A Fresh Dille

how do you like your oats?

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on August 1, 2008

Oatmeal is not what you assume one would crave in the hot summer. With an almost empty fridge and pantry, but a strangely grand quantity of dates and a variety of nuts, I knew it was time to get cooking. The only oats I had left were found at the very bottom of a container of steel cut oats. I always have enjoyed the nuttiness of steel cut oats over rolled oats. It may be due to the fact that I tend to under cook them, but nevertheless, I find them tremendously tasty al-dente.

The nuts of choice this a.m. were hazelnuts. Truthfully, when I think of these nuts, my mind goes to Nutella or hazelnut praline chocolates…two of my culinary favorites. I had an amazing experience of living in an old castle in the Netherlands for a semester abroad and I ate Nutella on toast with Hagelslag sprinkles many mornings. This was my staple go-to meal and it was wonderful to see miniature boxes of sprinkles found on each table everywhere I stayed in Amsterdam as well.

Returning back to the oatmeal, it was simply oats cooked on the stove top with an even mixture of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and water. Then I sliced two dates and chopped a few hazelnuts and drizzled it all with agave nectar. This was a winning combo and is definitely worth trying. What are some of your favorite oatmeal concoctions? Oh, and can you believe it is August? I can’t…

Tagged with: , ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brooke said, on August 1, 2008 at 4:50 am

    your bowl of oats looks and sounds delicious!

    my favorite hot cereal is oat bran. i always love to prepare it this way. first mix dry cereal with water in the microwave. then when its done, add a bit of vanilla almond milk, a good tablespoon of saigon cinnamon and a bit of maple syrup or agave. i have a technique that i use every time which makes it sweet and creamy throughout the whole bowl. (i am a bit neurotic!) then sometimes i add a tablespoon of almond/peanut/cashew butter, sliced banana, or fresh berries (blueberries, raspberries) honey butter, organic berry jam, etc. just depending on what im in the mood for.

    also, since it is the summer time and i still love my hot cereal, i like to put it in the freezer for about 5 minutes to cool off when its done. then i add the toppings. i think it tastes really delicious cold!

    but i cannot wait for fall to arrive! not only the weather, fashion, and festivities, but the food is always so comforting. speaking of oatmeal; pumpkin spice oatmeal, maple butter oatmeal, apple cinnamon oatmeal, and so many more possibilites!

    great posting idea claire.

  2. clairedille said, on August 1, 2008 at 5:03 am

    brooke, I really love the sweetness to be all over the entire cereal too so I mix really well. I also love adding nut butters for extra volume on days when I wake up very hungry!

    speaking of fashion…look for some tomorrow! sorry my posting has been so slow these last few weeks.

  3. Celine said, on August 1, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I pretty much like oatmeal any way someone’s willing to prepare it for me. 🙂

  4. sara said, on August 1, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Claire,
    Your blog is beautiful. We share a love of food and travel and running in common. However, your photography far surpasses mine. I’ve always been more of a cook than a photographer.
    Anyway, I love my oatmeal with chopped apples cooked in, and brown sugar, cinnamon and flax seed sprinkled on top.

  5. VeggieGirl said, on August 1, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    That bowl of oatmeal is TOO impeccable-looking – FABULOUS!!

    Hazelnuts = favorite nut.

  6. VeggieGirl said, on August 1, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    P.S. Enter that bowl of oats in Kath’s oatmeal contest (scroll to bottom of post)!!!

    http://www.KathEats.com/?p=6220

  7. Adam said, on August 1, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    That is sure a beautiful dish, even with your ’empty fridge and pantry’. I can’t imagine what you can do with a full fridge 🙂

    Oatmeal is a staple of mine too. I’ve had it most days since I was like 8 and watching Ninja Turtles on the living room floor. Oatmeal with blueberries, a splash of vanilla, and some smashed macadamias… sure it’s purple, but that dish could win the delicious Olympics. August… yeah freal.

  8. sara said, on August 3, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    hey would you mind if i add you to my blogroll?

  9. erica said, on August 4, 2008 at 3:10 am

    that bowl of oats is calling my name!

    my ideal bowl of oatmeal: must involve some sort of nut butter. oh, and dried cherries and walnuts too!

  10. Christie said, on August 4, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    That picture is stunning. My oats of choice would def have the dates in them… I absolutly love dates they add such a sweetness to the oatmeal. I do not like hazlenuts but I love the crunch of walnuts in my oats. SO many of us in the blogging world share the love of oatmeal….

  11. Tina said, on August 4, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Sounds delicious!

  12. Dee said, on August 8, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I’ve been eating oatmeal since I was kid and I haven’t once gone of it. My favourite is with apples and cinnamon. I could easily eat it all day. Actually, I often do 🙂

    Btw, I love the extra large font in the comment box. Although I’m still in denial, my eyesight isn’t what it was 😦

  13. michelle said, on August 22, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Hi! I am a friend of Lily’s, and a huge fan of steel cut oatmeal 🙂 But when those aren’t around, I cook plain microwave oatmeal with a whisked egg/milk in it. It turns out a bit like a frittata!

  14. clairedille said, on August 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    mmm michelle that sounds extra yummy! I just had some oats for bfast…oats, honey, cinnamon, pecans, coconut and a banana (which I only eat in sandwiches or cereal/oats)! I will have to try them with an egg…I have heard of using a few egg whites to get it extra puffy too.


Leave a Reply

