A Fresh Dille

my hands smell of basil

Posted in ANIMALS, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on May 4, 2010

Last night I stayed true to my Gluten Free Week challenge, but was unable to document it because it I ate a wrap quickly before heading out for the night. I am still loving the Food for Life Brown Rice Tortillas that Kelsey suggested. I had a Falafel Sunshine Burger (love these), hummus, sprouts, carrot, cucumber, avocado, and hot sauce. It was delicious but I knew that the hard workout yesterday demanded for a post dinner snack before heading to V’s. Next up was a So Delicious Plain Coconut Yogurt, Puffins, and raspberries. I loved finding out that one of my favorite crunchy cereals was gluten free. It definitely makes my stomach happy.

Today, I am going to try and take more shots of my gluten-free eats. Kelsey brought up the idea of a blogger gluten free week and I would love to see others jump on the bandwagon and come up with some tasty gluten free eats. As I posted before, there are so many wonderful gluten free recipe blogs. I was astounded to read about Nicole’s first week gluten free, she really had some great affects. She also is trying a vegan diet as well which I am always a fan of and more than willing to help others transition to.

This morning, I started with some Trader Joe’s gluten free waffles. I have been buying these and never knew they were gluten free. The site has an area where you can download a pdf file of all gluten free items in the store, as well as vegan and other dietary concerns. The waffles were already in my freezer and I was more than excited to sit down to them smothered in almond butter, banana slices, and maple syrup this morning.

Look what I found in my boyfriend’s cabinets when looking for a post run snack.

Yes, Larabar heaven. I munched on a peanut butter and jelly one (it’s been too long) before observing V’s mini herb garden. In the last month or so, we have bought many seeds and a few potted herbs at the farmer’s market. So far, we have basil, cilantro, parsley, rosemary, and chives. Coming up soon are california poppies (his home state and love), tomatoes, bell peppers, and BEETS.

I cut off a significant bunch of basil, hoping to make some pesto tonight.

Some things I’ve been reading:

Brendan Brazier’s posts on G Living: I have yet to own one of his books, but this post about running fuel and recipe for Raw Apple Cinnamon Bars was wonderful. They sound just like Apple Pie Larabars with some added hemp protein and quinoa.

-Gwyneth Paltrow’s GOOP article about sleep: I have always been a terrible sleeper. It tended to get better when I was competing in cross country races, but that was because of extreme training, school, and nannying. I was beat every night. In the last year, even when working 12-14 hour days on my feet, I still find myself tossing and turning. The article discussed an elimination diet that I found very interesting, considering I am doing just that right now:

For two weeks, eliminate sugar, corn syrup, sodas, refined grains and processed foods. These are metabolic disruptors which overstress the organs involved in hormone regulation and can seriously affect your sleep cycles. In addition, avoid dairy and gluten products, especially wheat, for the two weeks as these can cause food reactions or sensitivities which can affect your sleep cycle, too.

The only thing that has helped me sleep recently is melatonin, which I know is a natural supplement, but I would love to wean off of it if possible.

-Lastly, please check out these two posts that Alicia Silverstone has written (here and here) about horse-drawn carriages in NYC. I know that it seems romantic and charming to ride on a horse drawn carriage, but please think of these poor horses being surrounded by traffic on the streets in Manhattan. When I was an intern at Harper’s Bazaar a few years ago, I would walk through Central Park everyday and see how miserable the horses were. I even almost witnessed a car hit one and was heart broken. I wish this situation would change in the near future.

Questions for you:

Do you try to make your own energy bars or buy them often?

Have you ever had sleep problems? Any sleep secrets?

How do you feel about horse drawn carriages?

Hope everyone is having a lovely Tuesday!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete said, on May 4, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I saw Brendan make some blueberry bars on a news morning show, and I’ve been wanting to make some ever since! I’m waiting until we move back to the states to buy a food processor, so I may have to wait just a tad longer than I wanted.

    I have bad sleep problems! The gluten free diet has helped the past week immensely with the sleep. I’m actually sleeping the whole night through. It is amazing!

  2. Katie said, on May 4, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Your boyfriend sounds awesome! It’s not always easy to line up your food habits with your love life.

    • clairedille said, on May 4, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      Completely agree, it definitely can be a struggle to be a vegan dating someone who isn’t…but, he is really educated about everything and understands why I choose to eat why I do. It is all about respect and open minds I think.

  3. brandi said, on May 4, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I love larabars and buy them when they’re on sale. I’ve never tried making my own, but I should!

  4. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on May 4, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Your boyf has all those Larabars in his cupboard?? He’s a keeper!

    I’ve wanted to read Brendan’s books for a while. I should just buy one because I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read online of his!

    Horsedrawn carriages in NYC are a BIG no-no in my book. Maybe in some quaint small town, but that should never been their sole purpose, even then. I mean they need exercise and they enjoy work, but they shouldn’t be used in large cities.

    • clairedille said, on May 4, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Yeah I couldn’t believe he had so many either! He likes them a lot and said he doesn’t want to see me hungry (and I think cranky…) so has snacks on hand.

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Lol so this is why u like being over at ur boyfriends place.. haha jk.

    What a FABULOUS breakfast!! totally zoomed in on the pic 🙂 yum! i just posted about ideas for a more global week of gluten free.. i was thinknig the end of may.. but may push it as a start of the summer thing.. we’ll see…

    im going to start posting more recipes instead of daily eats… so have things like gf muffins, desserts, bars, meals etc.

    xoxo<3 keep it up girl! ur doing awesome!!!! beyond proud!

  6. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 4, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    This makes me want waffles asap! And I’m thinking of doing gluten free for a day just to try it.. thank goodness larabars are ok to eat!

  7. […] basil I had brought from V’s was used to prepare vegan pesto for dinner. I used Ashley’s recipe as a guide, […]

  8. […] week with the delicious GF Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, yet again. Although I changed things up yesterday with a waffle, I am really craving some real oats. This breakfast was satisfying but two of my […]

  9. […] – I only pictured one because I later picked up two more at my boyfriends. The tropical fruit tart is not a favorite flavor but it will work when I need some fruit and nut […]

  10. Beverage Dispenser said, on December 1, 2010 at 11:47 am

    some energy bars are just too sweet for my own taste. is there a sugar free energy bar? ;:.


Leave a Reply

