A Fresh Dille

veganomicon & nut butter love.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 6, 2010

I just can’t help myself. Maybe it is because I spent all summer out of the kitchen, but baking is reigning supreme over my recent days. Today it was this beauty.

Banana Bread is such a comfort food. Still working on the bag of vegan chocolate chips, this became a walnut, dried cherry, and chocolate chip Banana Bread. Instead of Amanda’s delicious Blissful Banana Bread that I made (and loved) before, I went with a classic favorite from Veganomicon. If you want to find the recipe and are without the wonderful cookbook, check out The Baking Bird post here where Kylie also raves about the recipe. I am pretty sure I remember VeggieGirl being a fan as well. Always opting for more banana than less, I went with three incredibly ripe ones on my counter top. The recipe differs from Amanda’s because it incorporates applesauce to lower the fat, but you can’t tell because it still has 1/4 cup oil. For my flour, I used Whole Wheat Pastry until I ran out. Luckily, I had some lingering quick oats to make up the last 1/2 cup of dry ingredients.

So really, make this Lower Fat Banana Bread recipe. I promise you will love it. If you are like me and prefer to have a moist (ick, I know it isn’t a choice word) loaf, only cook it for 45 minutes and use 3 small to medium-sized bananas. Oh, and please don’t forget about the molasses. Not only do they add some warmth and unique flavor, but they provide much-needed calicium, iron, and other grand nutrients (read about it here).

With the Veganomicon cookbook open and some already cooked chickpeas in the fridge, I turned to the Chickpea Cutlets page and whipped up a batch uber-quick. Here is a photo of them formed, but before I pressed them down to form cutlets with my palms.

Although the recipe claims to make four cutlets, I always end up with more. The only thing I swapped up from the original was using our fresh rosemary instead of the dried thyme that was called for.

I swear these aren’t baked goods. Apparently V thought they were tasty with peanut butter, but I wouldn’t recommend it. They are a savory snack or meal component that taste superb with bbq sauce, marinara, gravy, etc. I made a sandwich to go with some freshly made pesto, tomatoes V picked today, and baby spinach on sprouted bread.

Other things happening in my kitchen today:

I made a double batch of Ashley’s Roasted Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter. YUM!

They key to making your own nut butters is definitely patience. I wanted to make coconut butter as well today, but my patience just wasn’t there.

I did make Coco-Cashew Hazelnut Butter though.

Coco-Cashew Hazelnut Butter

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1 cup raw hazelnuts
  • 2 T maple syrup (organic grade b is best)
  • 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder (or raw cacao powder)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • T coconut oil or coconut butter (optional)

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread your nuts throughout. Roast nuts for 10-15 mins, stirring frequently to prevent burn. Let cool 10-15 minutes. Pour nuts into food processor with remaining ingredients. Process for about 10 mins, frequently scraping down sides to evenly mix.

This recipe still needs some tweaking, maybe some more cocoa. As a former nutella addict (hello, netherlands 2006), I really hope to create a vegan chocolate hazelnut spread. There are a few recipes throughout the web (like this one) but they all seem to use confectioners sugar. Maybe I should just buy some Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter already…

Other things:

-What is your favorite kind of quickbread? Pumpkin, banana, zucchini, etc? I’ve always been the biggest banana bread lover, but this pumpkin gingerbread by Angela looks completely drool-worthy. I am thinking that must be next and what a coincidence that miss Kelsey made it today.

-What is your favorite kind of cross-training? I am getting back to running right now and it seems like I am known for doing too much too fast. I am aiming to incorporate in more cross training but get bored with the elliptical. I did just sign up for 10 Bikram Yoga Classes and am pretty excited considering it has also been much too long since I’ve let myself go with the flow with yoga.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VeggieGirl said, on October 6, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Your food features are always DIVINE.

  2. Anna said, on October 7, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Wow– you were a busy bee in the kitchen today! This all looks awesome– those chickpea cutlets are such a classic!

  3. Evan Thomas said, on October 7, 2010 at 9:12 am

    That banana bread looks delicious! It’s been ages since I’ve made a loaf.
    This is my favorite chocolate nut butter and I swear tastes just like Justin’s. If you expand the amounts, you can easily rewrite the recipe for a whole jar. http://www.foodmakesfunfuel.com/recipes/nut-butters/chocolate-nut-butter/

  4. healthyexposures said, on October 7, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    My mouth is watering, as it always is after your posts 😉 You know I’m a fan of Veganomicon, but you always seem to reinforce the belief! It’s been too long since I’ve made chickpea cutlets, though.
    Your cashew hazelnut butter looks amazing!! I don’t think my blender or processor are “man enough” to take on the task…but I should really try again!

  5. […] My oats mixed summer and fall with both pumpkin and peaches, but the real star of the show was the roasted maple cinnamon almond butter made yesterday. […]

  6. apples & doughnuts. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    […] Pumpkin Pie Vegan Overnight Oats. I mixed in half a banana and topped it with some crumbled banana bread and melted roasted maple cinnamon almond butter. Considering the temps were up today, the colder […]

  7. uplifting muffins. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    […] needed comfort food. I made some chia-scottish oats for dinner and topped them off with a maple, Coco-Cashew Hazelnut Butter, and almond milk sauce and organic strawberries that were begging to be photographed. Oddly enough, […]

  8. danmarie said, on December 8, 2010 at 12:13 am

    This is making me hungry.


Leave a Reply

