A Fresh Dille

multiple views.

Posted in ENTERTAINMENT, FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 5, 2010

Although belated, tonight is actually going to be our official BBQ for the Fourth of July at my parents house. I’ve already received the phone call notifying me that my father bought a veggie burger from the prepared foods section of Whole Foods to throw on the grill for me. Of course I was hoping to whip up something special for myself and whoever wanted some tasty vegan fare, but this weekend has been another hectic one.

I’ve mentioned it before, but I am not your typical American sports fan. Actually, I am pretty far from one. Soccer and Tennis are more my thing, but when V told me he was given four free tickets to a Detroit Tigers game, our second of the summer, I eagerly agreed. There were a few reasons why I knew it was worth going and one was that he was told “they will be the best seats you’ve ever had.” The last time (and my first baseball game ever) we sat maybe nine rows back and I was pretty satisfied. This time though, we were in the first row behind the Tigers dugout, which was a prime viewing spot for seeing each player’s facial expression. There were also quite a few foul bowls that I made sure to duck from, while the rest of the fans jumped up in hopes of catching one. The highlight of the night was the fireworks show set up post-game on the field. By the time the wonderfully long and loud show came to a close, we were slightly covered with firework residue and had a little too much for our eyes to handle. However, it was really a special night and I met a few people V is working with on his current film who were great company.

There was no way I was going to miss another Farmer’s Market trip, so we woke up early Saturday morning to head to a different market than usual on our way to Ikea. The organic stands were pretty minimal which disappoints me a little, but I did pick up some broccoli, multiple cucumbers, kale, beets, raspberries, and the blueberries I’ve been craving all week.

You know what had to come next…patriotic oats for the holiday of course.

After eating my way through my Scottish Oats recently, I knew it was time to change things up. One day I will take photos of my obsessive jar collection, but one was full to the brim of Steel Cut oats that were begging to be prepared. With Amanda’s steel-cut oat creations (and tutorial)┬áin my mind, I decided to make a batch for me and V covered in raspberries, blueberries, and coconut butter. They took about ten minutes longer than my usual oats, but they were extra creamy and just as delicious.

I also must mention the coupons I won from Wendy for Turtle Mountain Products. So far I’ve been enjoying the Plain Coconut Milk Kefir with berries and puffins. It has been added to my steel-cut oats two mornings in a row with a slightly sour result V and I both enjoy.

Instead of your typical BBQ/beach/family gathering Fourth of July, V and I had work errands and an Ikea trip on the agenda. By the time dinner rolled around (yes, we ate lunch yesterday too but it was nothing exciting since we were building our new apartment purchases) we were starving and looked through some bookmarked dishes to prepare with minimal ingredients. Susan’s Polenta Pizza was one I’ve had my eye on for a while and we had a jar full of Polenta which made the decision easy.

It was rather dark by the time we ate since it was past 9 PM but it was a tasty treat we both loved.

Lighting was scarce in the usually well-lit apartment, but I still captured what I could of the polenta pizza baked with our own basil, rosemary, and chives. Spread on top was organic tomato sauce, garlic, onion, red pepper, and broccoli. My half also had mushrooms but V steered clear since he is not a fan of cooked mushrooms due to the “weird texture.” Well, more for me…

After dinner, we made our way up to the roof and realized that we had views of multiple firework shows around Detroit. When counting them all, we saw ten different shows across the skyline. It was such a magical experience and made up for all the missed shows in the last few years.

-Have you missed Fireworks shows on past July 4th or similar holidays? Are you a fan? I must admit that I completely thought they were overrated and much more fun when I was younger on Martha’s Vineyard. Since we saw them two nights this weekend, I am reminded how wonderful they are!

-Are you a polenta fan? Any good recipes? I really love it. Usually I prepare it simply creamy topped with pesto or tomato sauce and roasted veggies. Really, I am a fan of most things corn related.

As I am already late for my parents dinner, I must head out. I hope everyone had a lovely Fourth of July Weekend! I have missed all things blog related recently!

ciao for now.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maggie said, on July 5, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Glad you had a good weekend! Enjoy your dinner!

    I go through phases of having the same oats every day, but I agree that sometimes you have to switch it up.

    And I absolutely *love* that coconut milk kefir. Delish!

  2. healthyexposures said, on July 5, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    ohh, i totally forgot all about polenta pizzas!! i must make one soon :) it was another of my mom’s favorites, too. yours looks absolutely gorgeous!
    and you look like you were SO close at that ball game! i would have been ducking from the balls, too. i like my front teeth in my mouth, thank you :P
    and hey, wanna share the blueberry love with a fellow blueberry lover?! Our season hasn’t quiiiiite started yet. To pick, anyway.
    Hope you have a wonderful night at dinner!

  3. Amanda @ . seek . said, on July 5, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Yay for finally finding those blueberries! I found the strawberries I was craving, as well, so all is good in the world :) And I’m glad that you enjoyed the steel cut oats! Steelies are my favorite variety of oats, and I always get a little excited when people say they like them :)

    I hope you’re having a good time at your belated 4th of July BBQ :) I’ve missed out on fireworks in the past, and while I don’t think they’re THAT big of a deal, I still enjoy watching them every few years.

  4. lisasfoods said, on July 5, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    So glad you found the blueberries. They’re one of my favorites too.

    I liked going to see our town fireworks with friends in high school and college. The last time I saw July 4 ones was in Boston a few years ago.

  5. Ameena said, on July 5, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I made polenta pizza once and it was really good…I wouldn’t say it is a substitute for the real thing but still pretty good for being gluten-free. I have the quick cooking kind though, so that may be the reason!

    I love mushrooms btw, but my hubby hates their “weird texture” too. It may be a guy thing.

    Have a great belated 4th tonight!

  6. Natalie said, on July 5, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    i LOVE POLENTA! polenta pizza looks so delicious… definitely want to try that!

  7. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) said, on July 6, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Love the patriotism :) I LOVE fireworks, and I have not seen good ones for a couple years, being out of the country and all. The best I have ever seen were actually in Paris behind the Eiffel Tower on Bastille day… it was like 20 minutes of ridiculousness all set to popular movie scores. Haha. I think the Star War section was my favorite :)

  8. Anna said, on July 6, 2010 at 8:24 am

    That polenta pizza looks awesome!! And I love the bowl that your berries are in! So pretty :-)

  9. Kelly said, on July 6, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Polenta pizza is awesome!

  10. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on July 6, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    WE HAD THE EXACT SAME BREAKFAST!!!!!!! omg thats so scary haha <3

    u made that pizza? thats BRILLIANT! i want to try making polenta pizza but im afraid that if i cant master brownrice flour with yeast.. how will i try polenta. i want mind to look like that!

    hope ur enjoying the sunshine love! <3

  11. Katharina said, on July 6, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    I actually missed this years fireworks due to the weather but no biggie. Your 4th of July sounds like it was so nice :D

    SOCCERR!!!! OH my gosh that game with Holland and Uruguay today was amazing. I loved watching Uruguay give it their all in the last few minutes and playing till the very last second! I am so excited about tomorrow’s game. I really am going to be sad when the World Cup is over :\

    Mmm I have been popping fresh blueberries into my mouth so much lately. They’re so delicious. I’ve made a polenta crust pizza before as well. It was a personal polenta pizza actually hheehe. You should try make polenta fries (if you eat cheese you should add some freshly grated cheese in the mixture), polenta crackers.. and here are some recipe links:

    http://recipes.caribseek.com/Haiti/polenta-beans-and-coconut.shtml

    http://ohonemorething.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/adventure-is-worthwhile/

    (when I tried to make a lasagna using polenta)

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  12. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on July 6, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Even though you had a late celebration, it sounds like you had a great 4th weekend!!

    I’m not a huge sports fan either, but I do love going to baseball games in the summer. The atmosphere can’t be beat.

    I love seeing fireworks. My parents live on a lake, and the town has a really wonderful show every 4th. But I did miss them this year. The boyfriend and I went to a concert instead. It was a good trade-off though. :)

    And I do like polenta, but I’ve never actually prepared it. Your pizza looks amazing though!

  13. actorsdiet said, on July 6, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    gorgeous pizza! i adore polenta – sometimes i’ve had it for breakfast, sweet, like oatmeal.

  14. Jenna @ Healthy. Happy. Well. said, on July 7, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Such gorgeous pictures of the fruit. And the pizza looks absolutely divine. I can’t wait to keep following up on future posts!

  15. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on July 7, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Glad you had a good weekend! Those blueberry and raspberry shots are absolutely gorgeous. I love fireworks for awhile, but I often get bored watching them for a long time. They are pretty, though! Hope your week is off to a wonderful start :)

  16. Simply Life said, on July 7, 2010 at 8:15 am

    oooh, all those fresh berries look so good!

  17. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen said, on July 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Oh dear…I think I’m going to have to make that polenta pizza immediately.

  18. brandi said, on July 7, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    What a fun weekend ;) And those berries are perfect!

    i tried my first ever polenta pizza a few months ago and loved it!

  19. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on July 7, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the coupons! I SO wish I could find the kefir around my way…did you know they are coming out with a chocolate kefir?!?!

    Pretty berry pics!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

