A Fresh Dille

father’s day waffles.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on June 20, 2010

my sis, me, and my dad

As I write this, I am sitting with my father watching the World Cup. Since my brother lives out west in LA, I am the one who usually watches sports with him these days. The two we enjoy most are Tennis and “Football.” My dad typically enjoys his British-style breakfasts, but I decided to try to switch up the Father’s Day meal this morning with some delicious waffles à la Jessica. In the past I’ve mentioned my father, and his affinity for breakfast with eggs.

Since I am not too into making bacon & eggs, here is what I made. My sister made the bacon.

I didn’t stray too much from Jessica’s recipe, except for puffed brown rice for puffed millet and light coconut milk for greek yogurt. These were delicious but unfortunately I forgot the baking powder again. The deep waffle iron in my parents home tends to grab onto the waffles with its dear life but once I managed to peel each waffle off and pour on a maple, almond butter, and coconut milk sauce, they were very tasty (although a little overcooked).

Now it is time for the farmer’s market. I hope everyone is having a wonderful father’s day with your Dad!

Tagged with: , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ameena said, on June 20, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Your dad looks like such a sweet, caring person, which is obviously where you got your very kind nature as well. Beautiful pictures of you guys. I hope you have a fantastic Sunday and Father’s Day as well Claire!

    Oh, and he reminds me a bit of Steven Spielberg??

  2. Eliza said, on June 20, 2010 at 11:39 am

    🙂 your father looks like such a nice man, and i love those photos so much they are really wonderful, and you are adorable and so pretty!!
    That is so lovely that you made your father those delicious waffles for father’s day, he is one lucky dad to have such a beautiful, thoughtful, and such an amazing girl as his daughter!
    have a great time at the farmer’s market, sounds like a perfect way to spend father’s day!

    all my love
    xx
    eliza

  3. healthyexposures said, on June 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Great pictures! I’m glad your getting some Dad time in 🙂
    Glad there was some waffle success in your home today, too. I wish I had a deep waffle iron – i’d love to compare the taste differences between mine, which just produces thin ones. I hope the recipe adapted well for you!
    Hope you had fun at ther farmer’s market!

  4. mapledreams said, on June 20, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    All these dad pictures are making me emotional! hehe, a lovely looking breafkast! x

  5. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    What wonderful pictures of your father! (He really does look like Steven Spielberg!). And it was so great of you to cook your dad a delicious breakfast. I did the same for mine (although not waffles) and he absolutely loved it. Like they say, the best way to a man’s heart is through his stomach 😉

    Happy Father’s Day to your dad!

  6. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries said, on June 20, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Such beautiful photos! Of your dad and your breakfast. =P
    Have a great time at the farmer’s market!

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on June 20, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Oh I am melting at the beautiful family pics!
    And love that you went to the farmers market today, too! If you like mushrooms you would have loved mine…and also kale. Omg tons!

    Have a super week, Claire 🙂 And thank you for all the lovely comments the past few posts…truly a joy to read! As for your boyf/work travels for you, if there is a will, there’s a way, and things can usually work out 🙂

    xoxo

  8. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on June 20, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Happy father’s day to your daddy! I love all the fruit on your waffles…yum. Hope your week gets off to a great start!

  9. BitterSweet said, on June 20, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    What a sweet thing to do for Father’s Day- literally! My dad also loves waffles in the morning, so I bet he would have enjoyed this sort of treat.

  10. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) said, on June 20, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    The waffles were a winner here! My boys loved them. I used a belgian waffle iron and with the baking powder, they do puff enough to get them out. This was such a sweet post. I hope your dad had a great day!

  11. […] so much for the kind words about the photos I included in my last post of my father. It is funny that a few mentioned he looked like Steven Spielburg since he is a director for […]

  12. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    i definitely like your meal much better hehe, yea cooking bacon is never fun..

    your dad has such a wicked style, i love the hat and glasses! hehe ❤

  13. Lauren @ WWoB said, on July 4, 2010 at 8:42 am

    I dont want to creep you out, but….Your father is the cutest, hippest older man I have ever seen. A w e s o m e !


Leave a Reply

