A Fresh Dille

uplifting muffins.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 12, 2010

Yes, I ended my last post with a photo of oats and now I am beginning this one with another.

The thing is, I just am not feeling so splendid today and needed comfort food. I made some chia-scottish oats for dinner and topped them off with a maple, Coco-Cashew Hazelnut Butter, and almond milk sauce and organic strawberries that were begging to be photographed. Oddly enough, I was also craving some of these:

It took longer than anticipated to cut these farmer’s market brussels off of the stalk, but afterwards, I was left with three full containers of the beautiful veg. With an easy veggie burger, spinach, and tomato on ezekiel english muffin lunch, I ate these shallot, olive oil, rosemary, and thyme roasted brussels sprouts. They’ve turned V into a brussels sprouts convert. As a former “hater,” I was smiling when he went back for seconds. There is always a way to change someone’s opinion when they claims to dislike a certain veggie. Coating them in olive oil, herbs, and salt and pepper is a good start.

Before feeling under the weather, I made pumpkin muffins with an already opened can found in the refrigerator door.

The recipe I used was Fat Free Vegan Kitchen’s Pumpkin Spice Bread, except it wasn’t quite fat-free with equal amounts of applesauce and grapeseed oil. When looking for a recipe, I usually just go to my bookmarks and search an ingredient. That tells you how many bookmarks I have…much too many. Changes that were made from SusanV’s original recipe: whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour, reducing the cane sugar by 1/2 cup from 1 cup (also had to decrease the water by 1/4 cup), switching the brown sugar for palm sugar, and using flax instead of egg replacer.

I used 1 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger) instead of the listed separate spices in the recipe.

When asking V whether he would prefer chocolate chips, dried fruit, or walnuts (or a combo), he said, “You know, I will always go for the nuts over chocolate.” My inner chocoholic was appalled, and maybe a little hurt. Then I realized I have been feeding him a lot of chocolate chip filled baked goods (numerous batches of cookies and banana bread) and shouldn’t be so selfish. Then I discovered something. These muffins didn’t need chocolate chips.

They were my ideal pumpkin muffin. Since I did change the recipe in more than a few ways, I want to share it with you.

The Ideal Pumpkin Muffin

dry ingredients:

1 2/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (or mix of nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, ginger)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 – 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

wet ingredients:

1/2 cup organic vegan cane sugar
1/2 cup palm sugar (or sucanat)
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/4 cup grapeseed oil (or other mild oil)
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon ground flax mixed with 4 tablespoons water

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. Coat a muffin tin with cooking spray.

Combine the wet ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl and blend well. In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add the liquid mixture to the dry, and stir well. Stir in the nuts or other mix-in’s, if desired. Pour the batter into coated muffin tin and place on the center rack of oven. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean,  about 15-18 minutes. Allow to cool 3-5 minutes. Makes 12 servings.


I added some pepitas to half the batch mid-bake for some charm.

Goodnight. I need to feel better tomorrow so that I can dine with a special lady driving cross country.

Other things:

-Do you seem to always add in the same mix-ins to muffins, cookies, etc? Are you a chocolate chip lover like me? I’m happy that I made these simple to really appreciate the pumpkin flavor with a touch of walnut. I guess I just can’t myself sometimes (a lot) with the chocolate love.

-Are you attending the foodbuzz festival? I registered last night and have yet to meet any other of the bloggers attending. Naturally I am somewhat nervous, but I know there are many foodie bloggers I can’t wait to meet!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. edenseats said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    good lord this whole foodbuzz thing is spinning me into a tizzy! there is so much to do and see and meet! I’m SO overwhelmed. And everyone seems to be so concerned with working out.

    anyhow, I WILL track you down, you need to give me photography lessons, your photos always look flawless and drool worthy.

  2. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    mmmm, I wish I’d had this recipe like 2 hours ago.

    I don’t know anyone in “real” life either so we will stick together at the Festival. I’m totally nervous! But I AM SO FREAKING EXCITED YOU ARE COMING!!!! :)

  3. VeggieGirl said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Yum, yum muffins!!

    Have fun at the Foodbuzz event!

  4. actorsdiet said, on October 13, 2010 at 12:03 am

    i want an ideal pumpkin muffin! yes, i’ll be at the festival. let’s make sure we connect!

  5. healthyexposures said, on October 13, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I love any kind of nut or dried fruit (well, namely raisins or cranberries) in cookies or muffins :)
    These look amazing, and I’m with V – walnuts all the way! :P Seeing that container of grapeseed oil just made me remember that I saw that brand’s pumpkin oil in my co-op last week. I was so close to getting it to try, but finally passed. Still on my mind, though!
    I hope you start to q=feel better quick!

  6. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete said, on October 13, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Not attending foodbuzz, but I will live through everyone else who is going! Honestly, those muffins look to die for! I add chocolate to everything, and pumpkin is just one of those things that goes perfectly with it!

  7. Anna said, on October 13, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Nuts over chocolate?!? Never! :-)

    Hope you feel better soon!

  8. Lauren said, on October 13, 2010 at 11:18 am

    I loooove brussell sprouts, ever since I was a wee little one! :) Those muffins look so good! I have to check out that recipe!

  9. Mandiee said, on October 13, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling too well, huni. A few amazing muffins (which sound so delicious, by the way!), a comforting bowl of oats, and a nice hot cup of tea will probably do the trick :). Where did you get your brussels sprouts? I’m crazy about the little buggers and have been hoping to find a good place around us. I will definitely have to herb-ify them now thanks to you.

    Have a lovely day and feel better :)!
    xox

  10. mangocheeks said, on October 14, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    I don’t mind the oatmeal, its getting rather cold in scotland, so I shall soon be tucking in.

    Your muffin is just so perfect. I can almost smell it and taste it. MMmmmm

  11. Vicky said, on October 14, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I just made pumpkin bread, which was really really good, but, dare I see it, this recipe seems almost more inciting!! I may use some of those ingredients and some of yours for my next try and see how it turns out! And I hope you are feeling better! – Vicky @vdubb.wordpress.com

  12. Lauren said, on October 20, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I hope you don’t mind the string of comments you’re getting from me right now, haha. I’m playing catch-up :)

    These muffins look amazing!! I have a recipe for vegan pumpkin bread that I really love, but I’ve been thinking about making muffins and this looks like the perfect one to try! I’m the same way as you though — my first impulse is to add chocolate to any recipe, and I’m constantly adding in mix-ins to make things “better.” I’m going to make these and take your advice though — I’m just going to appreciate the pumpkin flavor for what it is. :)

    Have fun at the Foodbuzz festival! I’m definitely a bit jealous!

  13. me, a-z. « A Fresh Dille said, on March 4, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    [...] food you make: Oats, Pancakes, Sesame Soba Noodles, Kale Chips, Muffins, and [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

