A Fresh Dille

thunderstorms cry for soup

Posted in FOOD, MAGAZINES, VEGAN by clairedille on May 3, 2010

This morning, I awoke to sunshine streaming in the windows and the Dogwood next to my window in full bloom. It pretty much feels like the perfect spring day and I can not complain. Ironically, I was just as happy to hear thunder last evening as I was cooking dinner. Spring storms are a wonderful occasion for a new soup recipe and split pea was on the agenda. As stated yesterday, I am taking on my vegan cookbooks in full force this May. The Conscious Cook won last night. Split pea soup is a definite comfort food in my book (probably for everyone else too) and I really do enjoy Trader Joe’s and Amy’s versions from time to time. Last night, however, I was excited to try a recipe that had more innovative flavors than the traditional recipes. Tal Ronnen’s recipes tend to be more of the haute variety so I knew this recipe wouldn’t disappoint, being a fancier twist on a classic favorite.

I followed the recipe with the exception of a few ingredients that somehow slipped out of my Whole Food’s bag or cart. Shallots were then switched to half an onion, and rosemary to thyme. The taste was complex and smoky with the addition of smoked paprika and topped with chipotle cream. Cashew cream is always tasty, but blended with lime, chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, and vegenaise made for a tasty sauce.

I can’t share the recipe with you but I promise you it is a crowd pleaser. If you are looking for a comprehensive and beautiful cookbook, think about this one. I think that the recipes take more time than your average meal, but for one night a week, it is great. You could also try one of the recipes he made featured on Oprah or two found on The Daily Green (here and here).

My photographs really don’t do the recipe justice but here are some I took today for lunch.

I haven’t forgotten about the Gluten Free challenge either. With my lunch, I munched on a massive mango that was too messy to capture with my camera.

For breakfast, I went with the GF Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, but should have upped the serving size because I was hungry for lunch earlier than normal after a sweaty workout. The cereal was cooked with my favorite almond milk, half a banana, and stevia. Later, I topped it with more banana, dried cherries, Naturally Nutty cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter, cinnamon, and hemp seeds. YUM!

Other things:

A trip to the library resulted in magazine heaven at my house this past week. For a magazine writing and publishing major in college, I have really been disrespectful to the printed word these past few months. My only current subscription is to Runner’s World, but I love to look at all magazines having to do with fashion, food, health, travel, etc. If I didn’t move as much in the past few years, I am sure my collection would be even more ridiculous than it already is.

I read an interesting article in Body + Soul about seeds and why we should add them to our diet. The nutrient deficiencies in my vegetarian diet has never really been an issue for me (that I know of). A few years ago, when still eating animal protein, I found myself having horrible leg cramps or charlie horses, if you will. They are caused by an electrolyte imbalance or low levels of minerals, such as potassium or calcium. I was worried. Years have passed since I have had a similar calf cramp but I still feel like I should be aware of the vitamins that many plant based diets do not always obtain enough of. The vitamins that vegetarians can overlook are found in these seeds, and I plan on trying to eat more of them. Here is a brief summary:

hemp seeds – 24% of your daily recommended protein, perfect balance of amino acids

pumpkin seeds – plenty of protein, energy producing magnesium, 1/4 cup = 1/3 daily recommended zinc

sesame seeds – cholesterol lowering phytosterols, rich in iron, copper, & selenium

chia seeds – loaded with omega 3 fatty acids, calcium, & antioxidants, 1 oz = 43% daily recommended fiber

flaxseed – powerful cardio protective nutrients, omega 3’s, fiber, & lignans

sunflower seeds – 1/4 cup = 82% daily recommended vitamin E, 34% daily recommended selenium, 20% daily recommended folate

Do you try to incorporate seeds into your daily diet?

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on May 3, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    that soup looks awesome.

    Great info on the seeds; I have flaxseed meal regularly and chia seeds once in a while, but I love pumpkin and sunflower seeds. This may have given me the motivation to buy some!

  2. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 3, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    so glad people are jumping on board the gluten-free challenge week! its so exciting!

    and u got the GF hot cereal! yay 🙂 yea compared to oats.. it isnt very filling.. i make a bigger portion too otherwise its true.. it really doesnt fill u up as well.

    and omg that soup looks and sounds divine. :):):) xoxo ❤

  3. caronae said, on May 3, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Hello! I just found your blog 🙂 I have to say, you are wrong about your photos; they DO do it justice! Girl, you made that soup look divine. I love how you have each ingredient laid out separately. It sounds like a perfect spring lunch or dinner. Mmmmm.

    The only seed I usually eat is chias, although I’ll eat other seeds if they’re in a trail mix. They are tasty though! Maybe I should incorporate some more…

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 4, 2010 at 12:58 am

    yes- uve gotta try out gf muffins. that would be crazy fun. hehe have fun with ur boy ❤ xoxo

  5. Katharina said, on May 4, 2010 at 10:06 am

    That’s one of my favorite (if not my favorite) cookbooks. I highly recommend making the agave-lime grilled tofu with asian slaw and mashed sweet potatoes. I’ve made the mashed sweet potatoes multiple times after because it was so incredible! I had a friend try the mash once and she asked for the recipe wanting to recreate it for her family for a get together.

    I wouldn’t say I really TRY to incorporate seeds into my daily diet.. it just kind of happens lol

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • clairedille said, on May 4, 2010 at 11:03 am

      I think you just inspired my dinner lady! I just bought three huge sweet potatoes and tofu yesterday…yay!

  6. […] completely forgot about adding seeds to my eats yesterday but I made sure to include some (A LOT) in my breakfast this morning. I […]

  7. […] I stuffed more of the baked sweet potato and refried bean mix from last night, spinach, and chipotle cashew cream. It was delicious, but messy yet again. Halfway through I picked up each tortilla half and ate as […]

  8. […] morning, I remembered that I wanted to incorporate more seeds into my meals, breakfast particularly. I started off with a base of gluten free mighty tasty cereal […]

  9. 6 months left… « A Fresh Dille said, on July 2, 2010 at 11:08 am

    […] in. There have been many moments in the last week where I’ve reached in the freezer for leftover soup. ATT is now in my nightmares and hopefully all issues involving scattered or non-existent internet […]


Leave a Reply

