A Fresh Dille

savory days

Posted in FOOD, Uncategorized, VEGAN by clairedille on April 27, 2010

Sometimes I go through phases where I just feel like making main courses or side dishes of the savory variety. Truthfully, most days I tend to favor baking or playing around with the more sweet ingredients to make tasty treats. Over the weekend I knew that I would have to prepare some meals for work to try and ward off the crankiness that comes with my hunger (wrote about last week). Keeping myself well fed is a top priority of mine and when looking in my purse, you will always find a snack in case I crash. Interestingly, I’ve never tested to see if I am anemic, etc. but have always been interested in getting my blood tested to see how my diet affects it.

When eyeing an extremely affordable box of organic red quinoa at Trader Joe’s last week, I knew it would be incorporated into a salad of sorts. First I roasted up some broccoli sprayed with my favorite Coconut Oil at 375 degrees for a good 20 minutes.

A Kabocha squash that has been sitting in my pantry for probably too long was cut up and roasted in a similar fashion, for a little bit longer. Too bad the season for them has come to a close, isn’t it a beauty?

Searching for a more thrilling way to prepare the Quinoa, I selected some organic light coconut milk and thai red chili paste. For one cup of quinoa, I combined one cup of coconut milk, one cup of water, one tablespoon thai red chili paste (could use more) and a few spices (salt, cumin, coriander, cinnamon) and brought to a boil. Simmering at a low heat for twenty minutes, the Quinoa was light and fluffy.

Lastly, I roasted a quarter cup of pepitas (raw pumpkin seeds) with a teaspoon of tamari (wheat free soy sauce-either works) for 5 minutes. I mixed it all up and drizzled with a mixture of sesame oil, umeboshi vinegar, grated ginger, and tamari. After one night in the fridge, all the flavors had melded together and it was the perfect lunch over a bed of baby spinach.

The other recipe I had bookmarked for weeks was Averie’s raw Kale Chips. Due to the fact that I do not yet own a dehydrator of my own, I decided to divide up my bunch into two batches. First, I washed and tore the Kale into a little larger than bite size pieces.

I followed Averie’s recipe exactly, and mixed the “cheesy” sauce with the kale with my fingers until evenly incorporated.

I spread the massaged Kale on a few parchment lined baking sheets.

One sheet was placed into an oven ranging from 125 to 175 degrees (for a few hours) and the other in the 350 degree oven (15 mins). As I knew someone quite hungry would be arriving, I wanted to make sure that one bunch was ready to eat ASAP. When my boyfriend entered, he said he smelled something “cheesy.” Of course this surprised him and he was happy to find that the taste of the Kale Chips were just as cheesy as they smelled.

Here are the remaining Kale chips from the previous night. We gobbled them up incredibly fast with tempeh bacon, vegenaise, spinach, and sprout wraps and baked sweet potato chips (yes, two chips in a night!). Because of poor lighting and increasing hunger, I was unable to snap a photo until today. I can’t wait to make these again for more people. I know my father will be a fan.

I give major props to Averie for this recipe, it really is a must-try! She also has some great words of wisdom on raising a child and making unconventional choices.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on April 27, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Oh what a great job on the kale chips and thanks for the closing sweet words 🙂 you’re too kind!

    Glad they were a hit w/ the fam and that everyone liked them! yay! and that they worked for you in an oven. I tell ppl they will but no one believes me. You just have to be patient, as you were and cook in the 100-150 range. Same as a dehyd but in an oven.

    Great job on these!!

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      I think my patience with the ones cooking at a low heat was due to the fact that we were already munching on the ones cooked at the higher heat…but if I was out, then I am sure I could wait!

  2. Jules said, on April 28, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Loved your “savory” post! The kale chips look divine and now I’m craving roasted broccoli….may have to make up a batch for dinner!

    Great blog! 🙂

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      thanks! roasted broccoli is too good…sometimes I have to control myself from eating the whole thing…

  3. Maris (In Good Taste) said, on April 28, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    All of your recipes sound excellent, especially the squash and broccoli – so easy and simple, yet tasty!

    • clairedille said, on April 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      thanks so much! I had some leftovers for lunch today and it was still great!

  4. […] We also bought some organic spinach and three bell peppers that I am already planning on using for another batch of Kale Chips. […]

  5. […] I have to go help V make some Kale chips like the ones I made here. These are such an addicting treat and you can find the recipe on Averie’s blog. Oh, and some […]


Leave a Reply

