A Fresh Dille

time to wrap.

Posted in FASHION, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 8, 2010

Still learning the terminology of the film industry, I was confused when receiving a text from V this week that said, “martini shot.” After googling the term, I realized that he was on the last shot of the day, meaning he would be home soon. Since I am still prepping the next project, I have more time to prepare dinner, but have yet to be on top of things as much as hoped. There have been many nights filled with wraps of all the components in our fridge from the farmer’s market and the quick Whole Foods trip I took the other day on the way home.

Last night I realized that the so-called martini shot can be called prematurely and had made falafel much too far in advance. It may have been that I used a mix instead of my making my own falafel, but the dinner was nothing fabulous. However, my feeling is that a little hummus and avocado can make most dishes much better.

The hot sauce helped a lot too.

When I do begin filming, I hope to still eat delicious breakfasts. This is a promise I tend to make to myself far too often, but hopefully I can stick to it this time. Call times ranging from 5am-9pm can really mess with you.

In the meantime, I have been making sure to get my whole grain breakfast fix each day.

The farmer’s market berries have been dwindling, but red and blue oats are still possible each morning. These were steel-cut oats cooked in light coconut milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and thinly sliced banana that were then topped with raspberries, blueberries, and raw creamy almond butter. More cinnamon was poured on throughout enjoying.

Although unbearably hot out, I still prefer warm oats to the overnight variety. This was a bowl of coconut milk kefir overnight oats that I ate with melted frozen banana, coconut butter, and berries. Overnight rolled oats just don’t become as voluminous as cooked scottish or steel-cut oats. Rolled oats just don’t seem to keep me satisfied as long since discovering the others.

While glancing through my favorite costume design book, “Dressed: A Century of Hollywood Costume Design,” I ate my warm bowl of Steel Cut oats cooked in vanilla almond milk, cinnamon, and half a thinly sliced banana.

Banana and blueberries, a match made in heaven…especially with coconut butter.

A few fashion-related words:

Yesterday I ventured out for some wardrobe racks for work and while driving, I found myself so hot that I was sticking to the leather seats of my car. Although I do work with clothing, I don’t seem to put much time into what I personally wear each day. By sticking with the basics, I can have more fun with accessories. They can be taken off if cumbersome, or thrown on if I need to add a little character to my mostly simple ensemble.

Here are some things I favor in the summer….

-My seriously tall espadrilles (with the ankle straps taken out) for nights out, masai bangles, and my one favorite tiny bangle (my mother found the only bangle that doesn’t slip off my small wrist).

-A simple white collared shirt (written about by the lovely Garance here) is a staple I wear no matter what time of the year.

Denim shirts, light wash boyfriend jeans, jackets, cut off shorts, and my lovely J brand bells.

Loose racerback tanks and dresses

-All things stripes.

-Most importantly, I always carry a straw hat and my sunglasses (ray ban wayfarers or my round ones). You never know when you may need some shade and usually I am wearing at least one of them at all times.

What are your fashion staples? My summer staples are actually things I tend to wear year round, except I swap the straw hat for a more solid fedora and wear tights under my cut off denim shorts, etc. Oh, and I wear other wedges than the espadrilles, but comfort wise, wedges are the most comfortable tall shoes I own.

What is your favorite wrap combo? I love hearing about all different combos but leftovers seem to be taking over our fridge currently.

hope everyone is having a lovely week!


Tagged with: , ,

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthyexposures said, on July 8, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Good to hear you’ve still got some time to enjoy rather than work, work, work! I’m sure once the shoots start you’ll figure out a schedule, though. I know I did with teddie after not too long, even though that’s far less stressful than a shoot!
    Wraps are definitely quick, convenient, AND delicious – no shame there! I like just throwing in any random fridge leftovers, too 🙂

  2. Ameena said, on July 8, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    I love the espadrilles…I wish I wasn’t so tall and could wear wonderfully high shoes like yours.

    Every summer I go to Old Navy, buy a bunch of dresses and wear them to death. They are nice and cool and I don’t care if Maya gets her sticky fingers all over them. I add a nice pair of sunglasses, a great bag and pair of shoes, and nobody can tell I’ve paid $20 or less for my dress!

  3. mapledreams said, on July 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    those shoes are gorgeous! xx

  4. Amanda @ . seek . said, on July 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Avocado and hot sauce (or salsa) can definitely make almost any meal better. And I completely agree with you about the oats. I don’t care if it’s boiling outside… I still prefer stovetop steelies to overnight oats. I always think that overnight oats sounds like a good idea, but they usually never are when I actually get around to having them.

    My fashion staples for the summer are loose tanks/tees, cutoff shorts, sunglasses, an oversized bag, and flip flops. Boyfriend jeans are great for slightly colder days, and I love pairing loose dresses with jackets. For more sporty times, basically anything from Lululemon 😉

    As for wraps, I really love avocado and scrambled eggs, or avocado with a veggie burger… basically, I guess avocado with anything 🙂 I need to make a sweet wrap someday, with a banana and nut butter.

  5. Mandiee said, on July 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Even though you said your falafel didn’t taste amazing, I think your meal looks delicious! Do you still use the Ezekial tortillas or are you onto the brown rice? I’ve been thinking about experimenting.

    I’m a hot oats kind of girl, too. Overnight oats are good, but I don’t find myself craving them like hot oats. Yours look beautiful! (Speaking of which, where do you get your bowls? They’re so cute!) I think that your issue with rolled oats is the fact that you’re using 1/3 cup. Since steel cut oats are cut differently, 1/4 cup expands to about a cup whereas 1/3 cup of old fashioned only makes about 2/3 cup. 1/3 cup old fashioned oats does nothing for my hunger, either. I would recommend using the serving size, 1/2 cup, which has similar nutritional stats to 1/4 cup of your others. Anyway, oat bran remains to be my favorite for breakfast oats. Also, adding more liquid than instructed makes more voluminous oats. Whew! That’s lots of oats talk, but if you have any more questions, I’d be glad to do so.

    I love all your summer finds. Fashion is truly art.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  6. Megan said, on July 8, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    I’ve never heard of “martini shot” before! I’m jealous of your red and blue oats, those are my favorite year-round! And those espadrilles are bangin. Racerback tanks are my favorite in summer- I’m wearing one now!

  7. Natalie said, on July 8, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    claire, you are sooo right about our similar style – your summer staples are basically my summer staples.. it’s uncanny. ive been wearing way too much stripes / light-wash denism, white collared shirts, my ray ban wayfarers – thats so funny that we are so alike!!!!!! haha, if we are ever in the same area, we neeeeed to do a blogger meetup! (maybe sometime in new york!!)

    i love your breakfast photographed on a magazine =)

  8. lisasfoods said, on July 8, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    My summer staples are my pairs of longish, boy-cut shorts; my ribbed tank tops, and my Havaiana flip flops.

    As for wraps, I stick to fairly standard fillers, like differents kinds of veggies and hummus and cheese. But I like to make burritos a lot with them too.

  9. actorsdiet said, on July 8, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    i always loved the term “martini shot” even though i don’t drink martinis…

  10. Katharina said, on July 8, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Oh how I love Garance! And those shoes are so adorable! I have a pair of flat espadrilles that are navy and cream striped. I never wear them though because I was dumb and got them because they were cute… and not my size! They were the last pair and I don’t know why, but I just had to have them lol. But I’m the same way as you–I love to keep it simple so that I can have fun with accessories. Plus, I kind of lean towards timeless pieces. But sometimes, there are somethings that are just too beautiful and original to pass up. I really do my best to incorporate everything that I own into what I wear (minus my too-big-for-me espadrilles).

    Blueberries and bananas are delicious! Hmm.. I’m the opposite right now lol. I can’t stand warm oats for breakfast. I usually make them an hour beforehand and let them cool off in the fridge. I LOVE coconut milk with oats 😀 So yummy! I also like bulking up my oats with protein powder (it’s hard to find a good one–and I’m not sure if you are a protein powder person), a fruit that stays with me longer, nuts/nut butter, and lately I’ve been using chia seeds as well. Today I actually found out that they help retain water and maintain electrolytes, which is probably why they were so beneficial to the Aztecs. My dad said that they would take chia seeds when they would go on runs to deliver messages. Interesting, huh? Ok I’m getting side-tracked!

    My summer fashion staples? NAKED CLOTHES!! I love easy-breezy clothes. I don’t wear anything that covers my arms (unless it’s a shawl or a super sheer fabric), or my legs (long pants are long forgotten). I also have sandals that are chic, simple, and that go with anything. In other words I can just wear them everyday! I also have different sunglasses depending on what colors I’m wearing.. if their stronger, or subtle. And black sunglasses are definitely when I want to feel sexi-EST!

    Oh wow I have not had a wrap in AGES! I love wraps with falafels, fresh veggies, and tzatziki or a creamy garlic sauce. Wraps with hummus, petso, and roasted veggies are also delicious. How about making a quesadilla with wraps? Oh my goodness I have a recipe on my blog for manchego-mushroom quesadillas with salsa verde that are out of this world!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Katharina said, on July 8, 2010 at 10:36 pm

      *retain water aka keep you hydrated lol. I just realized that water retention is something that sounds… not too good hahaha! If you know what I mean 😉

      • Katharina said, on July 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm

        And another p.s. lol. I’m rooting for Netherlands as well. Spain tends to play a bit dirty although not as much as the Argentineans haha. I would really love to see the Dutch’s plays not fall apart against Spain’s strength of possessing the ball.

  11. julia said, on July 9, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Loving your blog and beautiful pics! And I’m exactly the same with my oats: overnight oats just don’t get the volume I want;)

    x Julia (Taste of Living)

  12. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on July 9, 2010 at 8:55 am

    wow yea the film industry lingo! martini shot haha i would be thinking “oh so were taking some shots of alcohol now?” lol

    those shoes and bangles SCREAM warm summer nights out! they will look so good on you!

    ive been having blueberries and raspberries all the time too! gotta love them local markets ❤

  13. The Fit Collegiate said, on July 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I love your blog! All of your eats are so pretty, and you have a great eye for fashion. Those oats with coconut butter look great. I need to get my hands on some coconut butter!

  14. Lauren @ WWoB said, on July 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Your summer staples are perfect. The remind me of a recent outfit on Knightcat (my fave fashion blog). I realllyyy want to go shopping because I literally do not shop during the school year. But that is mainly just because of where my school is located.
    And favorite wrap… Currently I suppose it would be an assortment of raw veggies with mashed avocado or an assortment of roasted veggies with salted cashew butter. Mmm..

  15. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on July 11, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I seriously love your style. I love big earrings and colorful eyeliner. Not necessarily together. 🙂 I also love flowy sundresses in the summer that can be layered over a tshirt and under a cardigan in the fall.


Leave a Reply

