A Fresh Dille

rooting for the orange

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 10, 2010

Tomorrow is the final World Cup game and I couldn’t be more excited. After another crazy week, I am in need of a relaxing Sunday activity with my family and V. I’ve mentioned before that I studied abroad in the Netherlands while in college and fell in love with the Dutch. Tomorrow I will be rooting for them, the orange team. However, I do love the country of Spain as well and will be happy with either team winning since both have yet to reach the finals in World Cup history.

When heading over to my parents home to pick up some packages I had sent there (we seem to never receive the packages sent to our apartment), I made a quick bowl of coconut milk kefir, nectarine, cherries, and some granola my sister had just pulled out of the oven. I must admit that I was happy to eat out of my parents latte bowls that I am missing dearly. Orange was used for The Netherlands team’s color of course.

Until today, I’ve been scottish oat-less and still working on my jar of steel cut oats. Ashley mentioned plating her oats (read her amazing oat explanation) in the morning instead of pouring them in bowls because it lowers the temperature. This morning I decided to try it before heading out for some weekend work at my designer’s warehouse.

These were cooked with my favorite unsweetened vanilla almond milk, chia seeds, and half a banana. This was the last quarter cup or so of our blueberries and I was sad to see them go. The nectarine really made these though. Oh, how I love stone fruit season. On top, I spooned on some Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter that I had forgotten about. It was much sweeter than I remembered, almost similar to frosting. The plating method was a success and V and I both were happy to have sweat-less foreheads by the end of our bowls.

Other meals this week have been packed in the morning. Here is an example of two salads enjoyed:

The beets I bought at the Farmer’s Market have been the star of most my lunch salads, but sweet potatoes really made this one complete. Baby spinach filled the bowl, and I then added some corn, radishes, chickpeas, and cucumber. This shot was photographed on one of my favorite pages from my costuming book about the stunning film, Out of Africa. At such a young age, I fell in love with the clothing Meryl Streep wore in this film.

I’ve also been sprouting lots of mung beans again since they add the perfect amount of crunch to spinach salads. Tempeh bacon is a match made in heaven with avocado and tomatoes. The other components were cucumber, beets, and carrot.

Our dinners, still less than stellar meals have been made up of lots of burrito-style wraps, kale chips, sweet potato fries, and even peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Sometimes that is all you want after being at work for 10+ hours, especially since V is on set and completely wiped by the time he arrives home. Maybe I can be a better girlfriend this week and prepare some meals in advance. I can’t make any promises though…

Time for a mojito with V…I can hear him being a mixologist downstairs with the mint he grew just for the drink. Better go check on that…

In the meantime…

Have you tried any of the new larabar flavors? I found some and am saving them for a day at work when I am going to really need one.

Any vegan pizza ideas? I bought some whole wheat crust today that I can’t wait to top with some pesto made from our basil and lots of veggies. I would love suggestions and to hear your favorite toppings.

We also got our new Weber grill today! What are your favorite things to throw on the grill?

I apologize for another scattered post. ciao for now.

Tagged with: , , , ,