A Fresh Dille

I’ll be your sweetheart.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on February 22, 2011

This is the reason I venture to Veggie Grill.

The Sweetheart fries are fabulous on their own, but the Chipotle Ranch is what really makes these so tasty. The dip is begging to be recreated at home. The fries are always well seasoned and perfectly hot and crisp.

Obviously there are other great things on the menu, but since I am not the biggest faux-meat eater, my past favorite order was a gigantic Quinoa-infused, “All Hail Kale” salad.  The kale is marinated with red cabbage, roasted corn salsa, agave-roasted walnuts with a ginger-papaya vinaigrette and blackened tempeh. It is so tasty.

This weekend, I opted for a new-to-me choice, the “Chipotle BBQ” wrap-style (usually sandwiches come on a wheat bun) consisting of shredded veggie-steak, marinated in tangy BBQ sauce, with chipotle ranch, caramelized onion, lettuce, & tomato. I guess I couldn’t get enough of the Chipotle Ranch.

As you can see, it was a tad messy, but delicious none the less. The more I eat seitan, the more I enjoy the texture. Although tempeh is still top on my list for veggie protein, it is great to try new things I wouldn’t make at home and this was a prime example. On the side I had some steamed kale with ginger miso dressing. That is another dip/sauce/dressing I need to make ASAP.

Originally, I was going to order the “Bali Bliss,” filled with Indonesian styled tempeh, sautéed and grilled, lettuce, tomato, red onion, and chipotle ranch, but V beat me to it. He requested his tempeh blackened and added avocado. That’s my kinda man.

Oh, and these should also be mentioned.

V had ordered one of his favorite things, Nachos, without me even hearing. Already pretty stuffed with sweet potato fries and half my wrap, I tried a few “Uptown Nachos” to see how the chili, VG-cheese, corn salsa, avocado, soy cream, and jalapeno topped chips tasted. The chili, avocado, and corn salsa were wonderful, but the “cheese” was a little too much for me. It kind of reminded me of velveeta or the type of “fake tasting” cheese they serve on nachos at sports events. V made his way through them though.

My sister was also in attendance, but I somehow missed a shot of her “Bean Me Up Chili.” It was a red and white bean stew with a touch of soy cream, and chopped green & red onion. The soup had crispy slices of toast on the side for dipping, and she said it was wonderful. That girl knows her chili too.

Never one to go without dessert, I ordered a large vegan chocolate chip cookie with walnuts for us three to split.

These were another winner and the perfect amount of sweetness after a filling meal.

Veggie Grill is the kind of place I really appreciate in LA. Not only is the menu entirely vegan, healthy, and filled with comfort-like food, but it is an ideal place for non-veggies as well. My sister and V seemed to enjoy their meals as much as I. We will definitely be back.

- Do you have good veggie places in your area? Are you hesitant to take friends and family with you in fear of it being “too healthy” or boring?

- What is your favorite type of Veggie protein?

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jess@HealthyExposures said, on February 23, 2011 at 3:08 am

    I am droooling!! Veggie Grill looks amazing! I think I’d die of happiness if I had one here. All the more reason to visit California I suppose. So I can go broke eating out ever other day :P
    I’ve had this weird nacho craving lately. I don’t have any idea where it’s coming from, I only know I intended to get some corn chips at the store yesterday, but was really disappointed to find the only bag I could buy was large enough to feed an army. I wish I was kidding!
    We have NOT a ONE veggie place in the area :( So sad.And lately, my fav veggie protein is tofu!

  2. Lauren said, on February 23, 2011 at 6:58 am

    Oh yum, everything looks so good! Those fries..wow! I am jealous! We usually venuture into nyc for vegan eats, but we have a place or 2 nearby we visit as well.

  3. Lizzy said, on February 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Those photos are lovely you are very gifted at photography. This post is making me want to be a vegetarian again…

  4. eatspinlive said, on February 24, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    All of these eats look delicious :) You are such a great photographer!

  5. Trudy ~ veggie num num said, on February 24, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Oh my! Now I am like, crazy hungry! This place looks and sounds amazing!! Wish we had something like this near us!! At the moment we have to settle with making our fav veggie foods at home, I may have to incorporate some of these creations on our menu too : )

  6. [...] is always a nacho lover, and although he didn’t fall in love with the Veggie Grill’s version, he was ready to give another vegan variety a [...]

  7. cheap soccer cleats said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    To breathe Paris preserves the soul.What we have just said takes away nothing of the anguish of heart which one experiences every time yellow adidas soccer cleats that one meets one of these children around whom one fancies that he beholds floating the threads of a broken family. In the civilization of the present day, incomplete as it still is, it is youth f50 soccer cleats not a very abnormal thing to behold these fractured families pouring themselves out into the darkness, not knowing clearly what has become of their children, and allowing their own entrails to fall on the public nike synthetic soccer cleats highway. Hence these obscure destinies. This is called, for this sad thing has given rise to cheap nike soccer cleats on sale an expression, “to be cast on the pavements of Paris.” http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

