A Fresh Dille

working with what works

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on August 13, 2009

Sometimes it seems like I can become quite redundant with my grocery lists and usual eats. This is probably true with most but I am eager to become more inspired again. Last summer, when I became an official vegan for the first time, I was always interested in new recipes and ways of creating exciting meals each day. This is a staple salad for me: romaine or spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, avocado, and tempeh bacon with a simple balsamic vinaigrette or if I am truly lazy, I will use a Trader Joe’s or Amy’s tasty dressing (goddess or tuscan italian). Although more often than not, I will add some more exciting ingredients such as raw corn or jicama. Obviously I am a big fan of the crunch factor and the more flavors the better these days. I am also a very loyal beet and grated zucchini fan. Here is a simple salad that I ate for lunch today. I was itching for more groceries and ran over to Whole Foods with my younger sister, who is visiting,  for some much anticipated ingredients for the week.

DSCF0005

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brooke said, on August 13, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    salads are part of my daily eats repertoire! literally. they are so easy to prepare, and i love taking advantage of the fresh produce this time of year. i have yet to add tempeh strips, but i love them, and this looks delicious! oh, raw corn and grated beats are my favorite too. have you ever tried roasting fresh beets? also very yummy on top of mixed greens with a side of cucumber dill hummus.

    well, i hope you have a wonderful time with your visiting sister! shop, eat, relax.
    enjoy darling! we’ll talk soon.

    love,
    XO b


Leave a Reply

