A Fresh Dille

a shift?

Posted in FASHION, FOOD, MAGAZINES, RUNNING, VEGAN by clairedille on May 22, 2010

These last few days have been pretty mentally challenging for me and it so wonderful to read the reassuring comments when life’s stresses seem to be getting in the way. It is always great for me to take a step back and maybe even try to be a little less selfish. After a phone call from a best friend telling me she was coming into town from Denver for the weekend and a visit from my boy who I haven’t been able to see since returning from Philly, my mood elevated immensely. Sometimes you just need a little cheering up and those two things were the best possible for me today.

Ashley has been raving about the (never home) maker’s banana scramble and I just knew that would have to be the topping for this mornings oats.

These were 1/3 cup  Scottish oats (still my absolute favorite) cooked in water and vanilla unsweetened almond milk for at least ten minutes. I truly feel that the longer I cook oats (or the longer oats take to cook?) the better they are. Maybe this is solely because they are more creamy. I cooked 1/4 of a large banana into the oats with half a tablespoon of chia seeds for some extra plumpness. For the banana scramble, I followed Ashley’s version, with a few alterations: 1/4 banana, excluded coconut and half a tablespoon of vanilla almond butter instead of peanut butter. This mash was so sweet that I didn’t need any stevia, agave, or maple to sweeten this morning’s oats, just a few shakes of cinnamon. The rest of our raspberries were poured on top and mashed throughout while eating.

I was really interested to read your thoughts about high fashion magazines. I love the art by the stylists, clothing designers, and photographers created for a magazine spread, but the unhealthy images can sometimes overshadow. Fashion magazines have emphasized the waif since the 60’s and 70’s. Examples are Jean Shrimpton, Twiggy, & Veruschka. Kate Moss even recently said her motto was “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels” to Women’s Wear Daily. She even admitted, “That’s one of them. You try to remember, but it never works.” Such an unhealthy motto from a model doesn’t surprise me, but it does make me sad. Another model quoted in the Telegraph shot back with “Millions of girls aspire to be like Kate Moss. These comments are shocking and irresponsible.” I definitely agree. Can you imagine the number of teen girls (and older) who aspire to be like her and read such detrimental words from someone they idealize?

Have you heard about the CFDA Health Initiative that was started in 2007? You must read this amazingly truthful diary of model Kim Noorda’s struggles with an eating disorder that was featured in Vogue this fall. Here is a great review of the article, showcasing the fact that “Every bit of Kim’s journal shows how hard it is to be in an industry, especially as an adolescent, where people criticize your appearance all day every day because all that matters is what you look like.”

In the last year, a few designers and magazines have attempted to portray healthier, more normal sized women. However, at times, I feel it can be drastic. It is often purely sample size vs. plus size with not much in between.

Vice Magazine’s “One Size Fits All” featured Jacquelyn Jablonski and Crystal Renn, two models of different sizes, in the same garments.

Mark Fast had three “average sized” women walk down the runway in his body conscious dresses.

-Karl Lagerfeld had “plus size” (in model terms) Crystal Renn walk down his Chanel Resort show runway.

It is hard for me to see a real shift happening but maybe model’s sizes are evolving into something more realistic, at least some of the time.

Now, onto my lunch…

I wasn’t too hungry for a big lunch so decided on a hummus filled wrap with extra veggies. The salad I craved couldn’t come together when I saw that we had eaten all the spinach in two days. With my sister in the house, I wasn’t surprised the spinach was gone and actually pretty happy to find that my she is just as enamored with fresh produce as I am. She mentioned that her last few weeks of school were too stressful to grocery shop, so I am sure she is loving the abundance of goods she finds in the fridge here. In the wrap was a few spoonfuls of spinach, artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, avocado, carrot, and broccoli. The rest of the broccoli I ate on the side with some of the marinade from last night’s stir fry.

During a trip to the library and fabric store, my sister and I split a Strawberry Kombucha. I realized that the Honest Tea varieties are less sour than the GT Synergy brand, but I enjoy both in different ways. A grocery stop was mandatory, but I kept my purchases to a minimum when I realized the store we went to was more expensive for some of my favorites. I grabbed some spinach for dinner, two bunches of kale, dark chocolate, oranges, a new-to-me kombucha flavor, and some vino.

I decided a peanut butter filled banana boat would do the trick for some pre-run fuel.

Yes, that is one UGly picture but I hope to change these shots tomorrow!

Before the run, I decided that I should try to run without any distractions (meaning music) for a change. A thunderstorm seemed to be looming and sometimes I forget to really focus on the run when I am listening to great tunes (some of my favorites on my running playlist are Passion Pit, Empire of the Sun, MGMT, M.I.A., and Phoenix). There were years when I ran without music because previous coaches didn’t approve. Music can aid and hinder runs for me. I definitely can feel a sense of adrenaline when a fast beat comes on and I tend to start running fast. This can lead to over-training by simply just running too fast too soon, which is a problem I’ve had on many occasions. Without music today, I had a chance to really be in the moment and concentrate on my pace. It was great to hear my labored breathing and my feet hit the road, but it was also challenging. I tried to maintain a steady pace and for the distance, I felt it was harder without music. I guess I may have to include more running without music days so I can get used to my own rhythm again. When I got back, I felt such an amazing sense of accomplishment that I might not normally feel with my Ipod strapped on. I grabbed my pups leash and she ran out with me for a short cool down followed by a walk around the neighborhood. The thunder started within the last block and a few raindrops hit my nose as I ran across the driveway.

Dinner was served.

After some light yoga stretching alongside Bessie (my pup always likes to lie right down on the mat), I threw together one of my favorite summer salads. Baby Spinach with carrots, tomatoes, avocado, chickpeas, tempeh bacon, chickpeas, and pepitas was tossed with goddess dressing and apple cider vinegar. Sea Salt might have made its way on there too. In the warmer months, I eat this combination often for lunch. Other staples I tend to include are beets and cucumber.

Of course chocolate was involved.

Although it was pretty humid out, I felt like a nice bath tonight. I don’t treat myself to them that often but every few months it is just what my muscles need.

Other things:

– How do you feel about the CFDA health initiative? Do you think there may be a shift to include more healthy models in the future, if not yet? Were you surprised to see that Vogue featured an article about a model‘s struggles to maintain her unhealthy body weight? I find it reassuring to actually see that designers and magazine editors are more and more aware (and admitting it) of the unhealthy effects of the industry. Instead of hiding these instances, it is great that they are bringing them up and maybe even changing some things. I don’t know how much WILL actually change but even just including Kim Noorda’s diary regarding her eating issues because of the fashion world in Vogue’s pages is a big step.

-Have you read Gena’s guest posts (part 1 and part 2) on the Eat the Damn Cake blog? I loved to finally read her personal story and her choice to opt out. I hope you read both these posts. Gena has a way with words that I adore.

– Do you run with or without music? or a mix of both? Do you feel music improves or hinders your running?

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ashley said, on May 22, 2010 at 3:23 am

    So glad you tried the banana scramble!! I don’t use any sweetener either..the banana is enough! I really like using a combo of oats + coconut to bind it together…ground flax meal would be good too..or chia! Ahhh so many options! 😉 I also realized the same thing about the kombuchas! I’ve just tried 2 other brands too…High Country [local colorado] and 1 other…GT’s is still my fav!

  2. healthyexposures said, on May 22, 2010 at 7:05 am

    you so need to get over here and cook for me! everything looks so fresh and delicious. I’m about to bookmark that banana scramble and read up of the cfda health initiative, too. i would love to see more average-sized women in magazines and runways, and think every body type should be showcased, not JUST skinny. I realize people can be skinny and perfectly healthy – don’t get me wrong – but there’s tons of women walking around in a size 10 that work out everyday and are perfectly healthy too.
    And I’m glad you’ve got a visit from a friend and the boy in store – I agree, sometimes just relaxing with the people we love does the trick 🙂 Enjoy your day!!

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on May 22, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I think the initiative is great, but that it won’t do much. Models=clothes hangers. That is their purpose, and no one can deny it…to expect designers to suddenly start using size 10 women, no matter how beautiful they are, is unreasonable. I think it’s first important to focus on making sure those models are not dangerously thin, but just slim. I did read that article in Vogue and thought it was really interesting…what a twisted world the modeling industry is!!

  4. therabbitrunner said, on May 22, 2010 at 8:57 am

    so all of your food is making me super hungry 🙂 haha that wrap looks amazing and everyone knows a banana + nut butter makes the BEST snack. ever. haha

    i really liked Gena’s guest post too because to me she exudes confidence and its really cool to see how she doesn’t care what others think, which allows for her to really get to know herself and who she is instead of trying to conform.

  5. Amanda @ . seek . said, on May 22, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I think it’s great when fashion magazines put out those kind of articles, but I also believe that they do it more to try and silence the criticism they receive for promoting an unhealthy body image than they do it to promote actual change.

    I hate to be pessimistic and I wish it weren’t the case, but a high fashion mag putting out one article on ED’s in the modelling industry while the rest of the mag is devoted to pictures of stick thin women is kind of laughable. To me, it just kind of says “See? We ARE doing our part to raise awareness about ED’s; now get off our backs for promoting an unhealthy body image and look at the rest of these “beautiful” skeletal girls”.

  6. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on May 22, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    mm that salad looks fabulous!!

    i usually run with music because it helps me zone out and stay motivated. i tried last time to run without music.. and i ended up walking more and feeling more tired! so i think it makes a big difference to me.

    thanks too for posting the link to the article about the model suffering from an ED. i actually never heard about this model or her struggles so im so glad to read it, gonna do that now!!! thank you ❤

    xoxo

  7. lisasfoods said, on May 22, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Love that banana – I usually just scoop blobs of peanut butter right onto the banana, but your method looks more neat and tidy.

    I go back and forth with music and exercise. I just recently started running with music, which makes it harder for me to keep a steady pace, but it does keep me more motivated.

  8. Mandiee said, on May 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Everything on here looks so delicious. Honestly, I can’t single one thing out because they all sound amazing! I’m so glad I found your blog and enjoy reading it every day. I actually just noticed that you stopped by Plum. I feel a little awkward asking such a personal question, but do you live in Michigan (since obvi Plum is only in MI)? I live right near a Plum and was wondering if we’re anywhere close. It’s just so exciting to me to find bloggers in my area that have similar interests.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

    • clairedille said, on May 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

      I do! I moved back here for work in the fall from NY. My parents live in Birmingham and my boyfriend lives in Detroit. Plum is fun but definitely more pricey than TJ’s, the ferndale and royal oak natural food stores, and even Whole Foods.

  9. Natalie @ cinnamonbums said, on May 22, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    I am really in support of the CFDA health initiative.. i read Kim Noorda’s diary and thought it was great that she allowed that to be published – and that Vogue actually published it because I felt like it shed a lot of light on the horrible pressures of the modeling industry – and also how that pressure trickles down to affect so many women all over the world. I have a few good friends in the modeling industry, who are really at the top of the industry, and food is basically their life – as one of them said to me, “food is one of the only things i have control over” – and it causes them sooo much stress, especially because for many females in the modeling industry, that kind of rail-thin body does not come naturally. i think the CFDA health initiative, along with movement towards a greater acceptance of all kinds of bodies (and we really need to change that term “plus-size” don’t we?! those are normal bodies, not “plus-size”!), can really help to change our and the fashion industry’s perspective on body sizes.

  10. double take. « A Fresh Dille said, on May 25, 2010 at 2:31 am

    […] with almond milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and whipped with banana while cooking. I decided that more banana mash(scramble?) had to make its way back into my stomach, for the third day in a row. This time it was mixed with […]

  11. […] breakfast of banana scramble! This idea was inspired by several blogs, such as (never home)maker, a fresh dille and the edible perspective. The execution didn’t go very well, the “patty” fell […]


Leave a Reply

