi looks amazing!! I was actually reading this, eating a bowl of quinoa…and I automatically felt disappointed that my dinner wasn’t nearly that good!

  11. [...] much for all the support given about my (maybe) limited blogging in the next few months, which I┬ámentioned last week. When I spoke of freelancing, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to discuss what I do, but I figure [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

