A Fresh Dille

me, a-z.

Posted in ANIMALS, FOOD, RUNNING, WORK by clairedille on March 4, 2011

Oh, the life of a freelancer. These last few days have been full of surprises, but it looks like I will be getting a new car and starting a new job on Monday. Since I haven’t had much time for cooking (minus the few bowls of oats, salads, and brown rice and veggies) around here, I decided to fill out the A-Z questionnaire that’s been making its way around the blog world. I hope you enjoy.

A-Z Survey

A. Age: 24…but almost 25…

B. Bed size: Queen. I hardly move when I sleep so it is perfect for two.

C. Chore you dislike: Taking out the trash. Cleaning the bathroom. I really want to hire someone to do it when I am more financially sound.

D. Dogs: The dog I had since 8th grade, Bessie, died this summer. I was heartbroken when I heard since they were away at our summer home on Martha’s Vineyard. At least I know she had a wonderful last few weeks playing on the beach. I can’t wait til I can get my own puppy, but my work schedule is much too intense.

E. Essential start to your day: When I have enough time, I try to always sip warm lemon water. Oatmeal makes my morning most complete though.

F. Favorite color: Green. I love almost all shades.

G. Gold or silver: Both, depending on the outfit I am wearing.

H. Height: 5’3. Can you believe I am the tallest in my whole extended family. I was the shortest growing up, and didn’t grow until late in high school/college.

I. Instruments you play(ed): Doesn’t everyone play the recorder for one year of elementary? I then played Clarinet (because my name is Claire…I had to!) until I moved from NY to Laguna Beach.

J. Job title: Costume /Stylist Assistant and wanna-be part-time blogger.

K. Kids: Not for some years, but yes please.

L. Live: Los Angeles since October.

M. Mom’s name: Jane

my aunt joy, aunt ann, and mom.

N. Nicknames: Dille (pronounced “Dilly”-my middle name and mother’s maiden name), Claire bear, love (from my brit father), Pear (best friend Mandy calls me this), Claireness, Clairezy…more I can’t think of.

O. Overnight hospital stays: None yet…*knocks on wood*

P. Pet peeves: People who litter! I find it so repulsive. When farmer’s don’t tell you whether their food is organic or covered in pesticides at the farmer’s market. When people don’t use turn signals, and lots of honking on the freeway. People in LA tend to have serious road rage, even during stopped traffic.

Q. Quote from a movie“This song explains why I’m leaving home to become a stewardess.” (Any guesses?)

R. Righty or lefty: Righty.

S. Siblings: Sister -Lily (two years younger), Half Brother- Sean (nine years older)

little lils on the left, me on the right.

T. Time you wake up: Hmmm…toughest question considering I work on all different projects where I may have a 5 am call time, or 2 p.m. call time, etc. I tend to wake up around 8 when I am not working though.

U. Underwear: Not the biggest fan.

V. Vegetables you don’t like: I really like all vegetables when they are prepared right. I may have claimed to not like potatoes and carrots growing up, but that is no longer true.

W. What makes you run late: Los Angeles traffic mostly

X. X-rays you’ve had: Teeth, shins (had so many running related stress fractures), foot (broken foot from running as well), bone scan to see how many years behind I was in development growing up. I was two years behind most my age.

Y. Yummy food you make: Oats, Pancakes, Sesame Soba Noodles, Kale Chips, Muffins, and more.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: I am not such a fan but would prefer to see animals in their natural habitat. I was a fan of the Ocelot, when I studied the rain forest growing up. I loved that it was the littlest cat in the “big cat family.”

Questions for you:

- Is there a food you claimed to dislike growing up but actually like now? Pretty unusual, but I claimed to never like pizza. I wouldn’t eat it at birthday parties, etc. but preferred pasta or flat breads. I realize now it was because I wasn’t a fan of the goop-y cheese, and really love cheese-less pizza done right.

- Do you have a schedule that requires all different wake up times? How do you make it work? I still need to figure this one out. My crazy schedules mean that I am constantly trying to ground myself by eating regular meals and snacks throughout the day to keep my energy. Even the days where I wake up at 4, I need to eat breakfast somewhat early and find myself hungry for my dinner-like meal super early. The 14-16 hour days are the worst, so sleep is obviously a high priority, especially on the weekends.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Danielle said, on March 4, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Aw, so fun! I love this post.

    As for your Q, hm… I used to say that I hated lasagna. Now, I just say that I hate the regular, vegetarian, and vegan kind. Raw lasagna rocks my world. I don’t have it often :) but still.

  2. Michelle | gold-hearted girl said, on March 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Congrats on the new job! That’s a big deal. :) And I’d say wannabe part-time blogger is true for most of us…haha

  3. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on March 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    oh my gosh, you’re short?? i always pictured you really tall! funny!

    I’m so glad we share a mutual hate of underwear. I wear it as little as possible. :)

    I didn’t like avocados growing up, but now I LOVE them.

  4. Jess@HealthyExposures said, on March 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Loved reading your answers!
    Too funny, though – I claimed to hate pizza when I was little, too!! I still don’t know if I genuinely disliked it, or if I was just saying I did to be difficult :P I also was not the biggest fan of vegetables – of all things!

  5. megan @ the oatmeal diaries said, on March 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Aw so sorry about Bessie! My childhood dog, a golden retriever, is getting old and it makes me sad. I tend to wake up around 8am as well and that seems to be the “perfect” time for me so even if I don’t have anything to do I’ll wake up at 8!

  6. celine said, on March 6, 2011 at 1:44 am

    probably the best blog post I’ve read all week. I adore seeing old pictures not only of my own family, but of other people’s too. thanks for the great read, Claire!

  7. celine said, on March 6, 2011 at 1:45 am

    PS: so sorry about Bessie. I hope you can adopt a dog eventually.
    and congrats on the job + car!

  8. Katie said, on March 6, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    New car AND new job?! Congrats, girlie!

    You have such a lovely family.

  9. jodi said, on March 7, 2011 at 6:24 am

    great post. Almost Famous. one of my favorite movies!!!!!

  10. Lauren said, on March 10, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    I love the picture of you and you sister. So extremely cute!!

    I’m sorry to hear about Bessie. It was devastating for me when my family dog died too – she was a huge part of the family and it felt so empty without her there. I hope one day soon you’ll be able to get a pup of your own. They add so much joy to life.

    Congrats on the new car and new job! Hope it’s going well!

  11. Monique said, on March 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Congrats on both the new job AND the car!! That’s so awesome :)

  12. cheap soccer cleats said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    To breathe Paris preserves the soul.What we have just said takes away nothing of the anguish of heart which one experiences every time yellow adidas soccer cleats that one meets one of these children around whom one fancies that he beholds floating the threads of a broken family. In the civilization of the present day, incomplete as it still is, it is youth f50 soccer cleats not a very abnormal thing to behold these fractured families pouring themselves out into the darkness, not knowing clearly what has become of their children, and allowing their own entrails to fall on the public nike synthetic soccer cleats highway. Hence these obscure destinies. This is called, for this sad thing has given rise to cheap nike soccer cleats on sale an expression, “to be cast on the pavements of Paris.” http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

