A Fresh Dille

seven days gluten free.

Posted in FOOD by clairedille on May 8, 2010

It was great to read your responses on why “we blog.” It seems that many of you also get bloggers guilt/stress or compare yourself to others bloggers sometimes as well. A few of us may get photo envy but it is important to remember that photos don’t define your blog and one day without a story to go with your post won’t keep your readers from coming back. Thank you so much for your opinions.

I had to go back and count all the days via my blog that I have been eating gluten free. Apparently, today is day seven and I am feeling wonderful. Should I be overjoyed that I can resume eating all whole grains that I normally would? The thing is, I haven’t felt too constricted this week. I am not quite sure yet about what and how many foods containing gluten I will be adding to my diet, but I do know that eating gluten free is not as hard as I thought before entering this week. For my last official day of the challenge, I will be returning to the kitchen to create a meal and dessert (hint) for an early Mother’s Day celebration for tonight. Tomorrow I plan to write a recap of the entire week and how I felt compared to when I am eating my “normal” way.

Now, onto what I ate on day 6…

Yesterday morning, I remembered that I wanted to incorporate more seeds into my meals, breakfast particularly. I started off with a base of gluten free mighty tasty cereal cooked in almond milk, banana slices, and cinnamon. As you can see, they were finished off with more banana, strawberries, and pepitas (or pumpkin seeds) that were mixed with a few walnut pieces. Hiding beneath the seeds is a big scoopful of Naturally Nutty vanilla almond butter. I tend to favor the vanilla almond butter over the cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter, and I am pretty sure it comes down to the fact that I am a true almond butter lover. Both are so flavorful and the perfect accompaniment to oats. There are still many Naturally Nutty flavors I hope to try soon. Chocolate Cherry Peanut Butter, yes please!

This breakfast kept me full for hours and I was realizing that so far, this gluten free challenge has really reduced my appetite significantly. I worked out with Jillian, and then did 30 minutes of yoga without feeling fatigue. When it was time to assemble lunch, I went with a huge spinach salad adorned with some of my favorite veggies, cucumber, carrot, avocado, and beets. Annie’s tuscany italian, one of my favorite bottled salad dressings, was drizzled on on top. On the side, I had the remaining half of a sweet potato spread with hummus. I was satisfied, yet again, when finishing this meal but not overly full.

A few hours later, after working a bit, trying to find out my next project, I munched on a granola bar (similar to this one) I made a few months ago and had freezed. It was just as tasty today as the first time they were made.

Unfortunately the shot is fuzzy because a certain pup was so eager to get a bite. I successfully grabbed it ahead of time but felt so bad that I ended up giving her a nibble. This was perfect pre-run fuel for I had a nice short and easy run planned for the early evening. As I ran into my driveway, the rain and thunder was just starting, good timing.

We were heading out for a FIESTA (late cinco de mayo) party around eight so dinner was quick and easy. The last of the kale was steamed with vinegar and I heated up Trader Joe’s Punjab Eggplant and brown rice. The storm as brewing outside and I placed my plate in front of the dinner in hopes of getting any possible natural light.

Before heading out the door, I grabbed the same Endangered Species chocolate as yesterday. Who am I kidding? There is no way I can last a whole day without chocolate.

Now, I must eat a late breakfast with my boyfriend and head out for some groceries/meal plan for my family meal tonight.

Hope you are all having a lovely Saturday!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    There’s no way I can last a day without chocolate, either. Endangered Species is an awesome brand, too! Hope you have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  2. Danielle said, on May 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Hi my dear! I think I read your wonderful last post, why “we blog.” about three times yesterday but was unable to comment with all my Friday craziness. Today’s the day :).

    I blog for the community, the recipes, the stories, and the fitness, like you, but I also blog for the therapy. I feel as though my thoughts can be best expressed through writing so whether I’m on cloud nine or having a mental breakdown (ha, talk about extremes) I always feel even better after blogging. I adore the instantaneous dialogue.

    I can, of course, relate to the pressures and guilt felt by all. Blogging is quite the responsibility to take on if you’d really like to reap the complete benefits and I think it’s human nature (or at least my nature) to want to blog as “best” as I can. Remembering that I am ultimately blogging for myself and other human beings who share my interests helps to bring about perspective though. I’m not trying to rule the world, just make a slight difference in it and share my thoughts :).

    I’m glad you’re back and I look forward to following for a long time to come. Can’t wait to hear about your gluten-free challenge reflection!

    • clairedille said, on May 8, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      thanks lady! I have loved reading about all your life events leading up to graduation and definitely agree blogging is also a therapy outlet. I hope to continue blogging for a long time now…

  3. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 8, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    just wanted to say that i read that post u did on blogging guilt. i was so happy to read it u have no idea. just being able to relate and to see ur perspective was stunning. thank you thank you thank you!

    congrats on 6 days. .well 7 actually..- ur such a rockstar love! totally love how u ended the day with a nice big piece of chocolate! YUM <3. i agree too about blogging being a stress outlet.. for that short bit that i thought i wouldnt be able to blog anymore.. i ended up feeling worse! its like therapy with lots of supportive people eh! xoxo<3

  4. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on May 9, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    All of your eats look beautimous! I love that your dog was trying to sneak a bite. I don’t think my dog would go near any type of food like that- I’ve even tried giving her veggies once but she wouldn’t have it! =P

  5. Katharina said, on May 9, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Oh man those Naturally Nutty flavors never cease to amaze me. I’ve actually never tried any of them but I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in stores either. Anywho, the food looks so beautiful and fresh–I’m a sucker for vibrant colors! Oh and by the looks of that granola bar.. I don’t blame your pup for trying to sneak a bite hehehe.

    I hope you enjoyed your weekend!

    XO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on May 9, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Hi Claire
    I didnt quite realize what an AMAZING cook you are until I just spent some time on your site.
    Beets, love them, and yes the color bleed is great. Lived in San Diego for 6 yrs w/ great CSA and got GREAT beets. How i miss them.

    The chipotle cashew crm. OMG. Yum. Tomorrow i am posting someting along the cashew cream lines, stay tuned.

    The why we blog. I have posted this question many times and love reading ppls replies.

    GF challenge. My unsolicited .02 (i hate ppl like me! LOL) Why add gluten back? Just stay GF and if some gluten creeps in, so be it, but i wouldnt seek it out. After 5 yrs of GF, I can honestly say it’s the BEST thing i have ever done. Of course, I am intolerant so if i add it, i am miserable but you dont sound like you “have” to be GF.

    Ok thank you for reading my blog and for helping me find you and your great site!

  7. […] and spinach and had the remaining Trader Joe’s punjab eggplant, kale, and brown rice from the night before. A farmer’s market apple made it way in there too. We are almost done with all of them […]


Leave a Reply

