A Fresh Dille

why “we blog”

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN, WRITING by clairedille on May 7, 2010

I am always interested to read why a certain blogger blogs. I also can relate to having “blogger guilt” or writer’s block. Since starting this gluten free challenge week, I have reevaluated why I choose to blog and have come up with a few thoughts.

-The community: So many blogs have me coming back for more, that at all times my google reader is filled to the brim. The commonalities between us, as well as differences is incredibly intriguing. I think Ashley coined the term “blends” for blog friends, and I like it. I also admitted in my about me section to a much too long blog hiatus that made me feel out of the loop when returning.

-The recipes: I read certain blogs mostly because I am so inspired and impressed by one’s cooking abilities. Most of you are foodies. You understand.

-The stories: Whether someone writes about their food history or their crazy day, I love to read stories. After all, I love to write and read.

-The fitness: There are days where I can not get myself to work out and feel completely uninspired. Many times, blog reading has helped this. I love to read about races and training. After being on teams for years, I am not used to creating my own workouts and schedules. Blogs definitely help with my fitness goals.

Of course, there are many other reasons I choose to blog and read blogs, but I am fairly certain I am not an every meal, every day type blogger. My career at this point in time is project to project. For the past year, I have been working 12 hour days for 2-4 months and then have had time off to recover and find another freelance position. This is a new field for me (film) and I still have many things to learn about the industry, and how to make it work with blogging. However, I really like to read daily food blogs just as much as a recipe blog or a photography blog (or both!). Hopefully, people continue to read my blog after the gluten free challenge, to continue discussion about all things related to food, fitness, eco living, travel, fashion (need to post about this soon) and many more things I love to share with the world and with others who also are into these subjects.

The last thing I feel that is important to remember: we all blog for some reason or another but should not feel like we need to conform to a certain blogging type. I have respect for all types of bloggers and even like to see them transition over time. Gracie, from Girl Meets Health, wrote a wonderful guest post for Teri’s blog that talks a lot about not comparing your self and your blog to others. Check it out here.

Before I post my eats, I will admit that the film industry has completely insane hours. Some days your call time is 5 a.m., others it is 8 p.m. When your call is at 6 p.m., then lunch is automatically 6 hours later. I have worked on films where I did not have “lunch” until midnight or later, it is a weird feeling. My boyfriend, currently working on a film, is living this way and sometimes it means I am as well. Even when not on a project. I try to eat normal hours, but when you are trying to stay up as late as possible, in order to sleep in close to call time, it is quite hard. I hope I didn’t lose any of you whether you know about the film industry, or not.

Now, onto the eats…

The late breakfast was gluten free oats cooked with chia seeds, almond milk, and banana. Afterwards I topped it off with more banana, raw creamy almond butter, and frozen berries (all I could find!).

See a small leaf from his plant? It is becoming a small jungle in his apartment. I don’t mind.

After lounging around, trying to stay calm before his late night on set (now!), I munched on an undocumented orange before heading to target and home. I may have bought something at target on sale that isn’t gluten free (oops), but I am saving them for later, no worries.

It was time for a very late lunch at 4 p.m., so I kept it somewhat light. I knew I wanted to run in the next few hours, and didn’t want to eat super late dinner. Between two sprouted corn tortillas, I stuffed more of the baked sweet potato and refried bean mix from last night, spinach, and chipotle cashew cream. It was delicious, but messy yet again. Halfway through I picked up each tortilla half and ate as soft tacos, dipping in salsa as I ate.

A small glance of the filling…

This lunch was tasty, but not as filling as I hoped. After my run, a yogurt mess was necessary. I mixed So Delicious coconut milk yogurt (the only non dairy yogurt I have liked) with original puffins, and Crofters Superfruit North America.

Before…

After messed…we all do it.

When dinner rolled around, I knew what the star ingredient would be when someone bought me this beautiful bunch of  golden beets.

Some may say that they are ugly, but I really find beets beautiful. Especially after peeling and slicing them to see the true color in full view. Look how neon they are. I peeled and cut one golden beet, as well as a red beet I already had stowed in the fridge, then sprayed them with coconut oil.

After a half an hour of roasting at 350 degrees, I added them to my already assembled rice vinegar sautéed kale and beet greens, and a quinoa-wild rice blend.

And a close up…I love when red beets bleed onto other roasting ingredients. Scarlet hued roasted vegetables are always delicious.

The chocolate chunk cookies were even better today. The coconut oil flavor was more pronounced and the chocolate was truly decadent. For dessert, I had two with a few pieces of a new-to-me flavor of Endangered Species dark chocolate, Organic Dark Chocolate with Cacao Nibs, Yacon and Acai. The flavor was good but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the grittiness from the cacao nibs. I prefer my nibs straight up and chocolate bars smooth.

My yogi tea said…

Be so happy that when others look at you they become happy too.

Some other things:

-Do you feel stressed at times due to blogging? bloggers quilt? feeling like you should be more like other bloggers? Sometimes I wish I was trained in photography, or had a better camera to document recipes, etc. with.

-Are you interested in stories that go along with a post? whether they correlate of stray on another path? Sometimes I feel posts are too wordy or too photo heavy, but then I realize, every post is different for a reason.

-Do you know anyone or you, yourself work in the film or tv industry? Did you know about “lunch” always being six hours later? My father is commercial director but those shoots are nowhere near as long or grueling. I have learned the hard way that eating in the middle of the night is more important than not eating at all when working on all-night shoots.

Kelsey reminded me today, that I should talk about how I feel as a result of eating gluten free. I will do a post at the end of the week about the affects, but so far so good. The only negative today was that I had a lack of energy in the afternoon. However, this is the first day that has happened.

Goodnight everyone. Happy Friday.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on May 7, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I loved reading your section about why you blog. I’m pretty new to this, but I’ve already been so amazed by the blogging community that exists. I think that’s the part about blogging that keeps me coming back. I personally love to read stories and informative posts (maybe because I tend to be wordy so I can relate to others who are too haha)…and then there are other blogs I read just because I love their recipes or their different food “concoctions”.

    That being said, I DO get stressed out sometimes because of it…or feel guilt for not posting/following up with other’s blogs as much as I would like. My schedule doesn’t allow me to post everyday and it’s hard not to feel the pressure to get something out there. And I will admit that I totally have camera-envy when I see amazing pictures on other people’s blogs (also — yours are always great! I don’t know what you’re talking about! :)) But then I just have to step back and remember WHY I’m blogging and how much fun I have when I do write posts…which then makes the stress and guilt go away. 🙂

  2. Elise said, on May 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I want to reach right into my computer monitor and grab that beet, kale, and quinoa salad. So colorful and enticing!

    I never would have thought of mixing up yogurt with cereal and fruit preserves. What a great idea! So Delicious coconut milk yogurt is the best, isn’t it?

  3. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 7, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    i just posted about blogging right now.. and how im having a hard time with balancing it and real life.

    btw i loved what u wrote and i thought it was amazing. i know exactly what ur talknig about. im looking forward to that post about how you feel.. and im glad it seems to be going fairly well with only a mino energy dip recently for the first time. those cookies are droolable and perfectly paired with chocolate. LOVE the yogurt mish mash too. hehe turns purple when u mix it. and i appreciate anyone who takes the time to roast veggies in the oven. you rock!!!

  4. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 7, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    This is such a great post.. and those beets are SO pretty! I agree with you on wishing I had a better camera/photos. I think your photos are awesome though!

  5. Katherine: What About Summer? said, on May 8, 2010 at 5:33 am

    I love all the colors in you foods!

    I think genuine stories in posts are nice (recipe stories are adorable, I think) but genuine posts are nice too. that’s a good quote from your tea. I love seeing pictures of smiling people on blogs as a reminder to get my butt out and find some happy people to be with.

    best,
    Katherine

  6. […] Posted in FOOD, gluten free by clairedille on May 8, 2010 It was great to read your responses on why “we blog.” It seems that many of you also get bloggers guilt/stress or compare yourself to others bloggers […]

  7. Katie said, on May 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Great post, Claire. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in some of the stress that comes with blogging (feeling you HAVE to comment, posting at regular times, keeping things interesting, etc.) that it’s easy to forget why it is we actually started! I keep my blog for many reasons: to share my love of food, to collect ideas from others in the community, to get my thoughts in order (among others). Sometimes I need to take a break, though, and I think that’s okay, too.

  8. […] is already pretty wordy, so I will just leave with you with some Sunday eats. When I wrote about why “we blog,” I admitted that I don’t feel I am necessarily a daily eats type blogger, but I must say that […]

  9. […] near my old days of activity heading into this appointment. Wow, was I wrong. I have talked about my current career choice recently, and how it often keeps me running around all day but I had no idea it has also kept my […]

  10. Behind the Blog: Claire « said, on June 25, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    […] I definitely was away much too long! 3. What do you love / hate about blogging? I posted about why “we blog” and I truly feel that it gives me such satisfaction knowing that there are so many others with […]

  11. Kelly said, on June 25, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Love the commentary, I got directed here by behind the blog and I think this is very insightful. I am soooo guilty of comparing myself and my blog to others, this is a good reminded to stay true to who I am.


Leave a Reply

