A Fresh Dille

a full plate and circle salad.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 8, 2008

Strange cravings came about this weekend. A sunny courtyard was the place for this meal and I carried my plate down just as so:

This quick but pleasing lunch was a spinach salad with shaved radishes and a sliced chioggia beet, a tempeh bacon wrap with homemade cilantro sauce (cilantro, silken tofu, garlic, pine nuts) and tomatoes, and a side of favorites, sweet potato chips. My taste buds still favor tempeh sandwiches with avocado, romaine, and tomato. It must be the notion of a mock BLT that really appeals to me.

I couldn’t help myself. The mandoline I bought is too much fun to put down and the abundance of circular produce I have makes me giddy with pleasure. Layered above torn romaine hearts, I placed thin slices of, the probably apparent, veggies: cucumber, radishes, and carrots. Dressed with a balsamic vinaigrette, I ate this with my new lunchtime staple, the nearly raw tahini noodles. Cooking for one, with an incredibly petite refrigerator filled with a roommates processed foods is getting pretty aggravating. The small shelf that holds all my food is like a maze these days. Considering I find myself to be constantly interested in new foods and recipes like many foodies, I always want new food even if I have a full fridge or cabinet. I guess this may have to wait a few years.

* It is about time for a first fashion post covering a few things I love from the Fall/Winter Ready-to-Wear collections. I will apologize in advance for my lack of posts in this upcoming week, I will be back to class until mid August. For all the vegans and foodies out there reading this blog, I want to let you know that my editorial dreams are divided between a few subjects of obsession: fashion, food, travel, and fitness (specifically running related). In the next few months, I hope to evenly divide the blog to pursue all passions and maybe even come up with columns for the week. Any ideas? I was thinking a few ideas but none are definite: recipes to try that week, a new look or new food, accessory or beauty wish-list items, designer inspiration of the week, favorite high-fashion editorial, city (or destination) ideas for adventure, and workouts to keep things interesting.

Tagged with: , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Adam said, on July 8, 2008 at 11:51 am

    I like your clean and simple lunch. Sweet potato chips and/or fries are always really good. I’d always prefer them to regular potatoes.

    Your column idea sounds great. Being a single guy, I am kinda fashion challenged, so I have no idea about stuff… food and workouts are more my thing.

    How about what to eat when traveling? Or maybe a starters guide to running? Or discover a new vegetable each week or something…

    Anyways, good luck starting school again, and don’t let the communal fridge get you down πŸ™‚ (I have the same problem too)…

  2. VeggieGirl said, on July 8, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Your lunch is so gorgeous!! I’m all over the sweet potatoes :0)

    I’m a fashionista, so I’m definitely looking forward to those posts!!

  3. Allison said, on July 8, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    All of your pictures are so beautiful and crystal clear! Thanks for the lunch idea, I love the lightlife brand. I’m the same way about always wanting a new food, despite the fact that there’s no room for it in the kitchen! I love the idea of a starters guide to running- like Adam mentioned- and new recipes! :0)
    PS…Do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

  4. clairedille said, on July 8, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Allison-feel free to add me to your blogroll! I will add you as well.

  5. Natalie said, on July 9, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Tempah BLT’s are my favorite super simple meal! Plus the advocado kind of acts like mayo (in a good way).

    I think it’s great that your blogging about all of your passions. I’m kind of fashion challenged (mostly sweats) so it’s great to get some new ideas for fall πŸ™‚

  6. BitterSweet said, on July 10, 2008 at 3:56 am

    How beautiful, your photography is just stunning. πŸ™‚

  7. fabmelinda said, on May 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    All your food pictures are awesome! Lovely blog πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

