A Fresh Dille

toast and quotes.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN, WORKOUTS, WRITING by clairedille on July 21, 2008

As I jumped into the elevator this morning I heard someone getting out giving his friend some advice.

“The secret to weightloss is cutting carbs.”

The girl replied, “I just can’t do that.”

I wanted to scream “You don’t have to!”

Instead, I went upstairs to make french toast, one of the best pre-run meals in my opinion. I was incredibly lucky to have a mother who made french toast for breakfast often and well into high school. This morning, I decided to try a recipe from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch (written by those tough-love vegans). Collecting cookbooks is the easy part, but actually cooking most of the recipes is a true task. There are quite a few books piling up on my amazon wishlist.

Instead of posting a recipe that is not created by moi, I searched via web for a way of sharing it with you. Strangely enough, I found it on the Ellen recipe database, and here it is: Pecan Crusted French Toast.

Although the photograph doesn’t serve them justice, they were really delicious. The tough part was trying to get the chopped pecans to stick to the dipped bread, and I almost have failed to do so. Next time, as in tomorrow, I will use the leftover almond milk mixture but dip the bread into a shallow bowl of shredded coconut.

Returning back to the topic I started with, I think that quick fixes for fitness and weight loss are quite silly if you resort to eating poorly after a brief stint with a diet. Instead, it is really important to be motivated by eating healthy and to look for inspiration for working out and keeping fit. Here are a few quotes that get my legs running:

Running is one of the best solutions to a clear mind.

-sasha azevedo

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.”

-steve prefontaine

Lastly, since this post is already pretty scattered. I will leave you with some of my favored writing resources:

These collections of feature articles range from The Atlantic Monthly to GQ.

The Elements of Style is a classic given to me by my aunt. It really helps with all issues from grammar to principles of composition. In Jeffrey Steingarten’s, The Man Who Ate Everything, he brings you along in his journey to become the food editor for Vogue.

The images in my edition of The Elements of Style are beautiful.

Shoes will be the topic of discussion tomorrow. Happy Monday.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on July 21, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Hooray for scrumptious French toast!! :0)

    I’m a shoe addict, so tomorrow’s post is DEFINITELY of interest ;0)

  2. Natalie said, on July 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Thanks for finding the recipe! I’ve been seeing that french toast on bolgs a lot and now I can’t wait to make it!

  3. clairedille said, on July 21, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    natalie-the club sandwich, mac and cheese, and choc chip cookie recipes from the ellen website are also from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch. enjoy!

  4. orangepop said, on July 22, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    You have a great attitude! I agree that carbs are a friend, especially being an athlete! some people… ha! It looks like you had a great trip to the Vineyard!

  5. Allison said, on July 22, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I’m so glad you found/posted the recipe! I’ve been hearing nothing but great things about that french toast…and all of the recipes from the book. Looks delicious!

  6. Adam said, on July 22, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I think pecan crusted french toast sounds great. I even like the vegan approach with the rice/soy milk. Oh man almond milk, yeah that’ll work too.

    Oh, and thanks for posting about carbs and the kinda crazy things people say. I actually just wrote about carbs on Friday. I’d like to get your input if you’re interested.

    Thanks for stopping by the blog, yours is nice and I’ll be back.

  7. Katie said, on July 22, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I might just have to make myself some French toast tomorrow… 🙂

  8. Erin said, on July 22, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Oy–I *hate* it when I hear people (wrongly) say you have to cut carbs to lose weight! It’s all about eating the proper, unrefined carbs.
    That French Toast looks spectacular, though!

  9. Natalie said, on July 23, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Hey, you’ve just been awarded. Check my blog for details. 🙂

  10. Adam said, on July 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Thanks for your input on my carb post. You brought up quite a few good points, and were correct on all of them. While you and I have different sports and goals (bodybuilding vs. running), we still need much of the same nutrition.

    As far as GI distress with fiber before a workout, yes I think that could be a problem with some people. Fiber tends to slow down nutrient absorption, so you might now want that anyways. I’ll try and put my 2 cents into workout nutrition in a few weeks. Enjoy your toast 🙂

  11. Sara said, on July 23, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I wanted to let you know that I just nominated you for the Brilliante Weblog Award! Check out my blog for details! Love your blog by the way…

  12. Emma said, on July 23, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    on the books note- have you checked out chi running? i have read some of it, but in practice its quite challenging, not sure how i feel about it yet, although i like the idea.

  13. clairedille said, on July 23, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Emma, yay for reading my blog! I have checked out ChiRunning at Barnes & Noble and it sounds like a very interesting idea for running injury free…I may have to buy it. Most recently I bought the Runner’s World book here:
    http://www.amazon.com/Runners-World-Less-Faster-Revolutionary/dp/159486649X

    It gives plans for race training and doesn’t overtrain with less workouts per week.

    And this is my first running book ever from freshman year of high school:
    http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Book-Running-Women/dp/0671017039/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1216854995&sr=1-1

  14. clairedille said, on July 23, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    sara and natalie, thanks so much! I am so honored.

  15. Erin said, on July 24, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Hi, again! I noticed under your “Green Living” section, you don’t have the G Living Network listed… In case you’ve yet to check it out, here’s the link:
    http://www.gliving.tv
    It’s a great site & I know you’ll love it!
    ~Erin

  16. clairedille said, on July 24, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Erin, I had that page bookmarked and you are right. I do love it! Later tonight I will be adding a lot more links to my blog…after my exam.

  17. amypurple said, on July 26, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    My husband is not a fan of french toast, but I bet I could persuade him to change his mind with pecans on top!


Leave a Reply

