A Fresh Dille

long weekend loves.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 4, 2008

How can you not love fresh berries? Berry picking is a wonderful experience and everyone should try it at least once in a lifetime. Strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, raspberries…it is hard to like one more than the other, in my opinion. Berries obviously go with yogurt and granola and this may be one of the only breakfasts I can stomach in the hot summer heat.

Hemp Plus granola has to be one of the tastiest of all “healthy” granolas. Nature’s Path has done it right. The Pumpkin and Peanut Butter are other flavors I’ve tried that are equally as delectable. The yogurt buried beneath the toppings is a new favorite. Typically, I choose the Vanilla Silk of the soy yogurts, but I knew it was time to venture out and try the Whole Soy cherry flavor. The real cherry taste was light, however, in comparison to the many artificially-sweetened yogurts I have tried over the years, this was a real joy to eat.

The tempeh bacon sandwich or wrap never fails. Paired with tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, and a vegan mayo, the tempeh bacon smokiness is not overpowered. When cooking this “bacon” in my apartment, my friends asked what the incredible smell was and when I explained it as a vegetarian bacon, they could not believe it. The best part about the flavor is that it does not seem to be mimicking actual bacon. It could just be called smoky tempeh. Soon I hope to be eating this product in other ways, maybe even in a bacon peanut butter sandwich like my mother used to make. Yes…bacon…and…peanut butter.

I was playing with my mini mandoline again and sprinkled the wrap with shredded raw zucchini. Tomorrow I plan on making the Nearly Raw Tahini Noodles by Lolo at VeganYumYum with Zucchini Noodles. I will be sure to post on how it turns out. Friday is Farmer’s Market day here in Boston and I hope to be picking up some fresh produce. I will be sure to post about anything exciting I may find from the Massachusetts farmers. Recently, I have been contemplating whether or not I should buy my own pot of fresh herbs. The market is the perfect place to find them in pots and freshly cut, so it shall be interesting to see what feels right. Heidi Swanson’s new recipe for Lime & Peanut Coleslaw is another fresh spin on cole slaw that I am eagerly waiting to make after the market.

Doesn’t this scare everyone into wanting to be a vegetarian, or at least cutting out red meat?

Fabulous Recipe’s I have tried this week:

Banana Date Muffins @ Fat Free Vegan Kitchen

Double Chocolate Cookies @ have cake, will travel!

I hope everyone has a wonderful July 4th.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on July 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Fresh berries = one of life’s simplest (and most delicious) pleasures.

    I’m glad that you liked that muffin recipe from the Fatfree Vegan Kitchen – it truly is a wonder, and “taught” me how to bake :0)

  2. kimmykokonut said, on July 10, 2008 at 1:30 am

    I agree, the Hemp Granola IS the best out there. I’m happy my co-op offers it in bulk because it adds up! It’s not too sweet, holds up a good crunch in liquids and is tasty. I usually add it to pumpkin seed milk but will have to try this cherry soy yogurt you speak of.


Leave a Reply

