A Fresh Dille

still platin’

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 13, 2010

The oats situation isn’t letting up…

Before heading out for work errands today, I knew that the only breakfast that would satisfy me would be the Scottish oats I finally picked up. Again, they were plated to ensure no overheating while eating them. We went to one of the larger Whole Foods in Michigan on Saturday after working until the early evening and found all sorts of goodies.

After the realization that I also love steel-cut oats, I now have two favorites. Scottish Oats are quicker on the stovetop than steel-cut oats and create a wonderful fluffy texture when cooked with lots of water, almond milk, chia (or flax) seeds, and half a banana. Of course I always add cinnamon and vanilla as well, but I also usually add a tiny amount of stevia for a touch of sweetness. Since I was out of my NuNaturals stevia and couldn’t find any at the store, I picked up a new sweetener that V picked out.

Today, I tried one half teaspoon in my oats but didn’t feel it sweetened them as much as my usual packet of stevia. This Vivagave powder clumped when heated, similar to stevia, but had even smaller granules. I may have to try adding this after cooking so that it spreads more evenly.¬†Another way I sometimes sweeten my oats is with banana mashed with splash of maple syrup.

Often writing that I am sad to finish off pints or more of berries, it is quite silly considering that I make sure to pick up more as soon as I know that I am almost without. The raspberry container was the one that went today, but I still have many blueberries and peaches to fill up my oats for the next few days. The butter topping of choice was coconut butter that I made sure to swirl around my oats soon after photographing. I won’t pretend that anything else compares to oats in the morning. They really do the best job at staving off any morning hunger and please my taste buds at the same time.

Another place we had to go this weekend for work and apartment (mirrors for fitting rooms) essentials was Ikea. It seems that we have yet to make a trip to Ikea without picking up more jars. V is just as into them as I am and bought large ones for all our rice and dried beans. My favorites are the little ones that I’ve filled with nuts, seeds, and the granola I made yesterday.

Nothing compares to my Salvation Army Ball Jars though. The classic jars sit lined up on my shelves with all my lentils and grains. We didn’t seem to have any dried fruit for granola except for dates which resulted in some googling for a recipe. One of my all time favorite sites, Epicurious, was the place I found a recipe for Chunky Date, Coconut, and Almond (Pepita) Granola. Although not as good as my favorite recipe, it sure is a tasty crunchy granola.

Thank you for all the Vegan Pizza topping suggestions. I am saving them for a pizza planned in the next few days using these…

garlic scapes. Angela’s garlic scape pesto will most likely be involved.

Other things:

-Although I am disappointed the Netherlands lost the final World Cup game, I found the game pretty unexciting. I had much higher hopes for the game and felt it was kind of a let down. There have been much more thrilling matches in the past (2006 France vs. Italy, etc.) and Sunday’s was just a dirty game with no real power play moments. Did you watch? Were you excited or disappointed?

-Have you ever had Garlic scapes? Any other recipe suggestions using them?

Tagged with: , , , ,

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angela (ohsheglows) said, on July 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Your pictures are insanely gorgeous!

  2. Mandiee said, on July 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Did you go to the Rochester Hills Whole Foods? I was literally in awe the first time I saw it. Oh. My. Goodness. Big step up from the Troy one! I feel the same way about finishing berries. I always try to restock when I’m getting down; I have the biggest problem finishing something when I don’t know if I’ll have more (silly, I know.) The salvation army for jars is such a genius idea! I usually buy my jars at Meijer or simply use old pasta sauce jars (oh, the benefits of living with an Italian). My cupboards are filled with jars because most of the items I cook with are bought in bulk.

    This weekend I went to the Royal Oak farmer’s market at it was a let down (though I’m sure not as much as the bham one would have been. Apparently that one is more like a fair for advertising local businesses than a market.) Luckily, I did find a few organic farmers who were more than happy to help. You should definitely come to the Eastern Market, though—I ADORE it.

    Where did you find the garlic scapes? I haven’t been able to find them for a few weeks when I made my own version of garlic scape pesto. I would definitely recommend roasting the garlic scapes (dry roasting works) for a few minutes to bring out a truly robust and sweet flavor. I used almonds instead of sesame seeds, as well, and toasted them. It definitely made a difference!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  3. Run Sarah said, on July 13, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I have yet to try garlic scapes or Scottish oats – I would love to try both of them *not together, of course!)

  4. Simply Life said, on July 13, 2010 at 7:55 am

    oh that granola looks so good!

  5. healthyexposures said, on July 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

    That looks like some goooood granola!! I’m glad you were able to take some time out to make it and go shopping, too. I’m the same way about berries, too. is there anything better?!
    I’ve never had garlic scapes – but would be interested to try them! Look forward to seeing what you create :)

  6. Anna said, on July 13, 2010 at 8:42 am

    I’ve never had garlic scapes, but I’m so intrigued after seeing Angela’s posts about them!

  7. brandi said, on July 13, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I’ve never tried garlic scapes, but I’d love to!

  8. Kelly said, on July 13, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Your oats look off the hook!

  9. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) said, on July 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Great idea to plate the steel cut oats! I need to do that. Those jars are perfect for granola aren’t they? We just polished off a thing of homemade granola and now I have been informed that it needs to be refilled. I have never tried garlic scapes. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  10. Kaley said, on July 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    I must admit, I’m biased as I’ve lived and will live in Spain, and have a Spanish boyfriend, but I thought the reason the game was so bad was the Dutch’s dirty play. The Spanish are no angels, but I think they won the award for cleanest play or something…ah well!

    Your photos are stunning!

  11. lisasfoods said, on July 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Your granola looks wonderful. If you haven’t posted it before, would you share the recipe? I’m always looking for good ones.

    I use garlic scapes the same way I use garlic – in pasta sauces, sauteed with vegetables. I don’t do anything special with them, but I do find I need to use more scapes than I would use cloves.

  12. Amanda @ . seek . said, on July 13, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I agree that nothing beats oats in the morning, and while steelies are my favorite, I also remember really liking Scottish oats, although they slightly remind me of oat bran. You just reminded me that I have a baggie of them sitting in my pantry, so I should probably get around to make them again soon :)

    I didn’t watch the World Cup, but I had to put up with my dad screaming/cheering/booing all afternoon, so I never would have been able to tell that it was a bad game. And as for garlic scapes, I’ve never had them, and I’m not sure I’ve even seen them? But I would LOVE to see a jar of that granola sitting in my cupboards :)

  13. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on July 13, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    im in LOVE with that granola!!! you made that!!!???? kk im coming over lol! seriously wow!

    mmm how u tempt me with that oatmeal close up…
    i wanna try those scottish oats now! ive already added steel cut oats to my shopping list- both sound amazing!

    xoxo <3

  14. Megan said, on July 13, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Your oats. look. amazing. !!!
    And those little jars are too cute :)

  15. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on July 14, 2010 at 7:14 am

    I have to say…for a long time I was just against having oats for breakfast. I loved my cereal, and I hated the taste of anything else in the morning. It really wasn’t until relatively recently that I made the “switch” to oats, and now I’m hooked! They definitely fill you up like nothing else, and make for one of my absolute favorite breakfasts when I have fresh berries to add to them. Funny how preferences can change so quickly…

    I love the little jar of granola! It’s so cute — and that granola looks delicious!!

    And I’ve never had garlic scapes. I saw Angela’s pesto and it looked amazing. So I’m interested to see what you do with them!

  16. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) said, on July 16, 2010 at 6:00 am

    Never had them either, but I really want to try. Dude, your pictures are beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

