A Fresh Dille

vegan pleases.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on June 30, 2008

Hectic is the perfect word to describe the last two days. However, I am determined to keep up with this blog. The little bit of time you give yourself to relax and do whatever you want is a wonderful way to keep your work ethic alive. No one can be inspired to work without time to let yourself vent. I have learned this over the last few years and cherish “me time.”

Yesterday, I was in an extreme hurry to fit in a run and because of the fact that I was rushed, I did not enjoy it as well as I normally would. Running is great sport because it is almost entirely mental. In high school, my coach once told us that distance running is 90% mental and 10% physical. It is obviously just an idea, but I do feel my best when I go out for a run with no expectations except to give it my all. Of course, this may be the reason why I have be injured so many times within my running career. I love to see what I am made of.

After my run, I was too tired to cook a meal so I stuck with some basics. The above photo is a simple stir fry with kale, peppers, baby bok choy, and broccoli with a touch of teriyaki sauce and garlic. I also had a veggie burger with vegan mozzarella. The meal really hit the spot at that time, although burgers and stir fries may not seem to go in unison.

Today, after I had worked all day on a magazine assignment, I knew if was time for some “me time.” I ran speed intervals in a grassy field by my apartment and it began raining on the way home. I will admit right now that I love rain, especially after a hard run. Rain smells incredibly fresh and clean. The lily flower above is a photo I took on the way home. Also, I really want one of these:

Actually, I would love a real Vespa in a cream or baby blue. I don’t know how good they are for the environment, but considering how much I walk around Boston, it is pretty ridiculous. Today, I must have walked at least 5 miles. I also saw a beautiful old yellow scwinn bike that reminded me of Amsterdam:

After running, I knew it was time to hit up Whole Foods. I do not know how anyone rushes through that place. I may be the slowest grocery shopper alive. Fruit-wise, I bought plums, lemons, limes, gala apples, bananas, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, avocado, and tomato. Vegetable-wise, I got zucchini, portobello mushrooms, red onion, a sweet potato, rainbow chard, and carrots. I already have a ton of frozen organic veggies from trader joes that I have been meaning to eat for too long (asparagus, butternut squash, broccoli, and edamame). All the produce I bought today was organic. I read something about trying to buy bananas that are organic because the pesticides still leak through the peel and I do not know about you, but I do not rinse actual bananas. I bought tempeh bacon, three different companies kinds of soy yogurt, whole wheat pastry flour, ezekiel wraps and english muffins, nutritional yeast, sunflower seeds, raisins, and peanuts.

For dinner I knew I should taste the swiss chard. The best part of the chard (other than the beautiful colors) was that it was from a local farm. I cut the stems and sautéed the chopped stems in some olive oil and garlic for two minutes and then added the chopped leaves and a tablespoon of vegetable broth. After 3 minutes, I plated the chard and topped it with some pine nuts. For another side, I decided to slice half a sweet potato really thin with my new mandolin from crate and barrel. They were baked for 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

Then I made the tempeh wingz that I have been dying to make. I first saw the recipe on Celine’s blog, and they are originally found here. These were more tasty than I could describe. The mix of hot sauce and thyme, with a crisp from the panko whole wheat bread crumbs was delicious. I have many leftover as well, and they will definitely be included in my lunch tomorrow. I missed the step of slicing the tempeh in half but my big wingz were fabulous. Here they are:

Eating a fabulous meal is one thing, but I cannot believe this whole dinner was vegan. I loved every aspect of it. I cannot wait to create some other exciting things this week with all the fresh ingredients I bought.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hk said, on June 30, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Hey claire!! Yay for a new boston friend 🙂 me too- we should get together, your blog looks great!!

  2. VeggieGirl said, on June 30, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Hang in there with your hectic schedule – the blogging will get easier, I promise!!

    I love swiss chard – so delectable. I finally got around to growing some in my garden (the weather has been horrid here, and not good for gardening).

    Celine’s recipes NEVER disappoint – they’re wonderful!! Especially the baked good ones :0)

  3. orangepop said, on June 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Hey! I’ve also learned to appreciate “me-time.” Maybe that’s from always running around with sports, activities, school, etc… Your food and groceries sound amazing, and a I lovvveee tempeh! It’s too bad that such awesome produce can run a high bill. But, you’re investing in your health! I’m working my way toward mostly whole-foods and veganism… I want to do it RIGHT, though, and not deprive my body! I guess I don’t care for the label of being vegan, just the means behind it all. Take care!

  4. orangepop said, on June 30, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Oh! Another thing- I’ve been looking into buying a bike, but it’s funny because scooters are my latest “Google” search, too. I love Honda Metropolitans, but we’ll see about pricing, etc. They aren’t so bad for the environment and get GREAT gas mileage. Good thing, for the price of gas these days!

  5. clairedille said, on July 1, 2008 at 4:18 am

    hk-do you have a blog? thanks for visiting mine!

    veggiegirl-I am so jealous you have a garden…I hope to be able to grow some produce of my own one day.

    orangepop-I have realized that there is no deprivation in veganism other than in some vitamins (b12). The label is not important to me either. Craigslist is the way to go on bike searching…I just don’t know what size I need since I am pretty petite.


Leave a Reply

