A Fresh Dille

olympic oatmeal

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on August 9, 2008

Last night I headed down to the gym to watch the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics in Beijing. It was the most spectacular event I have ever seen. The eight months the dancers spent rehearsing their moves took pure dedication and the show proved that. After running 6+ miles I had to get off the treadmill, however, I couldn’t get myself to leave the gym in fear of missing the American’s short pass during the Walk of Nations. The Sudanese refugee Lopez Lomong was chosen to carry the flag and it was wonderful to see the famous 1,500 meter track star represent our country. I would have loved to watch some other track stars on camera as well but I was incredibly happy to see Lomong because of his great story of coming to our country. Another interesting fact was that Michael Phelps wasn’t walking because of the proximity to his first event. He has already been making his way towards breaking the record of winning the most medals at the Olympic Games.

Here is a site broadcasting the live coverage of the games I found through Runner’s World which has amazing information on all the runner’s at the games.

This morning, after sleeping a solid eleven hours, I knew I wanted something hearty like oatmeal. A ripe and juicy mango was ready to be eaten.

I cooked up a big batch of rolled oats on the stove top for 12 minutes and reserved most for later. This morning I was all about the tropical flavors and shredded coconut topped the cooked oats and mango. Other extras were pecans and agave nectar.

A few bites later, I wanted some more mango…

Tagged with: , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shelby said, on August 9, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Mmmm, I love mango! And I really like your blog =) How do you save your oatmeal for later? I out mine in the fridge overnight and it got all hard and rubbery…

  2. VeggieGirl said, on August 9, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I too was awestruck by the Opening Ceremony performances – absolutely incredible!!

    Mango & oatmeal = perfection.

  3. brooke said, on August 9, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    wow i never thought of adding mango into my oatmeal with coconut…that looks like a perfect mix! i’ll have to try that. i eat a mango with my hot cereal about 6 out of the 7 days a week…they are just so incredible and sweet at whole foods in the summer!

  4. Erin said, on August 9, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Yum. There is nothing better in the summer than a perfectly ripe, juicy mango.
    And, is it just me, or does anyone else *always* cry during the Olympics??? Like when medals are handed out and national anthems are played? πŸ˜€

  5. Adam said, on August 9, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    I totally agree… oatmeal is the old school breakfast of champions too πŸ™‚ I’m rooting for Phelps, he has outstanding potential to be of the best Olympians of all time

  6. Natalie said, on August 10, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I can’t believe I missed the opening ceremomy! I went to bed super early.

    And your oats look amazing! I think I just found my new oatmeal staple. πŸ™‚

  7. erica said, on August 10, 2008 at 3:38 am

    How great does this look?! I need to try this oatmeal combo asap!

  8. Katie said, on August 10, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Yum that looks tasty!

    I was watching the opening ceremony this morning (I TiVo’d it) and I was totally spellbound. I’ve only watched about 1.5 hrs. so far, but it was INCREDIBLE.

  9. orangepop said, on August 10, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    looooove the Olympics! it would be tough to be a swimmer, having to miss out on the walk, but wanting to stay up to watch, though needing your rest… eh, where’s the compromise?! hehe.
    lovely oats! mango is where it’s at these summer days πŸ™‚

  10. Christie said, on August 10, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    That oatmeal looks so good, I def have to try it with the mango and coconut, I bet it would be good with some cashew nuts or nut butter!

    http://www.sportsnutritionliving.wordpress.com

  11. Amanda @ Down Home Dieting said, on August 11, 2008 at 2:25 am

    The opening ceremony was impressive. Like nothing I’ve seen before.

    Your oatmeal sounds fabulous!

  12. Jeffrey said, on August 11, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Hi!

    Enjoyed this post a lot; nicely written. I also added you to my blogroll.

  13. clairedille said, on August 11, 2008 at 4:42 am

    shelby-I usually just add a touch of water and almond milk and pop it in the micro for about a minute…this usually keeps it nice and moist ( I dislike that word!).

    erin-I definitely become emotional during the games…I was running during the ceremonies and it truly inspired me. Just tonight, I watched some swimming (posting about!) and it pushed my running on the treadmill.

    adam-phelps is simply amazing…I spent my HS years in Michigan and he trains at U of M where I once met him…yeah, he has a good foot and 4 inches on me!

    jeffrey-add away! I am kind of a music buff so I really enjoyed your last post…


Leave a Reply

