A Fresh Dille

real men bake quiche.

Posted in Uncategorized by clairedille on July 21, 2008

This entire post is dedicated to my lovely father, whom I photographed above. Recently, he has been inspired to take photographs of his own culinary skills. Being an artist himself, I have no lack in faith that he could probably take more beautiful photos than I. It is no secret in our family that he loves pie and he has been known to insist on baking a pie in the summer heat. However, we have a mutual affinity with quiche. Last time I saw my father in Manhattan, he brought up a memory he had of me saying I had the best quiche ever in Amsterdam. It was true and the secret ingredient was pine nuts. It is embarrassing to admit, but the stunning counter top in this photograph made me homesick. You have to admit, this quiche looks mighty tasty.

I have gone the summer without eggs or dairy, but I know that this lifestyle choice will not last forever. I have complete respect for all those who choose to eat vegan, and I try to as much as possible but will never call myself one. I love food too much to not try new things with family and friends. Nevertheless, you will never hear of me eating any red meat or poultry. My food philosophy is to savor flavor and fuel my body the best I can.

I have been a busy little bee this last week and my posting has been semi shoddy. Two reasons (excuses?) are that 1) I was uninspired after a mandoline accident involving my thumb and 2) my old digital camera has broken.

In the meantime, I will try to share some favorite fashion images, running workouts, and recipes I am trying this week.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Trish said, on July 21, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    The quiche looks so very good!

    I completely can relate to the love of food and not ever going to be able to call yourself a vegan! I love eating healthy, but am always trying new recipes and would never be able to do without certain things on a permanent basis.

    Have a wonderful day!

  2. Nikki said, on July 21, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    For me right now I am strictly vegetarian though I do limit my dairy to organic choices when I have it and rarely eat eggs (except in a quiche!). I think it is terrific that people can become vegan and I am willing to try any vegan alternatives to dairy but I am trying to not bite off more than I can chew!

  3. Erin said, on July 21, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Great photos! It’s awesome that you and your dad are so close–and he actually remembers things you may have just said in passing… 🙂
    Being a vegan can be tough at times, but in the end it’s all about doing what is best for your body, and that is a personal choice that no one else can offer an opinion on.
    I hope your thumb doesn’t hurt too much!
    ~Erin @ “Vegan & the City”

  4. VeggieGirl said, on July 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    I too am very close with my father, so this post is EXCEPTIONALLY delightful :0)

  5. Augusta Scattergood said, on July 21, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Your aunt Ann sent me your blog and it made me want to make that quiche asap! Are the pine nuts in the crust? Yum. I’m part of her Writers Group and we’ve visited your camp at the Vineyard so I also loved the pictures. Thanks for sharing! Gusty Scattergood

  6. Jon Parkinson said, on July 21, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    That Quiche was just one I made from ingredients I had at the time. Artichoke Hearts, Red Peppers, Spring Onion (English for Scallions), Half and Half, Two Eggs, Gruyere and S &P in a Short Crust.
    Here are some other recipes….. http://search.foodnetwork.com/food/recipe/quiche/search.do
    Maybe I will send Claire some pie ideas from Martha’s Vineyard!
    Enjoy!

  7. clairedille said, on July 21, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    thanks dad! I also found a close recipe for my favorite kind of quiche:

    http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/breakfast-brunch/quiche_spinpinenut-cb.html

    and a vegan alternative:
    http://vegpod.com/?p=157

  8. lily said, on July 22, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    that looks yummy and makes me miss the aga at home. nice picture of dad. your blog is lovely sis

  9. Ann said, on July 23, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Hi, I think the quiche looks great too. Today we went to the slow food movement pot luck dinner at the old Ag Hall in W. Tisbury — Michael Pollen spoke — you would have loved it, Claire. We brought a frittatta made with local ingredients. Joy brought a kind of Thai noodle dish — also local ingredients. yeah slow food!

  10. clairedille said, on July 23, 2008 at 5:41 am

    thanks lils!

    Ann-I am so happy you are keeping up with my blog! This week is midterms so I won’t be able to post much till Friday. Michael Pollan has done so much for the slow food movement. I haven’t read all of his books yet, just the Omnivore’s Dilemma. I hear the newest one, In Defense of Food and The Botany of Desire are also wonderful. That dinner sounds like a blast and I love frittatas AND thai food! I think I am coming to MV Aug 1st for the weekend. Will you be there?

    Gusty-thanks so much for checking out my blog as well. It is pretty casual (and scattered) but tons of fun! I hope you were able to make a quiche too!

  11. Kim said, on July 23, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Hi! Great blog! I hope you don’t mind, I stumbled on your blog. I’m from the Cape/spend a lot of time on the Vineyard/Nantucket with my hubby who I met out here in school. Have a great summer!

  12. Emma said, on July 23, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    i have to say i have enjoyed a lovely quiche at that very home behind your father!

    love to the parkinsons

  13. Marians said, on August 3, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Yay! Interesting…

  14. savory days « A Fresh Dille said, on April 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    […] to snap a photo until today. I can’t wait to make these again for more people. I know my father will be a […]

  15. […] up the Father’s Day meal this morning with some delicious waffles à la Jessica. In the past I’ve mentioned my father, and his affinity for breakfast with […]

  16. good exercises to lose weight said, on April 9, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    The information provided above would be too less
    about this company who have produced 1400+ products under more than 100 categories,
    which shows its huge achievement in the sports driven strategic
    competitive field. Repeat this step again. What do you believe
    while you call to mind a would private coaching industry.

  17. Tanisha said, on July 17, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    – Rodeo: This is a famous restaurant in Delhi that shall be described as
    a Tex Mex place. A good place to explore and share all the gastronomic delights of
    India is the Khana Khazana website. 13) Chain Giants like Domino’s and Papa Johns spend 90 percent of their advertising budget for TV commercials.

  18. Marlene said, on August 1, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    The admirers of these grills say that the grills’ extremely even heating and very powerful infrared sear burner makes them the best. Each grill comes with a slightly different pan, but in general they are similar. When looking for gas grills on sale, the best brands to choose from are Weber, Char-Broil, Brinkmann, and Coleman.

  19. William said, on August 1, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    The admirers of these grills say that the grills’ extremely even heating and very powerful infrared sear burner makes them the best. NG in the environment is a “greenhouse gas”, but propane is not classified as such. When looking for gas grills on sale, the best brands to choose from are Weber, Char-Broil, Brinkmann, and Coleman.

  20. Propane Gas Grills said, on August 7, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Today, there are two popular choices in grilling namely gas grills and charcoal grills.
    NG in the environment is a “greenhouse gas”, but propane is not classified as such.
    Naturally propane gas is used for cooking and these
    grills are ideal if you want food cooked quickly while keeping that great grilled
    taste.


Leave a Reply

