A Fresh Dille

les chapeaux

Posted in FASHION, SHOPPING by clairedille on October 18, 2010

Ooh, la la…les chapeaux. I’ve loved hats as long as I can remember. As a child I was often topped off with something to keep the rays away.

Of course they weren’t usually quite as charming as this autumnal one placed on my head for a family calendar. Nevertheless, my love of hat wearing hasn’t faded and these days I always have one within reach. Most often, I go for the classic fedora. When I am dressing up but want to add a touch of androgyny, I wear my vintage grey Dobbs. My dark brown Stetson comes in a close second.

Yes, I am also a knit beanie wearer. My little sister has knit me a cream slouchy one that I have been wearing to death this fall, but there are black and grey ones as well.

To get you in the hat mood, here are a few inspiring street style looks.

The grey beanie doesn’t  just have to be grunge. The trench with pushed up sleeves, the coral lips, and wrapped scarf…it all fits together wonderfully.

This look could have gone in my chunky knit post. The red sweater and brown wide-brimmed fedora combination is the perfect fall look.

It doesn’t hurt that she is wearing my beloved stripes layered under a sweater, beautiful skinny tan belt, and tweed blazer. The lipstick mark on the coffee cup…oh yeah, this is about hats. I just adore this whole shot.

Please do yourself a favor and get a hat for these colder months. Get one that you love and have a hard time taking off. You won’t regret it. When it starts getting warmer again or you find yourself heading somewhere tropical, get a Panama hat. I wore this one all summer while working in the sun.

sources: garancedore, thesartorialist, fashiontoast

 

Other things:

A big thanks goes out to the lovely Trudy, from one of my favorite veggie blogs, veggie num num, for the cookie shout out.

Another thanks to Tara at Vegan Piggy for mentioning me in her cookie post!

Lastly, I want to thank Danielle for writing (and in her video) such kind words about her visit and our meeting.

These are the types of inspiring people who keep me coming back to the blogosphere. Thank you all.

 

Do you have a favorite hat? Do you shy away from them/ feel as though you aren’t a hat person? Sometimes it really depends on the hat with the face shape. Some look best with wider brims or others look better with a shorter brimmed Trilby, etc. Check out local vintage stores for authentic hats, but even places like Urban Outfitters have some pretty legit ones.

I shall be back tomorrow with some more food orientated photos and words. The changes I mentioned in the last post are not set in stone, but when I have made a decision, I will be sure to share the news on here.

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend and a great start to the week!

Tagged with: ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lisasfoods said, on October 19, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I have a bunch of hats, but really only wear them in winter. I’m definitely a knit beanie kind of girl. My favorite is a simple black winter knit hat that I made a few years ago. I have some beautiful autumn-colored sock yarn that I want to transform into a hat too.

  2. edenseats said, on October 19, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I wish I was a hat person, but i feel i look silly in all hats. plus i live in la where the seasons dont change. I have a small head, so most hats look like a joke on me because they dont fit. An kids hats are just too….you know…immature?

  3. amy said, on October 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    more style posts please 😀 love!

  4. Vegan Piggy said, on October 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I love hats! I like them better now that I have bangs. For some reason they look better on me now than without them. Hmm….Makes me want to go shopping!

  5. Lauren @ WWoB said, on October 19, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I feel like hats NEVER look good on me. But I love them. Especially beanniieesss…

  6. Lauren said, on October 20, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    That picture of you as a kid is adorable!! You are rocking that pumpkin costume! 🙂

    I love hats, but I am not adventurous at all when it comes to fashion. I wish I could hire you as my personal shopper (or at least for a quick fashion make-over!) My standard hat is my Red Sox baseball cap. I wear it all the time, and love it. But it’s hardly stylish. 🙂


Leave a Reply

