A Fresh Dille

more cookie attention.

Posted in FITNESS, FOOD, VEGAN, WORKOUTS by clairedille on October 12, 2010

Before I began blogging, I was already having a love affair with Celine‘s blog, have cake, will travel. She has some of the most creative vegan recipes out there and I often find myself resorting to her recipe page when searching for something sweet (and sometimes savory). I mean, who wouldn’t want a Peanut Butter Mousse Pie with Candied Nuts and Chocolate Ganache for their birthday, I know I would.

This is why I knew who to go to when I wanted a cookie “outside the box” when our small cookie stash diminished. Interestingly enough, I chose one of her most simple recipes, the chocolate chip oatmeal cookies (with peanut butter). Any time a cookie recipe is described as “chewy,” it is pretty obvious I will be a fan. I probably should have made these post dinner. They were delectable.

Then we waited until 9 pm to sit down and eat this delicious-ness.

Ashley’s Mexican Stuffed Spaghetti Squash was everything I was craving last night. The cumin, cayenne, chili, coriander, and oregano spiced black beans and veggie stuffing had incredible flavor that went wonderfully with the spaghetti squash. I followed her recipe exactly (with the addition of sliced zucchini) and topped it with avocado, salsa, and some of our garden chives.

I apologize for the not so lovely evening photos. It really was such an enjoyable meal with many leftovers for today’s lunch that I can’t wait to dig into.

This morning, I went back for more Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats. This time I topped them with walnuts and pear that I cooked on the stove top with cinnamon, almond milk, and maple syrup. It was a splendid post run meal.

Some other things:

-Make Emily’s Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili in Pumpkin Bowls ASAP. We loved them Sunday night. They will not disappoint.

-If you are a runner who has taken time off due to an injury or life getting in the way, how did you get back into it? Did you do a run/walk plan and/or cross train a few days to build endurance while keeping off your joints? I am still trying to get back to my former running shape, but have had some strange knee pain that is hindering my early training runs. After much too much time off, I am hoping to keep it light with 5k’s and 10k’s until the spring where I hope to add in a half marathon. I may be adding in a few running-related posts here and there. It is always great to re-fall in love with running again and some hiccups along the way aren’t helping right now. Any encouraging words would help right now.

 

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on October 12, 2010 at 11:46 am

    That Mexican stuffed squash is a great idea– I’m marking this page!!

  2. Lauren said, on October 12, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Oh my! Everything you make always looks soooo amazing! I am loving that squash dish!!

  3. Evan Thomas said, on October 12, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I love the stuffed spaghetti squash. That looks amazing!
    And the cookies–so nutty :-)

  4. Ashley said, on October 12, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Your evening photos look great!! Avocado would be the perfect topping..I’ll have to do that next time. Glad you liked it!! :) Thanks for the shout out!

  5. Laura (Blogging Over Thyme) said, on October 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Everything looks delicious, I too agree, that any cookie described as “chewy” is my favorite. If you want a chewy cookie, it helps if you use only brown sugar, rather than part granulated and brown. Something about the molasses, I believe ;)

    I know what you mean about getting out of running and trying to get back into it, I’ve never been a serious runner or done races, but I’ve taken a running hiatus for a while and am now trying to get back into it. I think you just need to be patient and go slowly, or intervals of walking and running always help me.

  6. healthyexposures said, on October 12, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Those cookies look perfect!! As does the spaghetti squash. I love stufing squashes – but wasn’t sure if it would work as well with a spaghetti squash. Now I know ;) That recipe reminds me of the Veganomicon recipe for mexican spaghetti squash, which I loooved. Will have to try it :)

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie) said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    i’m so glad i found your blog because that spaghetti squash looks intense!

    sorry to hear about your knee troubles, i know what it’s like to be on the sidelines with an injury and IT SUCKS. i don’t know if this helps, but one thing i read is that it’s easier on your joints/muscles to take shorter, quicker strides, rather than longer ones. (apparently the “most efficient” is 180 strides/minute, no matter your height. maybe try counting once?) good luck to you! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

