A Fresh Dille

the day i was born…

Posted in MAGAZINES by clairedille on March 18, 2009

is today! I have been quite the frequent blogger due to major changes that have occurred in my life these last few months. Still looking for the “perfect” or right job during this recession is no longer possible. Telling yourself that you will have to settle for something below what you imagined for yourself is hard to grasp. I am currently at this place and each day I search for the most positive traits within myself. Maybe returning to the blog world will be a good outlet for my thoughts right now. The economy is suffering and magazines are folding by the day. After studying print journalism and loving the physical act of holding a heavy spring issue of Harper’s Bazaar or Vogue since childhood, I am frightened that one day I will not have that option. Is it strange that I am returning to online media when I am so scared print media might be taken away from me?

On a more positive note, my best friend from college is coming from Los Angeles on Friday to celebrate another birthday. She is truly one of my soul mates and accepts me for all that I am. Sometimes we call each other to simply tell say how we miss sitting in our twin beds across from one another talking about all the silly boy drama that surrounded us. She is a true California girl and it was no surprise that the first thing she did upon graduation was transport to LA where she could write television drama. Here we are after I convinced her to go out in the first snow fall in Boston to get goods for baking Christmas cookies.

n13003999_31391074_64851

me and my lil laura.

We will be reunited after much too long. I will honestly admit that she is often the one I get in the most trouble with. Most of the time I am pretty in line, however, this little one can get me to take the occasional tequila shot among other rambunctious things. On the other hand, I am the one who may or may not have gotten her addicting to manicures, as I already received notice or her needing one via text. I cannot wait to celebrate with a few of my best friends on Friday at one of my favorite New York restaurants (more on that later).

n13003999_31379552_7890

me hugging laura

Well, it is way past my regular bedtime but I guess I had to stay up late to see the clock strike midnight on my birthday! I will be returning tomorrow…I’ll leave you a with a photo laura took of me the last time she came to stay with me in Manhattan. Uh oh…

n13003994_31374308_72702

Tomorrow, I’ll share a few Fall Fashion Week looks I loved from New York, London, Milan, and Paris. Goodnight loves.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Celine said, on March 18, 2009 at 7:16 am

    happy birthday to you!!!

  2. VeggieGirl said, on March 18, 2009 at 11:48 am

    WISHING YOU A SPECTACULAR BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION!!!!!!!

  3. Brooke said, on March 18, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    happy birthday claire!!!

    first off, i hope you have a beyond fabulous and chic celebration – you deserve nothing but the very best πŸ˜€ so will you be in the city? ohh i wish there right now. but enjoy your birth-week immensely! lots of laughter, goodies, cake, and spoiled behavior!

    secondly, i am so glad you are returning to blogging! i have missed my claire bear so, so much. how funny is it that we have the same jkc bracelet? haha no surprise, we have the same taste! and angelina ballerina – yes that is where the name came from! reliving my childhood πŸ™‚

    and my tj list! i will definitely send it off your way asap. do you have facebook?

    love you c! ❀

    p.s yes! weetabix are fabulous in greek yogurt!

  4. OrangePop said, on March 19, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Happiest of Birthdays to you, my dear! I’m sorry you feel so benevolent with the job market… I know it’s difficult everywhere, but at least you have good friends to keep you warm inside πŸ™‚ please blog to us as your “outlet!”

  5. Danielle said, on March 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Don’t worry… be happy… and have a very happy birthday!

    πŸ™‚

    P.S. I’m nervous too, I’ll keep our fingers croseed for the both of us!

  6. Erin said, on March 19, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    C-Dille! How marvelous to “see” you again! Missed you terribly!

    Have an amazingly wonderful birthday, and may all your hopes and dreams come true! πŸ™‚

    -Erin

  7. thepinkpeppercorn said, on March 22, 2009 at 5:22 am

    Happy day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ENJOY!!!!


Leave a Reply

