A Fresh Dille

rooting for the orange

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 10, 2010

Tomorrow is the final World Cup game and I couldn’t be more excited. After another crazy week, I am in need of a relaxing Sunday activity with my family and V. I’ve mentioned before that I studied abroad in the Netherlands while in college and fell in love with the Dutch. Tomorrow I will be rooting for them, the orange team. However, I do love the country of Spain as well and will be happy with either team winning since both have yet to reach the finals in World Cup history.

When heading over to my parents home to pick up some packages I had sent there (we seem to never receive the packages sent to our apartment), I made a quick bowl of coconut milk kefir, nectarine, cherries, and some granola my sister had just pulled out of the oven. I must admit that I was happy to eat out of my parents latte bowls that I am missing dearly. Orange was used for The Netherlands team’s color of course.

Until today, I’ve been scottish oat-less and still working on my jar of steel cut oats.Β Ashley mentioned plating her oats (read her amazing oat explanation) in the morning instead of pouring them in bowls because it lowers the temperature. This morning I decided to try it before heading out for some weekend work at my designer’s warehouse.

These were cooked with my favorite unsweetened vanilla almond milk, chia seeds, and half a banana. This was the last quarter cup or so of our blueberries and I was sad to see them go. The nectarine really made these though. Oh, how I love stone fruit season. On top, I spooned on some Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter that I had forgotten about. It was much sweeter than I remembered, almost similar to frosting. The plating method was a success and V and I both were happy to have sweat-less foreheads by the end of our bowls.

Other meals this week have been packed in the morning. Here is an example of two salads enjoyed:

The beets I bought at the Farmer’s Market have been the star of most my lunch salads, but sweet potatoes really made this one complete. Baby spinach filled the bowl, and I then added some corn, radishes, chickpeas, and cucumber. This shot was photographed on one of my favorite pages from my costuming book about the stunning film, Out of Africa. At such a young age, I fell in love with the clothing Meryl Streep wore in this film.

I’ve also been sprouting lots of mung beans again since they add the perfect amount of crunch to spinach salads. Tempeh bacon is a match made in heaven with avocado and tomatoes. The other components were cucumber, beets, and carrot.

Our dinners, still less than stellar meals have been made up of lots of burrito-style wraps, kale chips, sweet potato fries, and even peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Sometimes that is all you want after being at work for 10+ hours, especially since V is on set and completely wiped by the time he arrives home. Maybe I can be a better girlfriend this week and prepare some meals in advance. I can’t make any promises though…

Time for a mojito with V…I can hear him being a mixologist downstairs with the mint he grew just for the drink. Better go check on that…

In the meantime…

Have you tried any of the new larabar flavors? I found some and am saving them for a day at work when I am going to really need one.

Any vegan pizza ideas? I bought some whole wheat crust today that I can’t wait to top with some pesto made from our basil and lots of veggies. I would love suggestions and to hear your favorite toppings.

We also got our new Weber grill today! What are your favorite things to throw on the grill?

I apologize for another scattered post. ciao for now.

Tagged with: , , , ,

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ashley said, on July 10, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Your eats look awesome!! I love how big your photos are. I also love stone fruit season!! I had the best nectarine ever today. I had to eat it over a sink it was SO messy!! Glad the plating method worked for you πŸ˜‰

  2. Ameena said, on July 10, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Out of Africa was the most amazing film for so many reasons! Gorgeous clothing!

    I am not a Larabar fan, I have to admit. Too sweet for me I think!

    Congrats on the Weber grill…there is nothing like BBQ in the summertime. That is the only reason I wish I had a house instead of a condo…so I could have a BBQ grill!

    Have a great Sunday!

  3. Amanda @ . seek . said, on July 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Thanks for informing me of who’s going to play in the World Cup final. I’m horrible with following those kinds of things, and I feel kind of bad for saying that I had no idea who the last two teams were. Even though my dad watches basically every game, I have a hard time getting into it…

    Congrats on the grill! I just got my first one this year as well, and I’m loving it. Some of my favorite things to throw on there are portabella mushrooms, asparagus spears, wraps, sandwiches, and nectarines. Nectarines are AMAZING grilled; they’re so incredibly sweet, it’s almost painful.

  4. Run Sarah said, on July 11, 2010 at 3:27 am

    Have fun watching the game tomorrow – sounds like a fun family time. I need to try the oat plating method as I prefer cooked oats over overnight, but they can be so warm with the weather we are having right now. I love stone fruit in oats as well – such a nice treat this time of year.

  5. VeggieGirl said, on July 11, 2010 at 7:11 am

    Sooo lucky you found the new Larabars!

  6. Megan said, on July 11, 2010 at 8:16 am

    I am loving all your orangey eats!! And I haven’t been able to find the new Laras.. still searching though!!

  7. daanvk said, on July 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

    I never commented before, but I just want to say; hallo! I’m a Dutch girl and I live on a houseboat in central Amsterdam (de jordaan) and currently I’m surrounded by oranje flags, shirts and other crazy stuff. Hopefully we’re going to win tonight! Woohoo!

  8. Evan Thomas said, on July 11, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I’ve been looking for the new laras but no luck!

  9. dmcgirl37 said, on July 11, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Im not a fan of lara bars but ill probably get sucked into trying the new flavors..

    Dana
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  10. lisasfoods said, on July 11, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I haven’t seen Out of Africa, but would like to. I read the book (or maybe most of it – can’t remember if I finished it) many years ago, but I’d like to watch the movie.

    As for grilling, I love marinading portabella mushrooms in a bit of soy sauce or some other marinade, and grilling them. I also love to make my own veggie burgers, which I seldom do, but they taste great grilled. Oh, and I like to slice up onions and potatoes, toss them in olive oil and some herbs, and wrap them into a foil package. Place them on the grill until they’re cooked; they’re really good this way.

  11. healthyexposures said, on July 11, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    The oats are so gogreous! Very clever to plate them rather than leave in a bowl. And the salad looks divine as well. I love sweet potatoes in a salad. I am very jealous of the Larabar find!! I cannot. wait. to try carrot cake. (im)patiently waiting πŸ˜›
    And the pesto pizza sounds like a good idea. Bet it would be good with some fresh tomatoes, too.
    Hope you had a great night!!

  12. Laura said, on July 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Well being scottish myself, i’m very glad you are no longer scottish oats-less x

  13. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on July 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    i dont think we will ever get the new flavors here until im 80 years old- i swear! im so envious! ive been thinking of just ordering some online tho!

    ur food is so incredibly fresh- the colors burn my eyes with sweetness haha

    i just ate up a hotdog on the grill.. so im thinking right now its my fav thing to BBQ πŸ™‚

    hope the rest of ur day and weekend goes fabulous lovie!!

    xoxo

  14. Simply Life said, on July 12, 2010 at 8:29 am

    huh, that’s a good idea to put the oats on a a plate instead of bowl!

  15. flowyogilates said, on July 12, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Love your great photos!!!

  16. Sabrina said, on July 12, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I took the suggestion from Ashley too and had plated oats a couple of days ago. By the time I’d finish washing up the saucepan and all, the oats would be the perfect temperature to eat! I’m taking advantage of the stone fruit season as well!

    Ideas for vegan pizza: mushrooms, spinach, pumpkin, red peppers, tomato sauce, tomatoes, olives, eggplant… not very innovative though. I love eggplants grilled!

  17. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine said, on July 12, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I rooted for the Netherlands too, just because they seemed less popular and I love it when the unexpected team wins. Boo 😦

    I’m DYING to try the new Lara flavors but haven’t found them anywhere yet. It’s killing me!! And my favorite vegan pizza topping is humnut sauce. Nutritional yeast + hummus + water. It’s to die for.

    Hope your week is off to a great start!

  18. Lele said, on July 12, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Oh my God beets and sweet potato in the same salad?! I would die of happiness.

    I recently made a vegan pizza (well half of it was) with leftover roasted eggplant in walnut-garlic sauce and it was amazing. Walnuts, garlic, and eggplant all taste so good when you roast them!

  19. Fit Chick in the City said, on July 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I just found your blog and I have to say that all of your eats look amazing!

  20. still platin’ « A Fresh Dille said, on July 13, 2010 at 12:03 am

    […] you for all the Vegan Pizza topping suggestions. I am saving them for a pizza planned in the next few days using […]

  21. actorsdiet said, on July 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    pesto is great for a vegan pizza, but so are caramelized onions and even peanut satay sauce!

  22. Lauren @ Health on the Run said, on July 14, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I haven’t even SEEN the new Larabars!! I need to be on the prowl for them.

    And in terms of plating oats — are you just trying to make them lukewarm, or is there another reason too? I’m not sure if I’d like the way they taste when they’re just sort of warm. I think oats are like coffee — good hot or cold, but not so great in-between. ;).


Leave a Reply

