A Fresh Dille

too many apples.

Posted in FOOD, VEGAN by clairedille on October 14, 2010

No, I am not really apple-d out, but I am a little tired of baking with them. Since I promised myself that I would attempt a pie or galette, I got to it yesterday in the midst of not feeling well. I went with a galette recipe from Nicole’s blog to really showcase the apples. Unfortunately, I chopped way too many in a hurried manner, which meant I was left with a big pile of extra slices covering my cutting board. The recipe called for 5 apples, however, I simply could not fit that many into the middle of the dough and made a crumble as well. The only other change was that I used a combination of whole wheat pastry flour and spelt flour. Although the galette was not so beautiful, V found it pretty satisfying.

I didn’t even get a chance to take a photograph until after it was half eaten.

I’ve said it before, but I am not really a pie person, and enjoyed the upside down cake more because of the complex texture and flavors. This, however, was wonderfully simple.

The veggie cravings have been abundant.


Yesterday I threw together  both the raw and already roasted veggies in our fridge.

The baby spinach was topped with the leftover black bean-corn-onion-green pepper mixture from the stuffed spaghetti squash, mung bean sprouts, roasted broccoli, beets, and brussels, our garden tomatoes and radishes, and avocado. I then drizzled on some balsamic vinaigrette made with dijon, balsamic, olive oil, salt, and pepper. This was exactly what the doctor ordered.

Now, I am off to Ikea but I have more to share from yesterday featuring this lovely lady and a new-to-me vegetarian restaurant.

Other things:

-Do you like baked fruit? What is your baked fruit of choice?

-Did you stick to a running plan when getting back from an injury or starting fresh? Or did you go with the flow and create it as you went?

Tagged with: , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lisasfoods said, on October 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    The other night one of my friends made what she calls “baked apples”. She chopped up a few apples and sauteed them with butter, cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar. They softened a little bit, and were delicious topped with ice cream, walnuts, and some homemade granola. Usually I don’t care for baked fruit, but this was really good, and would have been great on its own.

  2. Lauren @ WWoB said, on October 14, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    are you going to the foodbuzz fest in sf?!

  3. Vicky said, on October 14, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    The pie looks so good. I like it when the crust is really thin because it makes me feel “healthier” so I will have to try that! And that salad looks delish too. I am always trying ways to make my salad more exciting!

  4. healthyexposures said, on October 14, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    The galette is beautiful! Sounds like a winner in V’s book, too 😉
    I adore baked apples, especially in the fall and winter. They are so warming and comforting!!
    I hope you feel better soon.

  5. edenseats said, on October 15, 2010 at 2:04 am

    First of all, I secretly wish I lived in Ikea. Furniture and all the swedish food I can eat: paradise .
    You galette looks gorgeous and I usually do like galattes, but not a huge fan of baked fruit.
    As far as running, I think its important to take it easy and be in touch with your body. You body knows best

  6. brandi said, on October 15, 2010 at 9:36 am

    i love baked apples, and that galette looks so pretty!


Leave a Reply

