A Fresh Dille

earth hour. native day.

Posted in Uncategorized by clairedille on March 26, 2011

Before I go on to tell you about the nothing but stellar lunch we had today at Native Foods, I want to remind you that at 8:30 PM, Earth Hour starts. I urge you to turn off your lights for one hour to take a stand against climate change. I know it is getting down to the wire, but I encourage you to read more about it and take action.

Now, I must go on about some delicious eat’s at Native Foods

V and I had no set plans for our Saturday, but wanted to get out of the house after a lazy morning and routine trips to each of our banks for the lovely deposit of our weekly paychecks (exciting stuff). If that isn’t treat-worthy, I don’t know what is. We both are overworked these days, and after week-days filled with eating wraps and veggie burgers en-shopping-route, I knew I wanted a special meal at one of my favorite places. Native Foods is much more a lunch place than dinner in my opinion, simply because you order at the counter, and then the food is delivered to your seat.

Last time we dined there it was quite a bit warmer, allowing us to dine al fresco. Although I didn’t bring the camera along, I want to share with you the description of these two dishes I fell in love with:

Asian Lettuce WRAPS: Lettuce cups filled with a stir fry of our Original Seitan, mushrooms, jicama, garlic and ginger, topped with crispy rice noodles. Spicy garlic soy sauce on the side.

Saigon Wrap: Braised lemongrass tofu, lightly pickled daikon and carrot twirls, brown and jasmine rice, cucumber strips, fresh cilantro and basil, tangy peanut sauce in an organic whole wheat wrap (see Quarry Girl’s photos and reviews).

Unfortunately, the Saigon Wrap must have been a seasonal specialty because it was no longer on the menu and I was a tad disappointed. But it could have been a good thing, because I had to go with something new instead of sticking with a favorite, as I often tend to do.

V is always a nacho lover, and although he didn’t fall in love with the Veggie Grill’s version, he was ready to give another vegan variety a go.

Nuevo Native Nachos: Homemade organic corn tortilla chips covered in black beans, Native Taco Meat, Native Chipotle Crema, Native Cheese, salsa fresca, and guacamole. Topped with organic corn, green onions, and cilantro.

Ok, now these were good, really good. We both were raving about the chipotle crema, native cheese, and taco “meat.” Of course the other toppings were wonderful as well, but the stars were the nut cheese, cream, and meat. They were all perfectly spiced and we left the plate clean.

For his main dish, V continued with the southwestern trend and ordered Baja Surf Tacos, their sea-friendly “fish taco”. Two soft grilled corn tortillas stuffed with crispy battered Tempeh, homemade surfer sauce, salsa fresca, shredded cabbage and guacamole. I was too into my own meal to taste his, but he made his way through them. I do know that he preferred the nachos more, devouring that portion of his food first. He mentioned that he “wished there was more filling, and less toppings.”

I opted for the Scorpion Burger, Chef Tanya’s original burger! Homemade Tempeh blackened with chipotle sauce, lettuce, carrots, avocado and onions. Later, I read on the menu that I could have went with caramelized onions (oooh, next time!), but I still really enjoyed this. As a tempeh lover, I was all about this chipotle seasoned tempeh. And Amen to avocado which I mashed evenly across my burger and doused with ketchup. The Native Sweet Potato Fries were my side, and like V, I demolished the dish in its entirety.

I couldn’t have imagined a more delectable lunch. We both were talking about it the whole walk to the car. Of course, it leaves me with a smile on my face when my omni boyfriend is just as happy as I with a great vegan meal.

And next time I will order dessert… I still have yet to try one and they are always on display, looking fantastic. Next time I would love to order a salad or bowl to leave room for dessert.

Check out the menu here, and let me know what you think I should order. Every time I want to try something new until I’ve pretty much made my way through the entire Native Foods menu (since I can!).

Other things:

The Maker’s Project is a really inspiring site for me these days. I love seeing where and how other people work. Some favorites are The Jewels of NY, Saipua, and Reverie.

Backyard Bill, another favorite blog, photographs one of my favorite designers, Isabel Marant in her workspace. I dream of having my own studio space one day. I not yet sure entirely what it would be for, but having a studio/loft work/art space in general is an inspiring thought, isn’t it?

- What are your thoughts on the Vegan Martha Stewart episode? Are you liking the vegan-hype brought on by Oprah?

Okay, I must go…turn off the lights. Dinner in the dark followed by a film. Go do it too.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glocal Girl said, on March 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

    From the sounds of this place I believe even my meat-loving Dutch man would enjoy this place. YUM. Ahh, how I miss the culinary haven of Los Angeles…

  2. Kelsey at happyolks said, on March 27, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    OMG. I am obsessed with Native Foods! I always get the Buddha Bowl when I am up in Irvine. I heard a rumor that one might be opening in San Diego and I’m totally keeping my fingers crossed!! I love your blog!!! I found it from A Foodie Stays Fit :) :)

  3. Mackenzie said, on March 28, 2011 at 7:53 am

    okay, so call me a total creep, but i just found your blog from danielle’s and i adore it. because 1. you are a fan of cafe gratitude (i just went there in san fran last month and fell in love) and a fellow vegan if i may venture to guess?! 2. you lived in boston?! (i am moving there next month for school!) did you go to emerson (guess because of your major i saw in your about me? it was my dream to go there. it seems like a magical school.
    but your photos are lovely and i’m definitely a fan, and i apologize for my soft-core creeping. :) the similarities seemed too eery not to comment!

  4. Monique said, on March 28, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Holy cow that sounds AMAZING!!!! And those pictures are AWESOME :)

    Um, if I were you, I’d get the Ghandi bowl next time! That sounds delicious. Next time I’m in SoCal, I’m stopping at one of these restaurants for SURE.

  5. Danielle said, on April 2, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Just stumbled across your blog and I have to tell you that I LOVE your pictures and style=) What kind of camera do you use?

  6. Michelle | GOLD-HEARTED GIRL said, on April 4, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I love Native Foods. I have 3 close-by, which makes me feel spolled. :) I’ve never tried the tacos – definitely next on my list. My favorite is the Scorpion Burger…I love me some tempeh.

  7. Imwaytoobusy said, on April 10, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I just found your blog via A Foodie Stays Fit. I love it and will definitely be following your posts! :)

  8. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on April 23, 2011 at 5:20 am

    Hey! You’re back! Yay! :)

    I really need to catch up on your posts!

  9. beatriceqq said, on May 24, 2011 at 3:26 am

    nice

  10. evafitness said, on June 16, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    UM!! I moved last year from LA to Singapore and I miss Native foods so much. And no one understands! I know you wrote this post eons ago but thank you for the Native Foods lust photos. :) Hope all is well

  11. cheap soccer cleats said, on July 12, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    To breathe Paris preserves the soul.What we have just said takes away nothing of the anguish of heart which one experiences every time yellow adidas soccer cleats that one meets one of these children around whom one fancies that he beholds floating the threads of a broken family. In the civilization of the present day, incomplete as it still is, it is youth f50 soccer cleats not a very abnormal thing to behold these fractured families pouring themselves out into the darkness, not knowing clearly what has become of their children, and allowing their own entrails to fall on the public nike synthetic soccer cleats highway. Hence these obscure destinies. This is called, for this sad thing has given rise to cheap nike soccer cleats on sale an expression, “to be cast on the pavements of Paris.” http://www.soccershoesname.com/ ZHC

  12. jranolajoyce said, on July 27, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    LOVE wraps! so delicious, so easy to make! :)

  13. yogi beginner said, on August 3, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I stumbled upon this blog and I must say that I am very happy that I had the opportunity to read and make comments.
    My wife also missed for such food, are suffering. :)
    I find this article very interesting and rich in content, will also be very pleased to discuss issues that are present in this paper. I look forward to more posts from you ..

    Add a widget for twitter and you’ll see more views.
    That’s interesting. Posted by news at Twitter. Thanks for the link!

    Ayurveda in india

  14. Kelsey said, on September 2, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I am obsessed with the deliciousness of this food!!! <3
    Hope you had an excellent summer love. miss you tonnes!

    xoxo <3

  15. indira said, on November 14, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I just wanted to say your blog is one of the most beautiful, positive and welcoming blogs i have ever read! And your pictures are the avid example of perfection.
    Thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

