A Fresh Dille

autumnal mornings.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on September 26, 2010

Although I have been raving about all the fall produce making its way into farmer’s markets & grocery stores, I must admit the sadness that also comes when I can no longer find some of my favorite summer goods at the market. Of course it is partly my fault that I am holding onto my dear peaches, berries, and sungold tomatoes for fear of finishing them. You see, I didn’t manage to arrive at the farmer’s market on saturday until 15 minutes prior to closing. Fortunately, some stalls weren’t completely closed up and I still made it out with kale, cucumbers, zucchini, and raspberries. After circling a few times, I realized I missed the peaches and apples I was most eager to come home with.

The peaches from the week before are on their last leg, but I’ve been decreasing the quantity in each serving of steel or scottish oats each morning to keep savoring the summer flavor.

One day I made delicious coconut milk steel-cut oats with chia seeds, cinnamon and vanilla topped with peaches and naturally nutty cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter. It has been a few months since I last ate the sweet, frosting-like nut butter, and I was reminded how wonderful it was.

Today, I woke up with ideas of raspberry and peach flecked scottish oats. These were cooked in the usual way, with unsweetened almond milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. The raw almond butter, one of my favorites, made it extra tasty.

Although our blueberries are now gone, I can’t forget my summer combo of choice, peach and blueberry topped oats. The only meal I often had time to prepare for work was this combination. Again, raw almond butter made an appearance on the cinnamon-vanilla-chia-almond milk steel-cut oats.

Although I had oats for breakfast hours before, I wanted to make V some pumpkin pancakes to celebrate the end of the movie he has been working on every week night since July.

When finding the trader joe’s pumpkin yesterday, I knew it was going to be a pancake day today. Isn’t that what sunday’s are for (and it just happens to be national pancake day) ?

Vegan Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

1 cup spelt flour

1 t baking powder

2 T sucanat (or other sweetener)

1 t chia seeds (or flax)

1/2 t pumpkin pie spice

1 cup nut milk (I used a mix of almond and light coconut milk)

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1 banana, sliced (optional)

-Heat a large pan over medium heat.

-Mix flour, baking powder, sweetener, chia seeds, and spices.

-Add milk to well mixed dry ingredients.

-Stir in pumpkin and add optional nuts and banana slices.

-Coat pan with cooking spray and pour 1/4 cup sized pancakes onto the warm surface. Cook 2-3 minutes each side.

-Serve warm topped with earth balance and maple syrup.

V ate the majority but I was able to steal one away for myself that I topped with some earth balance and real maple syrup.┬áThese were some of the best pancakes I’ve ever tasted. Although cooked through, they were still soft in the middle from the pumpkin and the crunchy walnut flavor melded wonderfully.

I hope you enjoyed some of my recent breakfasts. The next post will be dedicated to the more savory dishes I’ve been eating.

Now, it is time to head out for an early dinner at my favorite nearby pub with local produce. Hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend.

Other things:

I can’t wait to make this delicious sounding pizza hummus. Do you have a preferred spin on classic hummus flavors?

There is still close to 6 months until my next birthday, but I think I just found my next birthday cake recipe. Peanut butter and chocolate, yes please. What is your cake of choice? Instead of typical fluffy cake, I always opt for a more mousse like dessert with chocolate.

What is your favorite way to eat pumpkin? I think pancakes might just be mine. Yes, the muffins were truly great, but pancakes really do it for me.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on September 26, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I REALLY WANNA MAKE MUFFINS OUT OF THAT PANCAKE RECIPE!!!! that would be so good!! geez even ur oats are making me thankful its Autumn!! <3

    haha i love how u said "the muffins were great, but the pancakes really do it for me" that was cute :P

    have a great family dinner!!! cant wait to see this crazy pizza hummus ur planning to make!

    xoxo

  2. Amy said, on September 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    breakfast is clearly the best and most photogenic of meals, no? love your pumpkin pancakes–perfect for an early fall Sunday morning.

  3. Amy said, on September 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    PS, glad to see you back to blogging a bit more!

  4. healthyexposures said, on September 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    The pancakes look lovely! As do your oats :) I’m trying to hang on to summer produce while still welcoming fall, too. I love the squash, apples, pumpkin, cinnamon, and sweet potatoes – but don’t want to say goodbye to blueberries, peaches, and plums! Sure, I can still find them…but it’s just not the same!
    I hope you’re getting some time to relax lately :)

  5. Katharina said, on September 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Ooo those look so delicious!! Ohh there are so many yummy ways to eat pumpkin. I have no idea though.. I’m going to say my favorite way is a double layer pumpkin pie-cheesecake.

    XOXO

    p.s. welcome back!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. actorsdiet said, on September 27, 2010 at 2:25 am

    pancakes and pumpkin sound great but i think muffins/bread are my fave way to eat them.

  7. Danielle said, on September 27, 2010 at 2:29 am

    I am not exactly answering your question :) instead I will comment in response to your post… pancakes are the answer to everything.

  8. Celine said, on September 27, 2010 at 10:45 am

    it’s good to see you back here, Claire!
    as for telling you which way I like pumpkin best, it’s a toughie. I’ve never met a pumpkin-based dish I didn’t want to marry.

  9. Mandiee said, on September 27, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I didn’t get to the farmer’s market this past weekend, and it saddens me so much! At least you still made out with a few good finds :). While I will greatly miss the bounty that is summer, I am ALL about the winter squash (speaking of which, your pancakes look wonderful&congrats to V on finishing the movie). I also have a new obsession with scottish oats thanks to you. Maybe could you post your recipe/method one day? Yours always look so inviting!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  10. Mandiee said, on September 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Oh, and P.S. my favorite way to eat pumpkin is by slow roasting kabocha, mashing with almond milk and a little cinnamon, and devouring :). Love.

  11. brandi said, on September 28, 2010 at 9:10 am

    those pancakes look perfect!

    I love stirring pumpkin into oatmeal and using it in baked goods.

  12. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on September 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    those pancakes look so good! and healthy to boot!

    Have I told you how happy I am that you are back to blogging? SOOOOOOOO HAPPY!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

