A Fresh Dille

a loaf & lots of oats.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN, WORK by clairedille on June 24, 2010

Things have been a little wild around here. Thank you so much for all the support given about my (maybe) limited blogging in the next few months, which I mentioned last week. When I spoke of freelancing, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to discuss what I do, but I figure some of you may be a little interested. My job is within the wardrobe/costume department of feature films. The film production tax incentives in Michigan started in the last few years and the industry seems to be doing very well. Who knows if the film industry will continue to film here for years to come, but Detroit needs some help and I am willing to stick around for a little bit if there is still a reason (work) for me to be here. I left NY where I was freelancing at a fashion showroom (after a few internships) to assist on my first film last summer and have learned the in’s and out’s of costuming in this last year. There have been times where I have been unsure if this was where I wanted to be, but I still enjoyed every day on set, as well as most of the prep days. There have also been times where films were limited, such as the cold winter months. Starting next week, I help the designer shop and organize to fully prepare for the upcoming film. Now, I am reading the script and getting ready for the new adventure. V is working on a different film right now, a famous sequel of sorts, that I love hearing stories about. Dating someone within the same industry is the only thing I can imagine right now. We both understand that their may be weeks of night shoots and sleeping days. Unfortunately, I have a limited social life for most 24 year olds, but I try to have as much fun each day as possible with those I work with and admire.

There has been lots of script reading in bed this week.

A massive amount of organic strawberries and raspberries took over our fridge after finding them on sale early this week. Most breakfasts have been the easy Scottish oats I love dearly. Toppings include raw almond  butter, banana mash, berries, and coconut butter.

Yesterday, I made some coconut butter when I realized I had such an abundance of large flakes. For an easy tutorial, check out Ashley’s post. It took only 5 minutes in my food processor to make the butter and tasted delicious topped on oats and sweet potatoes.

Lunches have been of the salad variety on the 90 degree days. This one featured some overly salted Whole Foods Falafel and many veggies from my farmer’s market bounty.

There may have been some lunches eaten while watching the World Cup and map observing. Yesterday, I found myself watching my two teams (England & the U.S.A.) go through to the next round. Alone, I was jumping up and down when Landon Donovan scored the only U.S. goal in overtime. Who knew I liked sports so much? Surely not me…

The Kind Diet, Alicia Silverstone’s book I adore for so many reasons (emphasis on plant-based lifestyle over “diet”) has a granola recipe called “Mom’s Granola” that my sister made and shared with me. It was wonderful but not as good as my favorite Early Bird Granola.

Still loving the slighty sour flavor of Original Coconut Milk Kefir.

But I prefer it covered in fruit, cereal, and/or granola…

Due to V’s late schedule, dinner tends to be eaten between 8 and 10 p.m., which usually means I am limited to taking leftover photos.

Jenna’s Channa Masala was made in a hurry late last night to satisfy my craving for more Indian after such a delicious Father’s Day Indian feast.

On the side, we had roasted sweet potato fries with coconut butter and roasted broccoli.

Another evening, I made another one of Jenna’s recipes, her Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf.

Which was not necessarily the most beautiful, but very tasty. The walnuts really add a great nutty flavor to each bite and the tomato, balsamic, maple glaze makes the best topping.

Well, it is back to reality for me.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful week filled with delicious eats.

Other things:

-Do you pack leftovers for lunch even though you know others will be eating a “set meal” or take-out for lunch? During prep, I hope to bring some leftovers, such as channa masala, lentil loaf, wraps, and salads. However, once filming starts I know I will probably be too busy to pack lunches since the only time I am not working, I am sleeping. Usually catering and craft services has one veg option, but often it isn’t vegan, which means I find myself eating lots of apples, bananas, oranges, and larabars (or nuts). I wish that I had more energy post work to pack something for the next day but so far it hasn’t been the case on previous shoots.

-Are you still eating warm oats or going with other options like Overnight Oats? V likes to keep the air on most of the time so it is cold enough to eat stovetop oats. I am sure that overnight oats will make their way back in my life soon though.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ashley said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Oh my word…SO many good things going on in this post!!! Your fruit is making me jealous…I haven’t been to the store since I’ve been back in CO. Must go today! I’m glad the coconut butter worked for you. It’s just way too easy! I made a similar vegan lentil loaf from the book Clean Food. I also just bought The Kind Diet and can’t wait to dive into it. Yummmmy post! 🙂

  2. healthyexposures said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    You sound like you have such a cool job 🙂 Good for you! It’s a great feeling to say “I have to work,” but with a smile on your face. Or, at least not hatred 😉
    All your meals look delicious – and I’ve seen the lentil loaf everywhere!! I really do need to try it. Maybe tonight?

  3. lisasfoods said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks for the link to that coconut butter. I never would have thought it could be made at home, and considering I’ve seen it all over the food blog world, I’d love to make it myself instead of buying a jar, to see if it’s worth all the hype.

    I don’t eat oats in the warm weather. I’ve been eating a lot of yogurt, fruit, and nut butter with muesli (kind of like overnight oats, without the overnight part) and smoothies. They’re much more cooling for me in this weather.

  4. therabbitrunner said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    wow that is really exciting to be reading scripts!! don’t worry about blogging – life comes first haha.
    i never knew you could make your own coconut butter!! I bet that saved you a lot of money. That stuff is SO expensive.

    my oat love is baking them – its like cake in the morning haha

  5. Natalie said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    your job sounds pretty cool!!!! hope you continue to enjoy it! =)

    i really like coconut kefir too! i like using it to make chia seed pudding.

    the vegan lentil walnut loaf looks sooo good.. esp with that glaze. gotta make that sometime.

    i keep wanting to make overnight oats but despite the hot weather, im STILL craving a bowl of hot oats in the morning + my hot coffee!!! so… im still eating hot oats =) i actually like keeping a jar of overnight oats in my fridge though and eating a few bites as a snack in the afternoon

  6. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on June 24, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    oh im glad ur enjoying your coconut kefir! yea the sour taste is probably the same as the cow’s milk kefir… its got a nice bite to it.

    love the mug, nothing like mark twain to inspire you during breakfast ❤

    ive been enjoying my strawberries and oats too.. seems to be the only thing that isnt hurting my mouth too much right now.

    ive had a lentil nut loaf once but mine never came with a delicious sauce for ontop 😦 mmm every good recipe for loaf, meat or veggie, needs some sort of gravy/sauce 😛 looks delicious love

    xoxo ❤

  7. mapledreams said, on June 24, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    That loaf looks SO tasty ! xx

  8. Megan said, on June 24, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    So many people are taunting me with this loaf! I need to make it asap! And how did I not realize making coconut butter was so easy?! I’m definitely trying that because I have lots of coconut flakes too 🙂

  9. Tasha - The Clean Eating Mama said, on June 24, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Your photos are always beautiful! I have been seeing loafs floating around the blog-o-sphere lately and I have been dying to make one! They are so good!

  10. Ameena said, on June 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Your job sounds so interesting and different from what I do in entertainment. I can imagine how much more fun it is!

    I bring my lunch to work 99% of the time because even though we often have catered lunches I don’t usually find things I can eat. It is tricky when you are allergic to just about everything, like I am!

    The Lentil Loaf looks fantastic. I am going to try it one of these days. 🙂

  11. Kris | iheartwellness.com said, on June 24, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Everything sounds so wonderful! What are scottish oats? I have never had them!

    But they look freaking wonderful!

    I work from home so I am blessed to eat my lunch right after I make it everyday 🙂

    I love lentils…….drool…

    xxoo

  12. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen) said, on June 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    I am still a cooked oats girl, but I tried overnight last night and I did like them. I am going to give them a go again because there are many aspects I did like, so I want to play with them. Your eats all look delicious! I love lentil burgers…I haven’t tried Jenna’s loaf yet, but it looks good!

  13. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) said, on June 24, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Wow I never read Jenna’s blog b/c everyone else does and just links her recipes LOL . Seriously i just never got into it but gosh, she’s got 2 winners here! Gabriela uneveinesaine made her lentil loaf the other day too.

    your job sounds so fun and amazing, yes long and strange hours but savor this role..you will look back on this when you’re older & be so glad you’ve had this time!

    xoxo

  14. Amanda @ . seek . said, on June 24, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Your job sounds super interesting, girl! And even if it keeps you super busy, I can imagine that you’re having a great time doing what you love 🙂 There’s nothing more fulfilling than finishing the day, exhausted by something that you love to do. So happy for you!

    I’ve been seeing that lentil loaf all over the blog world, which is making me think there’s some subliminal message out there telling me to make one as well. We’ll see… I don’t have any walnuts at the moment, so I guess I’m safe from influence 😉 As for the oats, I tend to switch it up all the time so I don’t get bored. I don’t mind eating stovetop oats on hot days because I usually let them cool first (I don’t like eating hot meals… no idea why), but sometimes I crave the yogurty goodness of overnight oats or the creamy deliciousness of baked oats. Great… now I want some oats.

  15. actorsdiet said, on June 24, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    i love hearing about the behind-the-camera world you’re in. i hope one day we get to work together!

  16. Katharina said, on June 25, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Your job sounds so neat! It’s like being a fashion buyer, but with soooo much more to choose from! You’re looking for more than just “trendy” or “in” or “the next big thing” lol. But I also think your fashion background is interesting as well. My fellow Garance Dore reader 😉 Seriously.. I love her blog and so many style blogs out there! The way Garance writes though is just sooo adorable!! I had to quote her the other day, I’m going to share the quote with you 😀 And don’t forget to read it with a French accent hehehe

    “If I were a guy, I’d buy them all the time. I’d wear them with pants that were a little short, and I’d be modern and cool at the same time and all the girls would fall like flies, just like that, boom.”

    Ohhh YUMYUMYUM! That loaf looks spectacular! And I want breakfast already but I’m about to go to bed lol. Those berries should just make their way over here :p Just everything in this post looks absolutely appetizing.

    I totally hear you about the veg-options. I know that it’s my choice to live this lifestyle, so of course I suck it up.. but coming across a place where I actually have OPTIONS makes me want to jump for joy. So yes usually I come prepared with something (usually a pb&j) in case I don’t have a choice. And if there is a veg-option.. that doesn’t suck lol, then I can just save the sandwich for later 🙂

    No ma’am, no warm oats for me. I literally start sweating if I have anything hot in the morning. I even wait for my tea to cool down now. I usually make my breakfast and let it sit in the fridge for about an hour, or I opt for overnight oats if I’m in the mood. Or I just have something totally different lol.

    XOXO hope things go smoothly for you m’lady!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  17. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on June 25, 2010 at 7:33 am

    The lentil loaf is amazing, isn’t it? One of the best recipes I’ve tried in awhile. I try to always pack my lunch, both because of money and because I like to know what’s in it. It’s way too easy for a soup to be made with chicken stock, or for butter to have slipped into the veggies. And I haven’t had hot oats since May, but I’ve been loving the overnight variety!

  18. brandi said, on June 25, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I LOVE that mug! 🙂

    And I’ve been loving that coconut milk kefir, too. It has such a great flavor!

  19. peacebeme said, on June 25, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I have been seeing so much of Jenna’s loaf that I decided to try making it for dinner tonight,

    I can’t eat heavy things in the summer for breakfast. I like smoothies this time of year in the morning. Have a great weekend.

  20. Alex @ IEatAsphalt said, on June 25, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Your job sounds awesome! I’m a tiny bit jealous that you’re working in the world of fashion. I always pack my lunch and most of my co-workers order food or grab something in the hospital caf. We have catered lunches usually once a week and I will always bring yogurt and fruit from home incase the food doesn’t look to appealing.

  21. Kelly said, on June 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I want to try that loaf so badly!!!! Thanks for making me drool! haha!

  22. neonflamingosandwhitepeacocks said, on June 25, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Hey there! So glad I discovered your blog through Brandi´s! Lovely eats, lovely pictures, very inspiring- thank you 🙂

    Have a great weekend!!
    xoxo Mel

  23. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on June 26, 2010 at 7:24 am

    I’ve always wanted to know exactly what you do – sounds so fun, but I’m sure the scheduling is crazy. One of my good friends (and my hair stylist) used to do hair and make-up for feature films and she has told me how insane her schedule was…but she loved it.

    I ALWAYS pack leftovers. Cheaper and usually tastier.

    I’ve switched from hot oats to breakfast cookies. I love still having oats but in a colder form. 🙂

  24. Simply Life said, on June 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Yum! Everything looks so good!

  25. Vicky said, on June 28, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Indian is my favorite! I have to try that Channa Masala! But really everything on your post looks delish to me right now!! – Vicky @ vdubb.wordpress.com

  26. 6 months left… « A Fresh Dille said, on July 2, 2010 at 11:08 am

    […] moving and beginning to prep my next project, I have been quite the pitiful foodie, runner, yogi, etc. Many meals have centered around leftovers […]


Leave a Reply

