A Fresh Dille

award-winning breakfasts.

Posted in ENTERTAINMENT, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on July 17, 2010

These past few mornings, I have still been eating my fair share of plated oats.

When W magazine arrived…I was pleasantly surprised to see the faces of two actors I adore on the cover. The photo spread and interview were pretty fun as well. I won’t deny it, I am such a Mad Men fan (it returns the 25th!) and Jon Hamm is pretty yummy. Recently I saw the film Please Give, with Rebecca Hall and was reminded about her beautiful acting. If you haven’t seen Vicky Cristina Barcelona with her, you must soon. Although the upcoming film, The Town, with these two together is a crime/drama/thriller (read: not my favorite kind of film), I can’t wait to see their chemistry on camera.

To get back to more important things…OATS. Two days this week I had plated steel cut oats with the peach/blueberry combo. I restocked my blueberries this morning for the upcoming week, but we will begin filming bright (or still dark) and early Monday, so please imagine similar breakfasts for the week ahead.

Sunflower butter is the perfect nut butter with peach-blueberry oats. Half a banana is always sliced in to the oats while cooking, as well as the usual chia, cinnamon, and vanilla mix-ins. This week I have been using unsweetened coconut milk but that soon will be replaced with almond milk.

The only other berries on hand are the frozen variety. I had frozen some of our farmer’s market raspberries and microwaved them with some banana and coconut butter to make a berry banana mash topping to pour on top of my scottish oats. It was great to have a compote type topping similar to this lovely lady’s.

Speaking of the lovely Jess of Healthy Exposures, she was recently given a Sugar Doll Blogger Award which she passed on to me! I feel so honored since her blog is one of my favorites. Even when extremely busy, I make sure to keep up with her posts. Not only is she a beautiful photographer, but her love of all things food and horse related is captivating.

The rules are as follows:

Tell 10 little known facts about yourself and then pass it on to 3-5 other bloggers!

It is always hard for me to come up with little quirks or interesting facts about myself, but V disagreed and helped me come up with a few you may enjoy. Jess started off with some childhood stories and I have quite a few myself, so here I go…

1. I was pretty much a terror as an older sister when young. My poor little sister was told many crazy things to be considered cool and in the same “group ” as my best friend and I. We would make her walk on the sidewalks for blocks on the way to school, when she was still so small she had to basically do the splits the entire way. Other ridiculous things I did involved pickles and underwear…it was bad. I still feel awful about it actually.

2. I was never considered athletic. While my sister was on every team growing up, I was the one who started and quit each sport. It wasn’t until middle school that I realized my runner abilities. My gym teacher had us run a mile and I beat the majority of the boys. Soon after, I ran my first road race and won for my age group. It was pretty exciting to realize that although I may not be good at any sports with balls, I can still be a competitive athlete.

3. Traveling internationally is something I have been doing since birth. My parents took me to France and England before my first birthday, and a few tropical places by the time I was 5. Since then I have traveled throughout Western Europe, where I spent the most amount of time in the Netherlands (studying) and Italy (with family for a summer). I would rather live in a small bungalow or apartment with character than an enormous home so that I could still afford to travel to my heart’s content.

4. I was afraid dogs until I had my own. Every summer on Martha’s Vineyard, I would run past a certain home when I heard their brown chocolate lab bark. I still am unsure of why I had this fear since I now adore all (most) animals and have the sweetest yellow lab.

5. I thank chocolate for helping me grow. I was tiny growing up, the smallest in each grade I was in. During high school, I had yet to reach the growth chart at the doctor’s office and they become worries (and therefore made my mother). Although my family is very petite, I was incredibly so. When we went to Italy one summer at the end of high school, I ate chocolate as much as possible. Throughout that time, I would eat nutella on bread, chocolate flavored gelato, and many different chocolate desserts at restaurants. When returning, I had grown considerably and was no longer the underweight little girl I was before.

6. I gave up peanut butter and jelly for years after throwing up a sandwich in first grade on my friend’s desk while playing the game “seven up.” It was rather disgusting and it took me years to re-embrace its deliciousness.

7. I also “hated carrots” for years. I thought they made my stomach hurt when eaten raw and refused many cooked carrots because I had no clue that roasted carrots could be so delicious. Now, I adore them in salads, raw with hummus, and roasted with other root veggies.

8. I painted my nails almost daily at the end of elementary and early middle school years. Something about moving to Laguna Beach, CA made me want to become some kind of valley girl. I was ultra girlie back then and even owned a shirt that said “As if.” Clueless and the Spice Girls movie made an impact. Let’s leave it at that.

9. I can’t stomach beer. I secretly wish I could like it because I find the brewing process and craft involving beer pretty interesting, but it just always makes me feel sick to my stomach. Instead, I sip on wine and the occasional vodka soda with lime and/or cranberry when I do drink. There were days when I drank much more (late high school/early college), but now I only do on the rare occasion socially. Maybe one day I will drink a glass a night like my grandmother, but now I am fine doing without.

10. I can’t burp and don’t remember ever doing so. My mother says she burped me as a baby, but since then I haven’t burped. People have tried making me down sodas, etc. but nothing works. This may be the reason why I can’t handle beer, who knows. Recently I learned that my dad doesn’t burp either. Kind of strange…

I hope these weren’t too bizarre for ya.

I am going to pass the award to three of you, but there are many others I love too of course!

Danielle at A Nourishing Glimpse

Amanda at Seek Myself

Katharina at Katharina’s Food Adventures

Can’t wait to hear some more fun facts about these wonderful women.

Now it is time to get our grill on for the first time. V is full of energy after filming until 7:30 a.m., which means that he got to sleep all of today. I am jealous of the sleeping all day part, but definitely not filming all night. Those are the worst, especially when your Monday call time is back to 5 a.m. Not much of a weekend, is it?!

Other things:

-Do you watch Mad Men? Love it/hate it? I wrote about my love for the show once back in the day when I started blogging (before taking almost a year off) and still am pretty into it. I do think the last season went a little downhill, but the wardrobe keeps me coming back…and Don Draper/Jon Hamm is just…yeah…

-Are you a beer drinker? I really wish I could enjoy it, but as I wrote above, it just doesn’t sit well with me. Sometimes I feel it makes me “such a girl” to say I can’t stomach it, but it is the truth.

-Some people asked about my camera in the last post’s comments and I was borrowing my dad’s Canon G11 for a few days. I had to return it and already miss its photo quality. It definitely shows that nicer camera’s ($$) ┬ácan take much better images than most digital’s. This gives me much more of an incentive to head out and purchase my own in the next month or so when I can.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. Tomorrow will be about bananas and pizza. Stay tuned…

