A Fresh Dille

gluten free week & neglected cookbooks.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 2, 2010

April went by faster than I knew it. When May came around, I wanted to have some challenge ideas to put into action but my running plans aren’t quite set in stone yet. For now, I have come up with two plans for May. The first week I have decided to eat an entirely gluten free diet, to see how it affects me. I do not have many symptoms that those with celiac disease often have before diagnosis, however, I am intrigued to see if I feel any benefits from eating gluten free. Kelsey (aka. Snacking Squirrel) wrote a great post about some reasons why people often have to eat a gluten free diet. Check it out here. I have been reading other Gluten Free blogs for a while now and here are some of my favorites that I will be referencing this week.

Simply Gluten Free

Gluten Free Girl

Gluten Free Goddess

Elana’s Pantry

For breakfast, I had some gluten free mighty tasty hot cereal with almond milk, cinnamon, banana, strawberries, ground flaxseed, and Naturally Nutty vanilla almond butter (hiding under the fruit somewhere..) while reading a pamphlet I received at Earth Day Fest.

After breakfast, I headed to the local farmer’s market where I found end of season Gala apples. I love the small size, it was the perfect pre-lunch snack.

We also bought some organic spinach and three bell peppers that I am already planning on using for another batch of Kale Chips.

Here comes tackle number two. I have a serious cookbook addiction and have to seriously hold myself back from purchasing new ones far too often. This small stack of vegan cookbooks gets neglected and this needs to change. I plan on making at least ONE recipe a week from them. It doesn’t matter which book I choose, but I just need to focus on using my own books over recipes I find online for the month of May. I think that if I get used to cooking from them more often, then I will be more likely to grab these in the future.

For lunch today, I made a wrap with my new Food for Life Brown Rice Tortillas filled with local hummus, mung bean sprouts, cucumber slices, grated carrot, avocado and siracha hot sauce. The tortilla was very different than my usual Food for Life Sprouted Tortillas. They are both very chewy, which I enjoy greatly, but the brown rice version was more smooth versus the more crunchy and apt to break sprouted variety.  On the side I ate half of a plump grapefruit.

For dinner, I plan on busting into my cookbook to make split pea soup. The Conscious Cook and Candle Cafe Cookbook both have versions that I am hoping to adapt with ingredients on hand.

Other things:

Are you interested in hearing what I plan on eating everyday I am eating gluten free? This is not usually a daily eats blog but I could post more often if others are intrigued.

Do you choose recipes online over your cookbooks more often?

Hope everyone is having a lovely Sunday!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I just bought the Candle Cafe cookbook and can’t wait to try the recipes…though I’ll definitely admit that I use the internet for recipes too! What do you think of Veganomicon? Everyone raves about it but I’m not sure I need another vegan cookbook!

    • clairedille said, on May 2, 2010 at 11:47 pm

      I think that veganomicon has some really really great recipes and it has such a huge compilation of recipes. I just wish there were more great photos… Candle Cafe is great though…chocolate mousse pie…crazy good.

  2. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 3, 2010 at 9:01 am

    girl i am so happy to see this!!!!! i am beyond excited to see ur daily eats and to hear how the week goes. yay for the brown rice tortillas!! arent they so amazing that they dont break! yea they are chewy for sure. all ur eats for the day look awesome and incredibly healthy!!! thank you for the shout out too!!!!! HUG

    xoxo ❤

  3. Katie said, on May 3, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Elana’s Pantry is one of my favorites! Even if you don’t have celiac, you can enjoy her delicious recipes!

  4. […] Spring storms are a wonderful occasion for a new soup recipe and split pea was on the agenda. As stated yesterday, I am taking on my vegan cookbooks in full force this May and The Conscious Cook won last night. […]

  5. […] Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 4, 2010 Last night I stayed true to my Gluten Free Week challenge, but was unable to document it because it I ate a wrap quickly before heading out for the night. I […]

  6. […] on May 4, 2010 Lunch rolled around before I knew it and a visit to Whole Foods to pick up some Gluten Free baking ingredients was the perfect excuse to grab some lunch. I had stowed two small apples in my […]

  7. […] but I made sure to include some (A LOT) in my breakfast this morning. I started off day four of the gluten free challenge week with the delicious GF Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, yet again. Although I changed things up yesterday […]

  8. […] also can relate to having “blogger quilt” or writer’s block. Since starting this gluten free challenge week, I have reevaluated why I choose to blog and have come up with a few […]

  9. […] had to go back and count all the days via my blog that I have been eating gluten free. Apparently, today is day seven and I am feeling wonderful. Should I be overjoyed that I can resume […]

  10. […] FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 10, 2010 I hoped to write a post last night to close off the gluten-free challenge week, but somehow never got around to it until now. So my apologies, I hope everyone had a lovely […]


Leave a Reply

