A Fresh Dille

a walk down blueberry trail

Posted in TRAVEL by clairedille on October 9, 2008

An evening walk down the path known as “blueberry trail” is not one I will forgo when I make my way to the small island of Martha’s Vineyard. On the mile long dirt road where we live there are a few ways of making it to the sea. I cannot recall the year the man-made sandy path was converted into the supported platform walkway that exists today. All I do know is that this year I missed the blueberries but still convinced my Mother and Bessie (neither truly needed much convincing) to head out before sunset and the Dille family’s night festivities.

Here are a few (okay…many) shots for your viewing pleasure.

This sign has been there for as long as I can remember…shhh.

And here we go…

Where the blueberries generally hide.

Not too comfortable barefoot…

Bessie and my mother graciously waited for me as I finished taking photos although we were already running late for cocktail hour.

My father, sister, cousin, and I opted for the famous Black Dog Tavern’s pancakes the next morning. Knowing that the wait would be quite lengthy, I decided to prolong my hunger in order to truly savor the blueberry filled pancakes.

The menu’s copious assortment of pancakes weren’t going to sway me. The first time I had eaten non-vegan all summer was this breakfast of blueberry pancakes. Of course I imagined that these were fresh blueberries I picked and it made it all worth it. The next day I left the island to return to Boston and haven’t felt as at home as I did during that short break I spent with my family in August.

A blurry shot of my pancakes will be followed by my beautiful cousin Julia’s “George of the Jungle Pancakes”…

Next summer I will be venturing back to my old stomping grounds, The Black Dog Cafe, where my sister and I have often shared a gigantic muffin and sipped coffees…. truly scrumptious. Oh, and the sourdough bread is not bad either. My one exception to a nice grainy bread is a classic loaf of sourdough.

On another note, I finished Flaubert’s Madame Bovary today in the Boston Common and the fall leavcs were almost too distracting.

Goodnight…or good morning.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on October 9, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Wow, Blueberry Trail is so picturesque!! Love it!!

    Aww, Bessie 🙂

    I’ve been to the Black Dog Café – they definitely serve wonderful dishes!! Man oh man, do those “George of the Jungle” pancakes look scrumptious…

    Good morning 😀

  2. Adam said, on October 9, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Yeah that Blueberry Trail is nice. It’s like a path that makes you feel so relaxed.

    And speaking of relaxed, those pancakes are awesome. I could either start or end my day with those, and be one happy guy 🙂

  3. Shelby said, on October 9, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Oh my goodness. Those pictures are beautiful. Tha name of the trail and the gorgeous pictures make the place seem fictional. I swear when I read your post it was like reading out of a book! Yummy blueberry pancakes…my favorite!

  4. sara said, on October 9, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Madame Bovary…I haven’t read that in a while…what did you think?
    I’m jealous that fall has already come to the northeast. We’re still awaiting its arrival here in the midwest.

  5. Brooke said, on October 10, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    wow, your photos are so inspirational – each one tells a story!

    and your blueberry pancakes look perfect! that is what i order every time i go out for breakfast, they are my favorite 🙂

  6. Erin said, on October 11, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Gorgeous photos, as usual!
    Oddly enough, I was just on the Black Dog’s website this morning, ordering a sweatshirt! 🙂

  7. Celine said, on October 11, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    quite lovely, indeed. my favorite shot is the one with Bessie waiting for you.

  8. mvobsession said, on October 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I can almost taste those blueberries 🙂 Your photos are fantastic.
    Joan

  9. […] consistent in buying frozen organic wild blueberries in the winter months. Ideally, I prefer to pick my own during their season and freeze them. I struggled with whether or not I wanted to eat them because I […]

  10. […] toy we hope to purchase before heading east. Card games and Clue will be played and I will show V a favorite morning walk down the dirt road that returns along the […]


Leave a Reply

