A Fresh Dille

breakfast x 2 with tiny taters.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 7, 2010

Ever since my time-off work started I have been promising myself that I would be more creative with my morning eats. After all, breakfast is my meal of choice. Instead, I’ve been sticking with these:

While concocting my pumpkin with peach oats below this morning, I realized that pancakes, vegan french toast, and tofu scrambles would all be faster to make. But there is something about the ritual of oat-making while I sip my warm lemon water that soothes me. In my opinion, it takes less prep and thought than the others. I don’t have to measure flours, baking powder & soda, or cut veggies and measure spices. I do measure the oats, water, and almond milk, however, I simply splash in vanilla and shake in cinnamon. I spoon in flax or chia seeds at the beginning, but leave the toppings for the last 2-3 minutes. In that 20 minutes of free time between starting the oats and finishing them off, I read my favorite blogs and prepare coffee. It really is an ideal ritual, don’t you think? I know many of you share such warm wonderful ones as well.

My oats mixed summer and fall with both pumpkin and peaches, but the real star of the show was the roasted maple cinnamon almond butter made yesterday.

So, instead of switching up my breakfast in the morning, we had breakfast for dinner. It was this recipe for double dipped french toast made with cinnamon raisin ezekiel english muffins topped with pumpkin butter and maple syrup. I didn’t get the camera out to document because V and I were much too hungry and they take a little longer to cook than your average egg-y french toast. I’ve made them before with bread, but I preferred the english muffin version we had tonight.

Oh, but I must show you the delicious savory roasted tiny taters we had with our lunches today.

These tiny potatoes covered in a mix of olive oil, lemon juice, garlic powder, cayenne, cumin, and nutritional yeast had such a kick we swooned over.

After they roasted, we dipped them in organic dijon and ketchup.

The chickpea cutlets are no longer.

A simple salad for me. It is pretty self-explanatory: baby spinach, carrots, cucumber, chickpea cutlet, and balsamic vinaigrette. Some avocado was added as well.

For V, I made a hummus, daiya mozzarella, pesto, chickpea cutlet quesadilla on a brown rice tortilla.

Oh, how we loved it. I must try one for myself ASAP.

Tomorrow, I want to talk about running. It has been much too long since I’ve written about my love for the sport.

Other things:

-I listened to this debate by Anthony Bourdain and Jonathan Safran Foer today about whether we, as humans, should eat meat. I love both of these men and found it very interesting. Check it out.

-Do you have a favorite veggie chili recipe? I definitely am thinking something similar to this Butternut Squash & Black Bean Chili for tomorrow night.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ashley said, on October 7, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Your photos are sooo good!!! The salad is my favorite shot in this post! Those taters look completely awesome. SO glad you love the AB..mmmm

  2. Anna said, on October 8, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Oats are so beautiful! Love ’em!

  3. lisasfoods said, on October 8, 2010 at 9:09 am

    I might have to try adding squash to the next chili I make.

    I have an old stand-by recipe, with black beans and kidney beans. It’s a simple vegetarian chili that I often bring to potlucks.

  4. brandi said, on October 8, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I LOVE roasted potatoes! They’re so comforting.

  5. Lauren said, on October 8, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Wow, such a beautiful display in this post! I love your ritual with oats, I recently got back into eating them for breakfast, now that the weather is cooler. And those potatoes? WOW! I could eat the whole bowl! 🙂

  6. Lauren @ WWoB said, on October 8, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I bookmarked this so I can make basically all of it.

    I sip lemon water in the morning – first thing – too! It helps get things movin’ , ya know?!

  7. Trudy ~ veggie num num said, on October 8, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Oh my! Everything in the post looks so delicious!! The oats look amazing and now I am totally craving spicy tiny taters 🙂 thanks for dropping in over a Veggie num num!!

  8. healthyexposures said, on October 8, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Oooh those tater tots certainly look heavenly, as does that quesedilla!! I definitely need to make chickpea cutlets just so I can do that. I just made pesto, too 😉

  9. Megan said, on October 9, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Your food seriously looks too beautiful to eat!!

  10. me, a-z. « A Fresh Dille said, on March 4, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    […] like: I really like all vegetables when they are prepared right. I may have claimed to not like potatoes and carrots growing up, but that is no longer […]

  11. rebuy recommerce gmbh versandkosten said, on July 22, 2013 at 7:02 am

    I do consider all the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for newbies. May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  12. matthew dykeman salem said, on April 5, 2016 at 3:33 am

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all
    people you relly realize what you are talking about!
    Bookmarked. Kindly aldo seek advice from my website =).
    We can have a hyperlink exchange arrangement among us

  13. natural nootropic said, on May 9, 2016 at 6:58 pm

    Regards! A lot of advice!

  14. nootropics said, on May 14, 2016 at 9:42 pm

    Info very well utilized..

  15. Internet business said, on July 4, 2016 at 8:09 am

    Hi there to all, for the reason that I am truly keen of
    reading this weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It includes pleasant data.

  16. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your website accidentally, and I am stunned why
    this coincidence didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.


Leave a Reply

