A Fresh Dille

all about it.

Posted in FOOD, MAGAZINES, VEGAN by clairedille on October 6, 2010

I would love to say that I am completely phased by the abundance of pumpkin all over the blog world, but really, it is quite the opposite. Today I headed over to Trader Joe’s just to pick up some in fear I may run out in the near future. In the last few days I have had pumpkin oats, pumpkin pie smoothies, and yes, even baked with it. I am glad to know that I am not the only one who eats pumpkin a few times in a day. Enter, pumpkin chocolate chip scones.

Since the cookies I made vanished pretty quickly and I had at least half a bag of vegan chocolate chips left, I wanted to add them to the mix. Although I have never really been a scone person, my british father tends to be a fan so I thought I would give them another go.

The recipe I used is a mixture of Allie’s and Tina’s. Instead of writing a recipe remarkably similar to the two wonderful ones I just mentioned, I will tell you some of the changes I may have made. Like Allie, I used 2 cups of flour (a mixture of spelt and whole wheat pastry) and 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree. Like Tina, I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of earth balance butter. The rest was rather typical for a scone recipe: baking powder, baking soda, salt, and some milk.

What would I change?

More butter and sweetener. Honestly, they were great when eaten warm with some earth balance or almond butter on top, but I should have upped the fat when baking like Allie since Tina’s recipe had 1/2 cup less flour. They were definitely enjoyed though and I won’t give up on scones yet. I just feel as though I may be more of a muffin/quickbread person.

Other things:

-The Marie Claire article really has taken over the “healthy living” blogs and I don’t really have much to chime in on because I think all sides of the topic have been spoken about quite thoroughly. However, I do feel compassion for the bloggers who were interviewed and then unfairly quoted out of context. The truth is within their blog posts and their readership should never diminish, but only grow. Did you feel like it needed to be written or was it just cruel and unfair of the author to not let these great women know what the article was truly about?

I am not an every meal blogger or even every day or week blogger. I know that there are times where I may lose readership because life gets in the way, but I choose to continue blogging because of the great community. There are so many kind comments and other blogs that inspire me every day. I hope it continues to thrive (although overwhelming at times) and be a place for women (and men) to feel a sense of community. Some may say blogging is obsessive, but we all have them. I love food. I love fashion. I love running. I love traveling. These are things I let myself be obsessed with…because, quite frankly, why not?

-On a lighter note, do you like scones? Have any recipes (favorite combinations) you want to share?

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) said, on October 6, 2010 at 2:09 am

    Thanks for trying out the recipe–or at least half of it :).

    More butter/Earth Balance is definitely the way to go with scones. The 6 TBSP I used wasn’t nearly enough! I need to remake those scones with more butter/EB.

  2. healthyexposures said, on October 6, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Great chime-in on the article. I felt like it was something I had to bring up, too – because even reading it, I felt a bit offended. I am all for an article showing the pros and cons – I think we learned in grade school that when writing a review, it should have pros and cons! But, this was flat-out, out-of-context, cruel journalism towards those bloggers. That said – I can see where it could have relevant concern, but in no way do I think they are responsible for festering disordered eating. Like you – I love food, I love the community, the support, and inspiration. I guess I missed it when passion became disorder?
    Anyways. Scones! I enjoy scones – but like you am definitely a sucker for quickbreads and muffins, so I usually bake those instead 🙂 These scones look great, though, and thanks for the pumpkin shout-out 😛

  3. Anna said, on October 6, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Beautiful scones!! I’m definitely not at ALL pumpkined out 🙂

  4. Evan Thomas said, on October 6, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Those scones sound excellent! I hate the hype around pumpkin, but I love pumpkin itself. My favorite scones use cashew butter as the fat and have dried cherries–perfect combo

  5. Lauren said, on October 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

    This looks delicious! I could never get enough pumpkin!

  6. lisasfoods said, on October 7, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I sometimes like ordering scones when I go out for a cup of tea. I like simple ones, just with currants, but anything pumpkin chocolate chip flavored is delicious.


Leave a Reply

