A Fresh Dille

6 months left…

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 2, 2010

Excuse my absence.

Since moving and beginning to prep my next project, I have been quite the pitiful foodie, runner, yogi, etc. Many meals have centered around leftovers that we were able to carry upstairs to the larger apartment in which we are now situated in. There have been many moments in the last week where I’ve reached in the freezer for leftover soup. ATT is now in my nightmares and hopefully all issues involving scattered or non-existent internet will be resolved today mid-morning. However, yesterday was the first day I have felt “at home.” Waking up with the sun coming in the sliding door to our new roof deck is making each morning a little easier. This is usually after previously waking up by V’s departure in the darker morning hours and re-attempting to get a few more hours of quality sleep.

It is still strange for me to live in a city where I don’t feel completely comfortable going out solo in the evenings. I’ve said this many times but Detroit needs so much help and maybe the film industry will be beneficial for the area. The few grocery stores within the city tend to be dirty, overpriced, and filled with processed junk. It is frustrating to have to drive to the suburbs to obtain good groceries from Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. We have decided that a Farmer’s Market run is a must-do tomorrow morning because my fresh produce has been pretty minimal this week.

Although the move was not very far, we spent two days moving all our items up many stairs. V is pretty good at lifting heavy objects like bins of camping gear and racks full of clothing (yes, we use rolling wardrobe racks for our clothing…just like work), but I was incredibly tired. I am now at the sore stage, which isn’t making these any easier.

In order to ease some post-move soreness, I brought the yoga mat out for the first time in a while yesterday evening. Actually, it has been used in other ways in the last week, one being dinner on said roof deck since we have yet to buy patio furniture.

I spent thirty minutes doing Sun Salutations taught by Dave Farmar, specifically this class form yogadownload.com. It has been much too long since I’ve let out stress on the mat and I’ve decided this has to change for the second half of 2010. Can you believe that we are already halfway through the year? I certainly can not. Due to my upcoming crazy schedule of prep and shooting through August, training for a marathon may not be possible. Fitting in at least 30 minutes of yoga a few days a week is a much more rational goal for the upcoming weeks filled with 10-14 hour work days running around set. I do miss studio classes, but schedule-wise, I rarely can make a class. Besides, roof deck yoga doesn’t seem too awful.

The downstairs of our loft is pretty bare right now and I have been rushing upstairs to eat my oats in the sunshine. Coconut butter is something I will make from now on. It melts so nicely over warm oats and forms a great shell on overnight oats.

Of course I still love my raw almond butter and cacao bliss. V’s Surfer magazine was the perfect backdrop for these overnight oats. Apparently, strawberries are the only berries present in our fridge. I’ve been craving blueberries and because July is Blueberry Month, I better find some this weekend!

Angela and Ashley have been making overnight oats with banana soft serve that have made me swoon these last few weeks. Already a huge fan of Gena’s banana soft serve, I was dying to try a new version with cherries or berries. This did not disappoint. The only banana left was frozen and I whipped it with some organic frozen berries to layer between the overnight oats made with coconut milk and chia seeds. Cacao bliss and coconut butter were both poured on top to form a shell on the cold strawberries.

This lady’s pumpkin hummus tortilla pizza was another thing I’ve been meaning to make for a while and yesterday I made a pumpkin-less version with red pepper hummus. On top of the hummus, I layered mushrooms, leftover asparagus, and vegan lentil walnut loaf crumbles. This is definitely a lunch worth repeating. The crispness of the baked tortilla and the creamy hummus makes a tasty base for a bed of veggies I can’t wait to experiment with.

Our dinner celebrated another July Foodie holiday (unintentionally), Baked Bean Month! Baked Beans were a dish I ate a lot growing up. My dad enjoys his with toast (and sausage) like any other Brit, but I opted for sweet potatoes and a refreshing salad for the first night of July’s dinner.

Since we still have yet to grocery shop, I relied on the canned version of Baked Beans by Eden. They are the good but not as good as homemade. Eden is local, BPA free, and GMO free; therefore, I have no problem relying on them when in need. This VegNews recipe for Tempeh BBQ Baked Beans sounds great though.

The salad was composed of baby spring mix, shaved carrots, radishes, avocado, and better than bottled balsamic vinaigrette.

This was ready at least an hour before V came home but after some quick re-heating of the sweets and beans, we sat outside and ate while viewing far away fireworks from Windsor, Canada in celebration of Canada Day.

Now, it is time to head downstairs for the last of my Scottish oats and strawberries and another crazy day ahead. I am still trying to catch up with all things involving the blogosphere, but I hope everyone is having a great start to July and the second half of 2010.

Other things:

-Do you have any exciting weekend plans for the fourth? Do you have a special menu or dish planned? We have more furniture shopping to do, world cup watching, baseball game (second this summer = second game ever) attending, and hopefully some time spent with family and one of my best friends in town from Guatemala. As far as planned menus, I am unsure of where we will be Sunday and Monday evenings but I have many bbq type dishes bookmarked like these Portobello burgers and Grilled Bananas.

-Are you craving any certain fruit or veggies recently? Are they the ones abundant within this season or do you find yourself wanting out of season produce? For the most part, I am wanting seasonal berries and veggies. I can’t wait for some organic tomatoes and peaches but I still crave avocados and bananas which are never “in season” in the midwest.

-Do you have any goals you wish to accomplish by the end of 2010? Are you re-evaluating resolutions? I don’t tend to make resolutions for the year but I know that things such as adding more yoga into my life will be extremely beneficial for my physical and mental health these next few months. I miss racing so much and still hope to run a half marathon by the end of 2010, but if it isn’t possible, I will try to fit in smaller races.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.