A Fresh Dille

what else can you do with edamame?

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on August 11, 2008

Edamame isn’t really something one can become bored with. After indulging in my fair share of sushi over the years, there have been many times I have found myself eating almost the entire appetizer myself. Over the weekend I tried a new delicacy from Whole Foods, the Edamame Hummus. If you have not tried it, I recommend searching for some. If I read the ingredients correctly, I do not remember any mention of chickpeas or tahini (I will be sure to check when I return to the owner of this amazing hummus’ house later this evening).

Does anyone else have a compulsion to bookmark everything? I have bookmarked hundreds of recipes and websites already and this is a new computer. The bookmarks I have created range from fashion sites to vegan recipes, and current fitness plans. I even have a kitchen design bookmark and one that reads as follows, EXPENSIVE wish list. This list has a fair share of Stella McCartney and Alexander Wang clothing items I won’t be able to afford for a few years (I hope).

A recipe for Edamame Dumplings was calling my name when I decided it was time to tackle my freezer food and canned goods before I move at the end of August. When I return from Martha’s Vineyard on the 20th I will not be allowing myself to grocery shop until after I move on the 30th. One allowance will be the farmer’s market for berries and some other produce I can eat quickly. I have at least six different types of soups.

Back to the edamame…I found the recipe here. Enjoy

The red pepper flakes really gave the recipe the kick it needed to satisfy my taste buds but scallions or ginger whipped up with the edamame would also be delicious.

Have a lovely Monday everyone. To prepare you and myself for Friday, here is an old photo of my fabulous cousin Julia (right) and myself (left) on our beach on Martha’s Vineyard (can you spy my adorable little sisters chubby baby legs?). I love how my mother accessorized me.

Tagged with: ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aran said, on August 11, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    i love edamame and everything you did with it here but my favorite is definitely that photo of you two. Amazing!

  2. VeggieGirl said, on August 11, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Gorgeous food photographs!

    Loove the old photograph of you and your cousin – so fun!! 🙂

  3. Adam said, on August 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Wow, I really like the look of those dumplings. The crispy char you got on them is awesome 🙂

    I know what you mean about the bookmarking… organization is key. I would be completely lost without it. But here’s the real question… where is Baking with Dynamite on your list? 😉

    Enjoy your Monday too, and I hope moving isn’t too stressful.

  4. nicole said, on August 11, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I have way too many bookmarks! I love edamame and really want to try this!

  5. oatmeal said, on August 11, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Edamame dumplings?! Way to combine two of my very favorite foods in the world!

    And I hear you on the bookmarking–especially with recipes and things! I don’t even end up looking at 80% of the links again 😛

  6. Shelby said, on August 12, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Such a cute picture… I loved the beach when I was little, I still do!

    I absolutely LOVE edamame, it’s my favorite bean. Those dumplings look heavenly, can’t wait to try them =)

  7. erica said, on August 12, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    That picture is absolutely adorable, I love it!

    And I’m a huge fan of edamame, so your dumplings look terrific!

  8. Tartelette said, on August 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I love those wontons! I started to eat mine with splash of olive oil and some parmesan. Cute picture of you and your cousin!

  9. Nikki said, on August 13, 2008 at 4:29 am

    The edamame dumplings will be mine – oh yes – they will!

  10. Melissa said, on August 16, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I think you are near nyc, Rickshaw Dumpling Bar just introduced whole wheat edammame dumplings. They are pretty great.

    I heart MV. I can’t wait to go in a couple weeks!


Leave a Reply

