A Fresh Dille

a few things to be excited about.

Posted in ENTERTAINMENT, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 28, 2008

In five minutes one of my favorite shows, Mad Men, is premiering the second season. New York Magazine has really upped my enthusiasm for the show these last few days. There is something truly fabulous about the costumes for the 1960’s advertising agency. Peggy, the naïve secretary, gets a big break in the close of season one (oops spoiler) and I can’t wait to see how she will progress throughout this season. This is the time women were getting out of the home and into the workplace. It is incredibly inspiring. Don Draper, the overly mysterious ad exec, is such a multi-faceted character and his beautiful wife can’t help but be bored by the housewife life. The barrier between his secrets and the audience will hopefully be broken this season. The show is up for sixteen emmy’s and if that isn’t an indicator of its brilliance, I don’t know what is. Even Michael Kors’ Fall ready-to-wear fashion show channeled the shows costumes.

Another reason I am particularly happy right now is due to my brand new camera. It hasn’t been put to good use yet but I did manage to sneak in a few shots of my simple staple lunch.

My love for beets has never waned and the sweetness is the perfect addition to a fresh spring green salad. Somehow my balsamic vinegar has walked off and disappeared and I was left with an old tuscan italian dressing from Trader Joe’s to top it off. The flavors were right but I prefer a less thick dressing like a nice homemade vinaigrette. Next, I slathered sprouted grain bread with pesto sauce.

Piled upon the sauce I added tomato, tempeh, and soy mozzarella and grilled it.  Delicious.

One last thing I am looking forward to is Harper’s Bazaar’s newest baby, The Runway Report. In this blog, I haven’t yet talked about my days interning there. All I will say now is that the magazine world has a hypnotizing kind of energy that I can not wait to return to.

Tagged with: , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brooke said, on July 28, 2008 at 3:33 am

    i have been anticipating the premiere of mad men since the season finale! i enjoyed tonights episode even though it was a bit slow, but i can’t wait for it to pick up again. and the fashion was once again, so fantastic. i just adore january.

    and your panini looks delicious! do you make the pesto ahead of time and store it in your refridgerator? i’ll have to make some with the fresh basil growing in my backyard.

    and lastly, i look forward to hearing more about your interning days. do you live in nyc? i’m sure we have a lot of in common. 🙂

  2. clairedille said, on July 28, 2008 at 4:25 am

    brooke, I know january jones is so intriguing. I hope they develop on her character a little bit this season. I also want them to go into more detail about peggy and the baby (where did it go, im guessing adopted?).

    I do make pesto ahead of time with a huge batch of basil from the farmer’s market. You are so lucky to grow some! I posted about a few back “i’m all about green.” I freeze individual portions in ice cube trays so it is easy to add to fresh pasta, etc.

    I am from nyc originally but have moved around to california, michigan, and boston for college. There is still a family apartment in the upper east side and I try to go in as much as possible. I will always feel like a new yorker. I lived there last summer for four months while interning. I will move back in January to nyc, probably bklyn or downtown…counting down the days. Do you live in the city?

  3. brooke said, on July 28, 2008 at 4:49 am

    yes, the baby! i can’t wait to find out the details. and hopefully betty’s role will get deeper into the season. and i love her style.

    thank you for the pesto tip! sounds perfect; and i just read your post. i freeze a lot of things (me being the only veg. in the house) so i love that. also, i love growing fresh herbs! its really enhances summer foods. (plus, its free and continues to grow back!) i also grow rosemary, chives, and mint. im sure its not too late to pick up a few plants at a local greenhouse?

    wow, your travels sound sound so intruiging! i am actually moving to the city fall 09 for to finish up school with one of my best friends. ha, im already looking for apartments! (im also counting down the days…) the city is just so full of life!

  4. Adam said, on July 28, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation on the show. I’ve never seen it, but maybe I’ll give it a shot.

    Love your beet salad. I don’t know too many people that like beets, so I get excited when I find one 🙂

    What kind of camera did you get? The pics look really nice

  5. VeggieGirl said, on July 28, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I’ve actually never seen an episode of ‘Mad Men’ – sounds worth watching though!!

    Oh man, what a breathtakingly-beautiful salad – yum!

  6. orangepop said, on July 29, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I’ve never seen the show, either.
    What are your thoughts on “Project Runway,” as it gets started, and you’re into the fashion?! I’m digging it, and Natalie Portman was on last episode (supporting her vegan shoe line and activism!).
    I loveeee beets and my natural-foods store makes the BEST roasted garlic beets that I buy just about everytime I’m there (which is a lot, because I work there!). It’s just garlic, olive oil and…beets! I have a new-found love for them.
    I’ve only made pesto once… it was great! I used sunflower seeds and served it over linguine and veggies. Light and tasty! And you know I’m a sucker for tempeh!
    Great post- I love it all!
    On other (bad) news, I may be gluten-intolerant!!!! Can you imagine us athletes having a hard time with grains and wheat?! Ah, we’ll see what happens…

  7. Allison said, on July 30, 2008 at 6:05 am

    Thanks for the tempeh recommendation! Did you use any type of marinade for the your sandwich? Wow, your camera takes beautiful pictures!…I LOVE the salad picture…so colorful!

  8. clairedille said, on July 31, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    orangepop-I am so excited about p.runway and love that they had natalie on because she is in my top list of celebs. She is so real and cares a lot about the environment…I really wish they could have made outfits for her to wear with green fabric they could buy themselves though. I think that would have been better and the clothes would have shown how green materials can be just as amazing in fashion design. I read about your recent stomach issues from gluten/wheat…I hope you get tested soon to really know for sure. I have been experimenting with other flours and there are some great recipes with them…check out la tartine gourmande on my food faves, she bakes a lot with GF flours and she is a great writer and photographer in BOSTON!

  9. clairedille said, on July 31, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    adam-i just got a fujifilm small digital camera but it has a big screen and is great for close ups.

    Allison-that was actually tempeh bacon my lightlife so no preparing done on my part…

  10. Erin said, on August 1, 2008 at 11:04 am

    I love NY Mag… I look forward to getting it every week!
    I’m very interested to learn more about your interning days! I just picked up the latest issue of Bazaar–LOVE it–and I’m also reading a book about Anna Wintour…
    Have a great day!

  11. […] you watch Mad Men? Love it/hate it? I wrote about my love for the show once back in the day when I started blogging (before taking almost a year off) and still am pretty […]


Leave a Reply

