A Fresh Dille

my chocolate chip cookie story

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 2, 2010

First of all, thanks so much for making the transition back to blogging so wonderful! It seems like I am constantly catching up on all the great blogs I read out there and it is always a joy to get such warm responses after being absent a little too long.

Today I feel like sharing a little story…

We all have them. The stories of how we embraced our favorite foods over time and the memories that linger with us most while taking a bite.

Baking isn’t really something my mother did too much of growing  up. I am sure she did occasionally but honestly, I don’t remember it. I remember her making pesto, french toast, a potato gratin, meatloaf, and well, lots of classics like chicken parmesan. My grandmother, the traditionalist, taught her well in those departments. My mother often tells me she was raised in the generation where most veggies were canned or frozen as a child (post WW II baby boomer). Just because she wasn’t a baker, doesn’t mean she isn’t a foodie. Both my parents have wonderful palates that may be attributed to their love of traveling.

I grew to love chocolate chip cookies on my own.

In college, I had a lovely roommate who I miss terribly. She ate pretty much the opposite of the way I did. Yes, I was already a pretty intense chocoholic throughout my life, but usually in the form of a flourless chocolate cake at dinner with my family. Laura was the kind of person who liked to run over to the local grocer on the weekend for some tollhouse cookie dough (she also liked cupcake mixes). I wasn’t used to this. My mother rarely filled our fridge or pantry with processed foods. I am not saying we ate 100% all-natural healthy food, but it was rare for her to come home with a box of prepackaged cookies (except for the rare box of LU Petit Écolier my father was rather fond of).

Our small city college had a cafe where we met pretty frequently between or before/after classes for a bite to eat. Instead of always eating a panini or salad for a meal, we would get massive chocolate chip cookies.  You know the kind I am talking about. The cookies were the size of our hands with all fingers spread. When ordering a coffee or tea, I would dunk chunks of cookie into the warm beverage for some melty chocolate goodness. I loved every second of it.

One year, Laura took the bus from Boston to NYC with me to see my family for Thanksgiving. We searched the Upper East Side for the perfect spot to have one of our chocolate chip cookie dates. Sadly, Laura is far away from me these days, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate a nice big chocolate chip cookie.

V appreciated a few as well.

When deciding on a cookie recipe, I tend to fall back on Dreena’s recipes. I can’t help myself. Her Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe is hard to beat. The texture is spot on, even with spelt flour. I love cookies that have a little crunch on the outside and still maintain a chewy soft center and this one fits the bill.

Maybe I will send some to Laura.

Other things:

What is your go-to cookie recipe?  I have a feeling at least one of you will mention Dreena’s Super-charge me cookie. That is another favorite of mine when craving more complex flavors. I love oats in cookies.

What is your favorite cookie texture? Cake-y cookies aren’t my favorite but if I am inching for some pumpkin flavor, I won’t discriminate. Speaking of, I made something rather pumpkiny today I will be sharing with you tomorrow.

Happy October (Vegetarian Awareness Month & National Breast Cancer Awareness Month) !

Oh and it just happens to be dinner time. I am eating one of my favorite meals tonight, a deconstructed sushi bowl.

Hope you are all having a grand weekend!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Evan Thomas said, on October 2, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    There is nothing better than a nice, buttery, vanilla cookie speckled with perfect chocolate chips. I can’t think of a “go-to” cookie recipe, because I much prefer brownies or cake.

  2. healthyexposures said, on October 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    I love these pictures and story. It makes me feel very cozy & homey 😛
    You’re right – I’m a sucker for Super Charge Me cookies! I’m not a big fan of cakey cookies, either. I like a little crunchy-meets-chewy action.

  3. Gillian said, on October 3, 2010 at 7:13 am

    I love this post. There is something so nostalgic and carefree about cookies as big as your hand! I often make this recioe (http://nicheoriginals.ca/gillianyoung/?p=881) and have recently been making them bigger and bigger to get that same effect 🙂

  4. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on October 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    I’m totally craving chocolate chip cookies now. I love Dreena’s Super-Charge Me Cookies, but always forget about them! I love any cookies with oats and also am not a huge cake-like cookie fan unless it’s pumpkin. I really like the New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookie if I plan way in advance. I’ll have to try Dreena’s chocolate chip cookies! They sound like a perfect combo or crunchy and chewy.

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com said, on October 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    thats really sweet how u reminisced the memories of chocolate chip cookies!! for me i never really was a cookie eater unless it was gingersnaps. i think it was because my mom never had any choc.chip. recipes she knew of which is shocking. she would buy the Pillsbury tubes u crack open and i remember rolling the dough into little balls and the cookies were always soft yet chewy..but way too sweet. it wasn’t until i was like 9 or 10 that my mom brought home chocolate chip oatmeal cookies from the grocery store’s bakery and OMG were they good. it became a Saturday morning ritual waiting for her to come home with my day after grocery shopping and rummaging through the grocery bags to grab the chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. i usually had about 3 right there even tho there was only 6 in a package and i had 2 older brothers wanting some too. mmmm theres so much nostalgia connected to chocolate chip cookies. i definitely think i like mine with oatmeal in it too, its the extra chew i get that makes it so lovely ❤

    xoxo

  6. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said, on October 4, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I love stories related to food. There’s something so warm and fuzzy about all of them. And chocolate chip cookies just make it that much more appealing. 🙂

  7. brandi said, on October 5, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I grew up eating the Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie recipe, and it’s still one of my favorites. The smell of those cookies baking in the oven brings me right back home

  8. all about it. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 6, 2010 at 1:57 am

    […] the cookies I made vanished pretty quickly and I had at least half a bag of vegan chocolate chips left, I […]

  9. more cookie attention. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

    […] is why I knew who to go to when I wanted a cookie “outside the box” when our small cookie stash diminished. Interestingly enough, I chose one of her most simple recipes, the chocolate chip […]

  10. good bars vs. bad bars « A Fresh Dille said, on October 15, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    […] had to whip up a batch of my favorite chocolate chip cookies to give her for the last leg of her drive. Who wouldn’t want a big fresh chocolate chip […]

  11. real food. « A Fresh Dille said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    […] I feel bad writing this after not loving the veggie burger, but the cookie was not the best either. These are better. The cookie was a gluten free vegan chocolate chip cookie. Maybe it was the gluten free flour or […]

  12. Vegan Piggy: Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies said, on December 1, 2011 at 6:41 am

    […] only on food, but fashion amongst other topics. What a lovely combo! I had been dreaming of chocolate chip cookies, and it happened to be my lucky day because I found just the perfect recipe as I perused the […]


Leave a Reply

