A Fresh Dille

always a veggie.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on April 8, 2010

Although I am not one to be too fond of labels, I can always say that I am a vegetarian. Over the last few years, my eats have been primarily fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, nuts and seeds. The last year of college in Boston, I spent many hours at the farmer’s markets and the ritual continued as I ventured home to New York and Michigan for the spring, summer, and fall. This past winter has proven difficult to eat local, but now as the warm weather progresses, I am yet-again counting down the days until the summer berries come from within my state. Epicurious has a great seasonal produce map but nothing beats a visit to the farmer’s market, and I can’t wait to see what local goods I can find this weekend.

A few documentaries I have seen recently:

No Impact Man

I liked the concept of trying to have as little environmental impact as possible (especially in New York City) but at some points, I felt as though he was picking and choosing his own rules on sustainability. The film doesn’t give any real suggestions on eco changes we can make in our own lives but seems more of a motive to sell his book. The part that I was most intrigued by had to do with how the relationship with his wife evolved as they worked on this goal together. She started as a woman who didn’t ever cook her own meals to someone who wanted to know where each ingredient came from and how to prepare meals to satisfy her family.

FOOD, INC.

This documentary was definitely a must-see. It exposes America to the large factory farms that are dominating the farming industry and the conditions the animals are forced to live in during their short lives. The film is a great piece of investigative journalism. The reality of food-borne illnesses and genetically modified foods is brought to our attention, and we can no longer ignore it.

The Botany of Desire

I have to admit, I am a die-hard Michael Pollan fan. His newest book, Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual, simplifies the way we as humans should be eating for our health and our environment. The most straightforward rule is “Eat food, not too much, mostly plants.” Years ago I read “The Botany of Desire” and loved the way it focused on how four distinct plants may have used their desirable traits to keep the species alive. The history of each plant, the apple, the potato, marijuana, and the tulip is investigated and Michael Pollan keeps us enthralled from start to finish.

Lastly, I want to share some delicious eats I have had of late.

-I have been making vegan pancakes for a while and always come back to Moby’s spelt blueberry pancakes with some banana slices added in the batter and drizzled with organic maple syrup.

-Like many other bloggers, I am loving Angela’s “In a Jiffy Spelt Burgers.”

-I ate one wrapped up with sprouts, cucumber and my favorite organic ketchup alongside a baby romaine, carrot, beet and cabbage salad drizzled in a balsamic dijon vinaigrette.

– The Early Bird Granola is the best granola I have ever tasted…and made. I have sent it to friends and family members with such excitement this past month. (sorry, this is a blackberry photo!)

-I am loving my new spiralizer from One Lucky Duck and many raw treats.

-My best Christmas present this year has inspired me to try as many raw juice combos as possible. Any favorites?

I hope to find the time to take more photos this weekend of excursions and eats. It is so great to be blogging again.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emma said, on April 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    on the raw juice… ginger beet carrot= yummmmm

  2. shannon (the daily balance) said, on April 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    “but at some points, I felt as though he was picking and choosing his own rules on sustainability” — haven’t seen this documentary, but behavior like this drives me BONKERS.

    The Botany of Desire looks extremely interesting, I’m definitely going to check that out, so thanks for sharing!

    p.s. that granola looks outstanding!

  3. Astrid said, on April 21, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I recently watched No Impact Man. I love it. I love the idea of reducing consumption and waste. My favorite idea is just eating locally grown foods and foods from the bulk bins. I could definitely do that. I am not a veggie, but more of a “flexitarian” if you can accept that term! Just found your blog and like it a lot!


Leave a Reply

