A Fresh Dille

two bits of bad news = two delicious breakfasts

Posted in FOOD, TRAVEL, VEGAN by clairedille on June 9, 2010

I spoke too soon. After blogging last about my excitement that we were heading to Martha’s Vineyard and getting a new camera the day before, two dreams were crushed within a few hours on Monday night. Maybe I jinxed myself by writing all about it in the last few posts. I guess I’ve learned my lesson. The reason we weren’t able to head east early this morning is very justified (work opportunities for V) but I can’t admit that I wasn’t extremely upset. My father had printed a map of the island and pinpointed a few of my favorite things to do while there. Hopefully we can fit in one trip to MV this summer because I would love to share my experiences and memories with V, as well as make some new ones. The camera situation is another story that has to do with timing. We are planning on using earnings from the recent shoot for the new dSLR and it seems like it may be a few more weeks till I can have my hands on one. In the meantime, it is back to our little digital’s.

My last two breakfasts have been attempts to make myself feel better. I won’t lie. I am a sensitive pisces who may not be the best at hiding my emotions. Instead of dwelling on things I can’t change, I decided to make something I knew wouldn’t fail. As of late, this lady’s waffles have been calling my name, and I made one very similar to this recipe. With a few substitutions (more flax for wheat germ, coconut milk yogurt for greek) they turned out wonderfully. There was one thing though, they didn’t look too hot. I must have a much deeper and larger waffle iron than the one Jess uses for her beauties. Although they didn’t look ideal, they sure tasted it.

Next time, I plan on using half the waffle iron instead of pouring the mix into the center. I am sure that would make two grand waffle squares. These turned out darker than all waffles I have made in the past, but this might be because of the oaty mixture. They were delicious, topped with a mashed banana, vanilla almond butter, more banana, agave, and raspberries.

For lunch, I opted for a simple eggplant, kale, cherry tomato, and hummus wrap with an apple. I was still in denial we weren’t Vineyard-bound and ate it while observing the map.

Not in the mood for cooking dinner, I had some Amy’s Split pea soup with a little too much sriracha and a great new bar. I’ve been eyeing these Bumble Bar’s for a while now and this was truly yummy. This Cherry Chocolate flavor had flakes of coconut that I loved, but I gobbled it up too fast to photograph.

Recently, I’ve been really into the mashed banana topping on oats but I still like to cook my oats with thin slices of banana. This morning I had oatmeal with banana used in three different ways.

This was 2 T steel-cut oats, 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/3 sliced banana, and flax topped with a vanilla almond butter and banana mash with more banana slices and raspberries. This was another winning oatmeal breakfast. I feel the banana adds enough sweetness and V was also a fan with the addition of some local honey.

Today I have decided that it is not worth being upset about plans not following through. We have already been discussing a trip to Guatemala after the next few work-filled months.

Now I have to go help V make some Kale chips like the ones I made here. These are such an addicting treat and you can find the recipe on Averie’s blog. Oh, and some Always Sunny in Philadelphia is definitely going to be involved.

Hope you all are having a wonderful week.

Other things:

-How do you react when travel plans fall through? Of course it depends on the reason why things fall through, but sometimes it is hard to hide disappointment.

-Do you have a go-to waffle recipe? The recipe was just like oatmeal poured on a hot waffle iron, so I am not surprised I loved it so much. I would love to hear about some more though!

31 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Evan Thomas said, on June 9, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Aww, so sorry. But life has a way of balancing itself out, so maybe there’s 2 bits of great news in your future!

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on June 9, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I’ve definitely had a few travel disappointments, and I think the best way to deal with them is to plan something fun for the days you would have been on the trip. It gives you something to look forward to!!

  3. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on June 9, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I am so sorry Martha’s Vineyard didn’t work out! But like you said, there will be other opportunities to go. On the bright side, your waffles look gorgeous! I need you to make me some because I always fail… hence why I rely upon boxes of Nature’s Path frozen waffles =P

  4. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife said, on June 9, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Sorry for the bad things, but at least you get to watch some It’s Always Sunny! That show is PURE HILARITY!!

  5. Kelsey said, on June 10, 2010 at 12:08 am

    that was the first bumble bar flavor i tried! i really loved the bitterness of the cherries with the mildly sweet chocolate.. its got a tang to it which is so good!

    awe two crushed dreams 😦 its okay, there will be 2 better ones to take its place…!!!

    ❀

  6. Nora@LifeLifeEatRight said, on June 10, 2010 at 12:46 am

    I’m so jealous that you got to go to Martha’s Vineyard! I haven’t been there in ages and am dying to go back! That waffle looks amazing! Whenever we have waffles at my house, my dad usually has a go-to box mix haha!

  7. lisasfoods said, on June 10, 2010 at 6:31 am

    I’m sorry things didn’t work out. Hopefully this summer you’ll be able to bring V.

    I don’t do well with changed plans. I think that I get my heart set on something, so when it doesn’t work out, I get disappointed, and it shows. I’m trying to be better about this, because there are always things to look forward to. (Like Guatemala, which would be incredible…)

  8. healthyexposures said, on June 10, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Aw, bummer about your trip and the camera situation 😦 I am sure it will ALL work out in the end, though. You mentioned the d90 – also a great camera, what I shoot my “real” stuff with πŸ˜› I agree with you – the d5000 is much more user friendly to someone who is learning a dSLR, but it sounds like the boy knows a lot about cameras and wouldn’t have a problem πŸ™‚ The MAIN difference b/w the 5000 and 90 is that the d90 has the autofocus motor in the camera, and doesn’t rely on the lens for it. That and more buttons and bulk.

    My waffles get funky edges, too – but I think you must have a larger, deeper waffle iron so it just didn’t spread out much. I usually get two waffles out of the batter. And girl, now I have a serious dilemma – do I want waffles or oats this morning?!

    p.s. I’m a sensitive pisces, too πŸ˜‰

    • clairedille said, on June 14, 2010 at 12:26 am

      Yeah, I think the boy knows a lot more than me about camera’s and wants one where he can film a lot of HD videos too. I am sure with a little time I could learn to use either…but the bulk through me off at first!

      what is your bday lady?

  9. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 10, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Aww I’m sorry to hear that your travelling plans fell through, hun, and I really do hope that you’ll get a chance to go to Martha’s Vineyard this summer. I’m really sensitive to those kinds of disappointments as well, and it’s hard to hide my displeasure, so I tend to get really mopey for a while until I find something else to be happy about. As for the camera situation, it sucks that you have to wait a bit longer, but at least you’ll be getting one, and it’s well worth the wait πŸ™‚

    I’ve always preferred pancakes to waffles so I don’t really have a go-to recipe at the moment, but I am keeping my eyes open for one, because it would be nice to have a little variation πŸ™‚

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better, hun ❀

  10. Kelly said, on June 10, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Oh bummer…sorry about your traveling plans falling through! But hopefully you will get another chance soon! πŸ™‚

  11. mapledreams said, on June 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I really hope you get to fulfil those plans over the summer! i hate it when plans fall through but usually (i say usually!) something good comes out of it…and waffles can’t be bad, can they πŸ˜‰ x

  12. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble said, on June 10, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Have travel vacations fall through are a totally bummer! I’m totally with you and feeling sad for ya. Maybe you can find a fun way to have a stay-cation at home instead, like check out some museums or hangout with friends and cocktails by the pool!

  13. sophia said, on June 10, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Oh no! I am so sorry…I would most certainly be very upset…I’m not good with dealing with failed plans. But I love your positive attitude, and the way you brush it off and decide not to let it spoil your summer.

  14. julie said, on June 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    seriously everytime i see waffles on someones blog it makes me so depressed that i don’t have a waffle maker! love your wafs!!

    sorry about martha’s vineyard girl! but i’m sure you’ll get out there soon enough πŸ™‚

  15. Mandiee said, on June 10, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that you did not go after all! Although it is disappointing, at least you will probably get to go soon. Don’t fret too much because it will be much more enjoyable once V can relax, too, and not have to worry about missing a business opportunity. And hey, now you will have something to look forward to.

    We must have been channelling each other because I just made Jess’ waffle recipe, too. However, it didn’t work out so well and I ended up just making a new batch and turning them into pancakes. Total yum! Man, I really need to get some Ezekiel tortillas! I keep seeing them on your blog and wanting them so much more! I would love it if you could do a post on your favorite wraps or something like that. Everything you make seems to be something that I would love to eat myself!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

    • clairedille said, on June 14, 2010 at 12:28 am

      that is such a great idea…that was my last ezekiel wrap of the moment but when I get more I will write a post of some of my fav. combos!

  16. Katie said, on June 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I’m sorry about your trip 😦 I was planning to go away this weekend too with Ari’s family but I can’t because I have to work… so I’m staying behind. Oh well.

    I really like Trader Joe’s multigrain pancake/waffle mix… I like to add pumpkin and chia to the batter. Here’s the recipe for pancakes (but I’m sure they’d work for waffles, too):

    http://lilveggiepatch.com/2010/02/06/restaurant-week-and-morning-pancakes/

  17. […] And I saw waffles. “My” waffles, actually – that the lovely Claire made and turned out beautifully. […]

  18. Katherine: What About Summer? said, on June 10, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I get so flustered when plans fall through! my ‘go to’ recipe is going to the freezer section of the grocery store unfortunately haha yours still look better than that!
    Katherine

  19. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on June 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    thanks for the kale shout, by now, you’ve long since made and devoured them πŸ™‚

    SO SORRY about your travel and camera sitch. I have had my share of Scott’s work totally interrupting, i.e. “ruining” our plans. From dinners to trips to time on the couch. 12 yrs later, its better than it used to be and i am better at dealing but yes, i understand and am so sorry!
    xo

  20. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) said, on June 11, 2010 at 5:08 am

    I am so sorry about your trip. No matter how you look at it, its a bummer! I love MarthaΒ΄s Vineyard. I have not been there in YEARS, but when I lived on the East Coast we went a few times (my mom has 10 brothers and sisters all over New England, so Cape Cod/MV were good meeting points!) I love The Black Dog. Ironically, I donΒ΄t even think the food is that good… but there is just something about it that is amazing.

    I hate when travel plans fall through. I am a big traveler, so I get so bummed out! But ironically, sometimes it turns out to be for the best. Or, use the time that you thought you would be traveling to do something that you have always wanted to but never have, right there where you are.

  21. wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas said, on June 11, 2010 at 7:06 am

    So sorry to hear that your plans fell through. Unfortunately, I am at a place in my life where I can’t travel much, so my plans don’t fall through, but I guess it’s just as disappointing that I can’t make plans in the first place. Especially when my closest friend spends weeks at a time out of the country! My first trip with my husband will be next summer when we take my son to the beach for the first time. Right now he would just eat sand.

    Those waffles look right up my alley. I made waffles one time with crumbled bacon and cheddar in the batter. They were fantastic!

  22. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) said, on June 11, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Oh no, sorry to hear about your trip! I get so sad when plans I am looking forward to fall through. I had to cancel on a family trip this summer due to funds and timing. It made me sick! Your waffles look amazing. I love Jess’s ideas! Your oats look delicious too! I have been craving bananas lately…I need to give your banana overload oats a try! Keep your chin up and enjoy your weekend!

  23. Michelle said, on June 11, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    That’s so upsetting that MV didn’t go through. I just get angry if any plans don’t go through. I always have this want for my life to be perfectly planned out.

  24. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on June 11, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    So sorry to hear your trip to the Vineyard fell through. I would be disappointed too! I get really excited whenever I have a plan to do something (anticipation is half the fun!), and so I’m also pretty sensitive when it ends up not working out. And I have a really hard time hiding my disappointment.

    But there will be other opportunities in the future, and a potential trip to Guatemala sounds amazing!!

    Also, both of your breakfasts look delicious! Hope they helped cheer you up somewhat.

  25. Megan Gordon said, on June 13, 2010 at 2:54 am

    Aw…sorry to hear your travel plans fell through! Hopefully something will open up for the summer. I went to grad. school in Boston, and loved visiting Martha’s Vineyard. Such a magical place! Love how you started spoiling yourself with fabulous breakfasts. Good for you. Hope your weekend’s been filled with more good breakfasts and sunshine!

  26. Simply Life said, on June 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    wow, I am drooling over those waffles!

  27. Katharina said, on June 13, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Things will start looking up πŸ™‚ But I’m sorry that things aren’t going your way right now. I know this may sound cheesy but I believe that saying things out loud is really empowering and maybe that will help. Also not hiding your emotions is more of a blessing than being able to hide them. I think it’s much better for your soul in the long run.

    ANYWAY, you gave me an idea with mixing steel cut-oats with regular oats. I never thought of that! And I’m totally with you on the kale chips. I’ve made them for my parents and my roommate as well and they always ask for more! In fact, when I was visiting my roommate’s parents’ place she got a bundle of kale and we made them for her family πŸ˜€ It was so cute and brought the biggest smile to my face.

    1. I am sad at first, but I get over it pretty quickly. I think when travel plans don’t work out it’s best not to push it. It’s a cliche idea, but “things happen for a reason.”

    2. Girl, if I had a waffle-maker I would :\

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  28. cafecouture said, on June 13, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Having plans, especially travel/vacation plans, fall through is so disappointing. The build up of excitement crashes, and you just feel sad. I’m so sorry this happened! But I’m sure something surprising will pop up & fill in your previous plan’s space.

    Lovely looking breakfasts. Raspberries! ❀

  29. BitterSweet said, on June 14, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I actually love how crispy those waffles look- Seems perfect to me! Those breakfast would certainly help to cheer me up at least.


Leave a Reply

