A Fresh Dille

apples & doughnuts.

Posted in FAMILY, FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 8, 2010

During high school cross-country season, I always looked forward to the one run we made to the cider mill. We would drive a few cars over to leave parked in the parking lot so that our stomachs wouldn’t be filled  with apples, cider, and apple cider doughnuts on a run home. The run there was about four and a half miles, but the best part was that instead of running with the few other top runners, I could have a more relaxing run with the entire team following. The warm bag of cider doughnuts I would bring home for my family were so tasty and reminded me of the small cake-y doughnuts my mom chose once a summer when we would go to Humphrey’s on Martha’s Vineyard. I was always a doughnut hole girl myself as a child. We only went 1-2 times a summer and never throughout the year, so it wasn’t until high school that I realized that I might also enjoy the more cake-y variety of doughnut. I was more than willing to take V for his first cider mill trip to the Franklin Cider Mill today (okay, I may have begged him).

Of course I made sure to get in some fuel for the trip and switched up my usual warm oats for Angela’s Pumpkin Pie Vegan Overnight Oats. I mixed in half a banana and topped it with some crumbled banana bread and melted roasted maple cinnamon almond butter. Considering the temps were up today, the colder breakfast was fitting and I was delighted with every spoonful.

But there were apples, cider, and doughnuts to get to…

The empire apples have a frosted look I am enchanted by. Other great news is that all the apples are organic.

And I was told they were perfect for baking. I’ve been very anti- fruit dessert my whole life. This was probably because my father was entirely pro- fruit dessert and I needed another reason to rebel against his food and make things difficult like that. After seeing Ashley’s post about pie and Nicole’s Galette, I’ve been inspired to change that. Seeing that apples are a fruit I eat almost daily on their own, I can’t imagine I wouldn’t be smitten with an apple dessert.

V asked why I didn’t clean them and honestly, I like the way they look with this matte-like finish.

The other two we picked up were Jonathan (the two on the left) and Honeycrisp (two on the right). I wanted some Jonathan for baking as well, but V made sure to squeeze in a few Honeycrisp for snacking after an employee let him sample one. Little did he know that I already had a few at home in the fridge from a recent farmer’s market trip.

The Franklin Cider Mill Apple Cider is made with Honeycrisp apples and I found it pretty sweet. I prefer my fruit juice mixed with some veggies, but I am sure it will go wonderful with some sparkling water.

But more about the doughnuts. Due to the fact that I am now vegan, I decided to opt out on eating one and got a few for my family and V. Instead, I have some work cut out for me:

Smitten Kitchen’s Apple Cider Doughnuts (not vegan, but beautiful!)

A Dash of Compassion’s Baked Apple Cider Doughnuts (okay, I need a muffin pan, but these sound easy enough)

Herbivore Dinasour’s Apple Cider Doughnuts (using a cookie cutter is right up my alley)

The Gluttonous Vegan’s Apple Cider Doughnuts with Cinnamon Sugar (fried, but I’m sure they are worth it)

Vegetarian’s Times Mini Apple Cider Doughnuts (cause you gotta’ throw in the Veg. Times for good measure and the mini doughnut pan is too much fun)

So there you have it, instead of writing about running as I planned for today, I mostly spoke of apples and doughnuts. Hope you didn’t mind. Now I have some dinner to attend to.

Other things:

-What is your favorite variety of apple? Apple dessert?

-What are your thoughts on doughnuts? Do you like yeast or cake doughnuts more? I’ve never had a dunkin /commercial brand, but I am pretty sure I’m not missing out on much.

Hope you have a splendid weekend!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura (Blogging Over Thyme) said, on October 8, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I think honeycrisp or pink ladys are my favorite apples! I’m a donut fan, I must say, but I probably haven’t had one in years–don’t know why, probably because I can’t find excellent ones near me. I’ve had fresh Krispy Kremes out of the factory though, and those were pretty damn good (I must say).

    Love your photographs!

  2. Evan Thomas said, on October 8, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I LOVE apple cider doughnuts! I also love the fake jelly and lemon filled dunkin donuts 🙂 I miss donuts so much since being gluten-free :-/

  3. actorsdiet said, on October 8, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    i’ve never had an apple cider donut but i know i’d love them….

    your pix are so gorgeous. what kinda camera do you use (i’m sure i’ve asked you this before)

  4. Eliza said, on October 9, 2010 at 6:10 am

    I loved reading this post! now I really want to go apple picking at the farm in my area today 🙂
    They always have apple cider doughnuts at the farmer’s market..and the farm where we go apple picking as well, as well as homemade little apple pies and such!
    Apple picking i think is one of my favorite parts of the Autumn, so many great memories!
    Any way, my favorite variety of apples are pink lady or honey-crisp.
    my favorite apple dessert is an apple crumble… my mom would make the best growing up!
    and doughnuts, hmm i have no idea! lol..i haven’t had a doughnut in agesss! But your recipe links all look perfect, i should make one as well…apple cider doughnuts sound perfect!

    Gorgeous photos by the way…Your photography is so so beautiful always.

    xx
    eliza

  5. lisasfoods said, on October 9, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I love macintosh apples. The combination of sweet and tart is just right for me.

    I haven’t had any cider donuts yet this autumn, and I think I need to make it happen tomorrow…we’re going hiking, and a cup of hot cider with a donut would be the perfect ending.

  6. Lauren said, on October 9, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Lovely! We went apple picking a few weeks ago and are going back today!:) I must say the donuts do look amazing at my place, but aren’t vegan! 😦 Oh well! And I just had some honey crisp apple juice freshly juiced at Whole Foods yesterday. I agree, a little too sweet. I couldn’t finish it. I also prefer veggies in my juice!

  7. Teri [a foodie stays fit] said, on October 9, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    I love the matte look of apples too.

    I love cake donuts but rarely eat them.

    Favorite apple?? so hard…I like mutsus, pink ladies, and honeycrisps. And I LOVE apple crisp or homemade applesauce.

  8. Kelsey said, on October 10, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    WOW- only one word- OATMEAL ❤
    how do you make oatmeal look so freaking yummy all the time!!! ive never wanted a bowl of oats so badly before 😛

    XOXO

  9. too many apples. « A Fresh Dille said, on October 14, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    […] 14, 2010 No, I am not really apple-d out, but I am a little tired of baking with them. Since I promised myself that I would attempt a pie or galette, I got to it yesterday in the midst of not feeling well. I went with a galette recipe from […]

  10. good bars vs. bad bars « A Fresh Dille said, on October 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    […] night I made Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats again with a mix of rolled and quick […]


Leave a Reply

