A Fresh Dille

lots o’ love

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on February 14, 2011

Alright, I know that I’ve been away much longer than I previously mentioned, but I must say that I am still all about the blog world. Yes, I am starting this post with an apology. I am sorry. An apology goes out to all my readers who have wondered where I’ve mysteriously disappeared to.  I promise it really isn’t too exciting. It’s always good to be busy, but as most of you know, blogging creates such a wonderful feeling. Sharing and reading others ideas about food, travel, yoga, etc. is something I can’t forget to let myself do.

So on this Valentines day, I decided that I should really go somewhere I love most, and that is the world of blogging.

Since moving to Los Angeles, finding an apartment (which I love, but have yet  to decorate), and starting a few different work projects, I haven’t had much time for pretty much, well, anything. When my last film finished, just a week ago, it was the first time I could breathe, and it happened to be the same time my sister would be coming to see if LA was a good fit for her, as well.

The list of veggie-friendly places I wish to visit in LA is ever-expanding, and my little sister is the perfect person to bring along. We are all about sharing, and so far, we’ve had some great eats at Seed in Venice, Le Pain Quotidien in West Hollywood, and M Cafe in West Hollywood. There was also the babycakes visit Friday night when V was wrapping up a day of filming Downtown. That cafe is too cute and just too good. We shared a chocolate chip cookie and a banana chocolate loaf slice (maybe this recipe with added chocolate chunks & topped with raw sugar, yum). We ate them on the car ride home, true story. Falling asleep by 10 p.m. is pretty standard these days.


Although I am not so into Valentines Day, I am into Valentines Day specials. When I heard M Cafe , my favorite nearby macrobiotic joint, was going to be having specials for the holiday, I brought my sister along for some chocolate-y goodness. We went for the Petit Fours, which were essentially tiny cakes covered in a rich ganache. They were tasty, but I was expecting something a little more truffle-like. My sister saw the gingerbread cookie on the counter, and we decided to go for it although it is an item on the regular menu. It really was a great choice and not one I would typically go for. It was chewy, sweet, and perfectly spiced. Later we will  break into my favorite item from the deli case, the kale salad with spicy peanut dressing. That stuff is addicting. Sometimes I grab a little container mid-work-day shop for a pick me up.

Lastly, just for kicks, here are our recent Le Pain Quotidien lunches.

The Tartines (open-faced sandwiches) are always delightful. I adored my Black Bean Hummus one with avocado, and spicy tahini spread. Lily also raved about hers, which was Ricotta with mission figs, black pepper, and acacia honey.

I hope everyone is having a truly great day. I hope to be stopping in more around here. I have a particular place in mind, I can’t wait to share with you.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on February 14, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    No apologies necessary! Just post when you can :)

  2. actorsdiet said, on February 14, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    glad you are having fun w/ your sister and all the vegan eats l.a. has to offer

  3. Danielle said, on February 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    I missed you. Actually, that’s not true. I still really miss you, but, I am happy to see a new post from you, so I guess I’ll forgive you, just this once. Hope your Valentine’s Day was happy :) glad your taste buds got to enjoy it!

  4. alovelyglass said, on February 15, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Welcome back!! Missed your posts :)
    M Cafe is such a fave of mine. I always have to go whenever I’m visiting family in LA!
    Hope you can find some time to relax…enjoy yourself, and post when you can!

  5. Lauren @ WWoB said, on February 15, 2011 at 9:33 am

    We have that exact same ricotta tartine at a restaurant in austin! Its awesome!
    Also – no need to apologize. We are just glad to have you post whenever you do. I am glad you are living it up in LA!

  6. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on February 16, 2011 at 3:58 am

    I’m so happy to see you’re back! Gorgeous pictures as usual! I’m jealous of all your wonderful eating!

  7. Emma said, on February 16, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    i knew you would be back… and yes, i missed you!

  8. soccer shoes adidas said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Here comes the bobby, here comes the p’lice, pick up your duds and be off, through the sewer with you!”Sometimes this gnat–that is what best usa soccer shoes he calls himself–knows how to read; sometimes he knows how to write; he always knows how to daub. He does not hesitate to acquire, by no one knows what mysterious mutual instruction, all the talents wholesale soccer shoes cheap which can be of use to the public; from 1815 to 1830, he imitated the cry of the turkey; from 1830 to 1848, he scrawled pears on the walls. One summer evening, when Louis Philippe was returning soccer cleats sale home on foot, he saw a little fellow, no higher than his knee. http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

