A Fresh Dille

sibling bowls.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on February 26, 2011

After a crazy last few days of 4 a.m. wake up times and boring morning eats, I ventured into the kitchen this morning with two things on my mind. First, I heated filtered water for a few minutes and sliced a freshly picked lemon from the tree aside my apartment window. As I squeezed in the lemon juice and then sipped the warm glass of lemon water, I was reminded of how simple it is to feel a sense of balance in the morning. The routine of making slow cooked steel-cut oats came next, and I didn’t even have to ask my still visiting sister if she was also craving a bowl.

Since V went rather overboard on the amount of berries he purchased on Sunday, I eagerly poured a few more than usual on both our bowls. The usual mix of steel-cut oats was slow cooked with banana, chia seeds, nut milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. Lily’s was topped with a few vegan chocolate chips.

I went with a small spoonful of raw almond butter. It was grand.

The rain hasn’t really stopped in LA, and part of me is happy to have an excuse to stay in and be all sorts of lazy. I read words from the new-to-me site, The Well Daily, my lovely friend Danielle’s place of work and enjoyment. Each post left me feeling wonderful, and I was especially intrigued by the Ayurvedic Body Scrub idea. Creating homemade beauty products, with far less ingredients than store-bought, is something I’ve often wanted to try. Eventually I will get around to it. Ayurveda has always fascinated me, so I went on to take the linked quiz in order to find my Dosha. Although a few of the questions were difficult, making me feel as though I may be more than one option, I answered to the best of my ability. In the end I learned I was primarily a Vata Dosha, and therefore should eat mostly warm nourishing foods like hearty oats for breakfast. That seemed about right. Other things that balance Vata’s are nuts (nut milk and nut butter too), pureed soups, and cooked vegetables like beets, carrots, asparagus, and sweet potatoes. The expansive food list isn’t something I would necessarily follow, considering that I also have some Pitta qualities. Eating by the Vata Dosha would also mean limiting all raw vegetables and adding dairy to my diet, two things I don’t see myself doing anytime soon. Still, I do agree with many aspects that make me a Vata-Pitta Dosha, and am willing to start adding more Ayurvedic practices like yoga, meditation, routine meal times, hiking, and afternoon tea. As usual, the Ayurvedic cookbooks and recipes interest me most, and I’ve already found some tasty looking ones to try.

Ironically, my lunch was already planned for, and well, differed quite a bit from the Ayurvedic recipes I was reading most of the morning hours.

Lynn had mentioned that Chipotle was having a two for one offer and my sister and I were in the mood for two more bowls of delicious afternoon fuel. Chipotle may be considered fast food, but at least they do it with integrity. The salad bowls covered with fajita veggies, black beans, salsa, and guacamole are soul and belly-satisfying. Oh, and the chips, with a hint of lime and perfectly salted really make the meal complete. The two salad bowls and chips were just under $10, only a $5 a piece. That is what I am talking about.

Yum. I finished every last bite.

The end of the day warming meal was a shared roasted sweet potato (425 degrees for just under an hour), lentil soup, coconut roasted parsnips, and brussels sprouts.

You know dark chocolate was involved too.

- Have you ever read about Ayurveda and even found your Dosha? Did you agree with your Dosha balancing foods?

- Do you Chipotle? Of course it isn’t my food place of choice, but it doesn’t hurt to eat a veggie filled bowl with healthy fats and salty crunchy chips. It was amazingly satisfying.

Happy Weekend!

Tagged with: , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. megan @ the oatmeal diaries said, on February 26, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Only you could make Chipotle food look gorgeous! I am in love with their guacamole. And I agree that rainy days are a perfect excuse to stay inside and be cozy and lazy!

  2. VeggieGirl said, on February 26, 2011 at 3:17 am

    As crazy as this sounds, I’ve never had Chipotle before – I want to try it though.

  3. Jess@HealthyExposures said, on February 26, 2011 at 4:30 am

    I’ve never Chipotle’d :P I’m sure this doesn’t surprise you, since it seems what I’m always saying – but I can’t think of a Chipotle within 100 miles, haha.
    So jealous – you have a lemon tree?!

  4. Pure2raw Twins said, on February 26, 2011 at 4:36 am

    Yes we have read about Ayurveda and tried to figure out what Dosha we were, I believe in it to a point. I take it into thought when I am thinking of my health and eats. My BF loves Chipotle ;)

  5. Lauren said, on February 26, 2011 at 6:40 am

    I love chipotle! Ate it all the time while pregnant! Haven’t had it since ive had the baby though! :)

  6. actorsdiet said, on February 26, 2011 at 7:48 am

    ha – your takeout is infinitely more beautifully photographed.

    I DIDN’T GET CHIPS!!! what the hell!??!

  7. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on February 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Mmmmm I love Chipotle. I wish they had the brown rice here like they do elsewhere though!

    You seriously take such gorgeous pictures.

    And I can’t believe you have a lemon tree outside your window. I’m soooo jealous.

  8. Lauren @ WWoB said, on February 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    I just went and took the Dosha quiz and it says I am tri-doshic! That really doesnt narrow down the eats much does it…. I am super interested though. I have lots of reading to do now!

  9. Katie said, on February 28, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    For a while Chipotle wasn’t so easy to come by here, but now a few have popped up! I really like that the beans are vegetarian (VERY hard to find, as I’m sure you’re aware) and that they’re committed to sustainable fast food.

  10. cheap soccer cleats said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    To breathe Paris preserves the soul.What we have just said takes away nothing of the anguish of heart which one experiences every time yellow adidas soccer cleats that one meets one of these children around whom one fancies that he beholds floating the threads of a broken family. In the civilization of the present day, incomplete as it still is, it is youth f50 soccer cleats not a very abnormal thing to behold these fractured families pouring themselves out into the darkness, not knowing clearly what has become of their children, and allowing their own entrails to fall on the public nike synthetic soccer cleats highway. Hence these obscure destinies. This is called, for this sad thing has given rise to cheap nike soccer cleats on sale an expression, “to be cast on the pavements of Paris.” http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

