A Fresh Dille

time to play catch up

Posted in FOOD, SHOPPING, WORKOUTS by clairedille on October 18, 2008

There have been times in the past where I have kept right up to date with all that is going on in the fashion world. My younger sister, the budding fashion designer, is a great resource, letting me know what check out on style.com when I am in need of a little runway recap. She is really on top of her game and I have definitely fallen behind, almost entirely missing the recent Spring 2009 Runway Collections. Cathy Horyn’s New York Times Runway Reviews are another fabulous resource I resort to often. She is not afraid to bash the usual favorite fashion houses. A few weeks ago she wrote on two of my ultimate favorites, Dries Van Noten and Jil Sander. In order to read up on the New York Times website, I recommend getting a free online account. Be sure to check out T Magazine, the style guide. The videos are just too good to be true and feature some of my favorite men: the actor Matthew Goode, Lanvin’s designer Alber Elbaz, and Third Rock From the Sun’s Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I am also always a fan of Tara Parke-Pope’s Well blog and Mark Bittman’s Bitten blog.

But no worries, I will be sure to write up a fashion post sometime in the near future.

Looking through my iphoto earlier, a little nostalgia came to surface when I saw that this rather silly photo taken of me exactly two years ago from today. Oh how I miss living in the Netherlands…

As you see, I am an avid water drinker, especially while at the bar between glasses of wine. The little light weight in me knows how to make it through a night of drinking.

Another Amsterdam photo where I am in one of my favorite seasonal hats. The expression on my sister’s face is priceless. This was when my family came to visit me for Thanksgiving.

When it was finally time to say goodbye to my parents, my mother almost got stuck on the train with me as she gave me one last hug. She had a few tears streaming down her cheeks and it was a beautiful moment in my life. She didn’t want to leave me!

Some other things that I have been of interest recently from the foodie world:

The New York Times finally reviewed Candle 79, but I feel more compelled to listen to the reader reviews.

I have been eating a lot of these ravioli,  the Spinach Florentine and Garlic & Roasted Veggies version to be more specific. One other vegan variety I have yet to try is the Mediterranean Garlic & Herb. One day I will make the Sweet Potato Ravioli with Tofu Ricotta from one of my favorite new blogs, Method.

Part of me is waiting until I graduate to venture into new food areas such as baking bread, even if it can be as simple as this.

There has always been a soft spot in my heart for Williams-Sonoma. It was one of the catalogs I never wanted my mother throw out growing up, and I would read through it creating a mental checklist of all the items I hoped to someday possess. Fall is the perfect time to head over to the store and I did on Thursday. A panini press will be on my Christmas list this year. After reading about the love for Pumpkin butter on multiple blogs, I had to buy my own. Although I was planning on heading over to Trader Joe’s for a less costly one, I couldn’t help but snatch this up the second I saw it. The Pecan Pumpkin butter was fabulous mixed with some greek yogurt, kashi golean, and almond butter for breakfast. Next I will try it with oats or simply as a spread on my favorite hearty ezekiel english muffins.

Another Williams-Sonoma food item I aim to recreate myself is the Apple Orange Cranberry Relish. It can’t be too difficult, right?

Sunday is dedicated to apple picking (and studies) and probably apple chips.

I must admit I always felt that Cook’s Illustrated looked a little too old fashioned for my taste, however. recipes like the Creamy Creamless Tomato Soup make me want to get a subscription immediately, or maybe just an online one.

Tomorrow I have a personal training appointment and I told the trainer that I like to be sore after I worked out muscles I’ve been accidentally avoiding working out. It shall be interesting to see how tough she is on me. With running races out of the picture recently, I am a little antsy with my workouts. If the plan she makes me is of interest to anyone, I will be sure to post it. The core is probably one of my favorite areas to work out (apart from running) and I could definitely add new moves into my current strength regimen. I am also hoping to go to a heated yoga class tomorrow afternoon for a relaxing Saturday cardio session and some time off of the elliptical. This is only if I am not already completely fatigued from personal training. We shall see. I hope everyone has a lovely weekend!

*Sorry for not including new photos, I cannot find my camera charger. I think it may be in storage. Oh, no!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on October 18, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I love reading your fashion tidbits, since I’ve mentioned before that I’m a fashionista 🙂 How fun that your sister is working to become a fashion designer!! That was the route that I was taking, a few years ago. Best of luck to her!!

    Mmm, you’ve been eating quite deliciously lately!!

    I have a personal training session today too!!! I’ll be thinking of you during mine, while feeling sore, haha 😀

  2. brooke said, on October 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    i love your posts claire, as we have both mentioned, we have so much in common!

    paris and milan > nyc fwss09. i agree, i loved dries and jil. i am a dries shoe lover! yigal azrouël was one of my favorites from nyc. and i was really happy with chloe this season! of course stella, she rarely dissapoints. and sonia rykiel, for my fun crazy side. and i am an avid reader of cathy on the cut! and the fug girls, haha.

    okay, and williams-sonoma! i grew it with that company. their pecan pumpkin butter was the reason i am in love with it, it was the first pumpkin butter i ever tried. and it is amazing on a toasted english muffin. i did this the other day paired with almond butter…amazing. but im going to try your yogurt-kashi mix, it sounds delicious. and a panini press is a great present! we have the breville from ws and it is such a fun gaget, you will love it. (and we have the grilled cheese cookbook which i love for ideas!) that would be a good stocking stuffer, haha.

    anyways! you look beautiful! good luck with your training session and i hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  3. Kelly said, on October 24, 2008 at 4:13 am

    I have a soft spot in my heart for Williams-Sonoma as well. Unfortunately I’m not at a time in my life when I can really work retail, my full-time job is enough as it is, but if I could go back in time I would LOVE to work there. I’ve heard the discount is amazing. I always save all my credit card points up for WS giftcards. I have 2 right now that I am saving up for a wine fridge or a juicer, I cannot decide!!!
    A panini press would definitely be fun and I imagine it would work much better than my forman.
    I know Cooks’ Illustrated can look a little old fashioned, but the commentary is amazing. They are based near me and working there would be my dream job.

  4. Brooke said, on November 17, 2008 at 6:00 am

    claire!!! how are you lovey?

    check out my latest post to see your award! 🙂

    hugs!

  5. Sanja said, on December 9, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I’d love to see your new workout plan!

  6. ¡Yo Soy Liz! said, on February 8, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I’m also a Joseph Gordon Levitt fan. Have you seen “Mysterious Skin”? It is such a good movie.

    • clairedille said, on February 9, 2009 at 5:12 pm

      I haven’t seen Mysterious Skin but after imdb-ing it, I definitely will be netflixing it…Thanks so much! he is just too adorable for words…


Leave a Reply

